On January 30, 1968.

White light white heat

On January 30, 1968, “Verve” label released “White Light/White Heat”, the second Velvet Underground studio album.  It was recorded in September 1967, at the “Scepter Studios” in New York, and was produced by Tom Wilson.  It was band’s last studio recording of new material with founding member John Cale. In 2003, magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked “White Light/White Heat” at number 293 on it’s list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • John Cale– lead vocals, backing vocals, spoken word, electric viola, organ, piano, bass guitar, ,medical sound effects
  • Lou Reed– lead vocals, lead guitar, rhythm guitar
  • Sterling Morrison– lead guitar, rhythm guitar, bass guitar, backing vocals, medical sound effects
  • Maureen Tucker– percussion, drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Lou Reed, except where noted.

  1. White Light/White Heat
  2. The Girl – Lou Reed, Sterling Morrison, John Cale, Maureen Tucker
  3. Lady Godiva’s Operation
  4. Here She Comes Now – Lou Reed, Sterling Morrison, John Cae
  5. I Heard Her Calling My Name – Lou Reed, Sterling Morrison, John Cale and Maureen Tucker
  6. Sister Ray – Lou Reed, Sterlin Morrison, John Cale, Maureen Tucker

On January 29, 2007.

Klaxons-Myths Of The Near Future

On January 29, 2007, “Polydor” label released “Myths of the Near Future”, the debut Klaxons album. It was recorded in 2006 at “Battle” in Essex, and was produced by James Ford. The album won the “Mercury Prize” in 2007.

Track listing:

All tracks by Klaxons, except where noted.

  1. Two Receivers
  2. Atlantis to Interzone
  3. Golden Skans
  4. Totem on the Timeline
  5. As Above, So Below
  6. Isle of Her
  7. Gravity’s Rainbow
  8. Forgotten Works
  9. Magick
  10. It’s Not Over Yet – Rob Davies, Paul Oakenfold, Michael Wyzgowski
  11. Four Horsmen of 2012

On January 29, 2007.


On January 29, 2007, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah self-released their second album “Some Loud Thunder”.  It was produced by Dave Fridmann.

All tracks by Alec Ounsworth, except where noted.

  1. Some Loud Thunder
  2. Emily Jean Stock
  3. Mama, Won’t You Keep Them Castles in the Air and Burning?
  4. Love Song No. 7
  5. Satan Said Dance
  6. Upon Encountering the Crippled Elephant
  7. Goodbye to Mother and the Cove – Alec Ounsworth,Tyler Sargent, Sean Greenhalgh
  8. Arm and Hammer
  9. Yankee Go Home
  10. Underwater (You and Me)
  11. Five Easy Pieces

On January 29, 2002.


On January 29, 2002, “Elektra” label released “Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence”, the sixth Dream Theater” studio album. It was recorded in 2001, at the “Bear Tracks Studios” in New York, and was produced by Mike Portnoy and John Petrucci.


  • James LaBrie– lead vocals
  • John Petrucci– guitar, background vocals, production
  • Jordan Rudess– keyboard
  • John Myung– bass
  • Mike Portnoy– drums, backing vocals, co-lead vocals

Track listing:

All music by John Petrucci, John Myung, Jordan Rudess and Mike Portnoy.

  1. The Glass Prison – lyrics by Mike Portnoy
  • “I. Reflection”
  • “II. Restoration”
  • “III. Revelation”
  1. Blind Faith – lyrics by James LaBrie
  2. Misunderstood – lyrics by John Petrucci
  3. The Great Debate – lyrics by John Petrucci
  4. Disappear – lyrics by James LaBrie


On January 29, 1991.


On January 29, 1991, “Epic” label released “Uncle Anesthesia”, the fifth Screaming Trees album. It was recorded in June 1990, and was produced by Mark Lanegan, Gary Lee Corner, Van Corner, Terry Date and Chris Cornell.


  • Mark Lanegan- vocals
  • Gary Lee Conner- guitar, backing vocals
  • Van Conner- bass, backing vocals
  • Mark Pickerel- percussion, drums
  • Chris Cornell- recorder, backing vocals
  • Terry Date – backing vocals
  • Scott Miller – backing vocals
  • Terry Pickerel – percussion
  • Jeff McGraph – trumpet
  • David Coleman – art direction
  • Karen Mason – photography
  • Mark Ryden- artwork

Track listing:

All tracks by Mark Lanegan, Gary Lee Conner and Van Conner.

  1. Beyond This Horizon
  2. Bed of Roses
  3. Uncle Anesthesia
  4. Story of Her Fate
  5. Caught Between
  6. Lay Your Head Down
  7. Before We Arise
  8. Something About Today
  9. Alice Said
  10. Time for Light
  11. Dissappearing
  12. Ocean of Confusion
  13. Closer



On January 29, 1991.


On January 29, 1991, “Food / Parlaphone” labels released “Doubt”, the second Jesus Jones album. It was recorded in May 1990, and was produced by Ian Curnow, Mike Edwards, Phil Harding and Andy Ross.


  • Mike Edwards – vocals, guitars, keyboards
  • Jerry De Borg – guitars
  • Al Doughty- bass
  • Iain Baker – keyboards, programming
  • Gen – drums, percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Mike Edwards, except where noted.

  1. Trust Me
  2. Who? Where? Why?
  3. International Bright Young Thing
  4. I’m Burning
  5. Right Here, Right Now
  6. Nothing to Hold Me – Mike Edwards and Iain Baker
  7. Real Real Real
  8. Welcome Back Victoria
  9. Two and Two
  10. Stripped
  11. Blissed


On January 29, 1990.

Fish Vigil

On January 29, 1990, “EMI” label released “Vigil in a Wilderness of Mirrors” the debut Fish solo album. It was recorded in 1989, and was produced by Jon Kelly.


  • Fish (Derek W. Dick)- all vocals
  • Frank Usher- guitars
  • Hal Lindes- guitars
  • Janick Gers- guitars
  • John Giblin- bass guitars
  • Mickey Simmonds– keyboards, piano, drum programming
  • Davy Spillane– pipes, whistles
  • Phil Cunningham- whistles; accordion; bodhrán
  • Aly Bain- violin
  • Gavyn Wright- violin
  • Alison Jones – violin
  • Mark Brzezicki- drums
  • John Keeble- drums
  • Luís Jardim- percussion
  • Carol Kenyon, Tessa Niles- backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. Vigil – Dereck W. Dick, Mickey Simmonds
  2. Big Wedge = Dereck W. Dick, Mickey Simmonds
  3. State of Mind – Dereck W. Dick, Hal Lindes, Mickey Simmonds
  4. The Company – Dereck W. Dick, Mickey Simmonds
  5. A Gentleman’s Excuse Me –Dereck W. Dick, Mickey Simmonds
  6. Family Business – Dereck W. Dick, Hal Lindes, Mickey Simmonds
  7. View From The Hill – Dereck W. Dick, Janick Gers
  8. Cliché – Dereck W. Dick, Hal Lindes, Mickey Simmonds