In September 1968.

In September 1968, “Polydor” label released “Idea”, the fifth Bee Gees album. It was recorded December / January 1967 – July 1968, at “IBC Studios” in London, and was produced by Barry Gibb, Robin Gibb, Maurice Gibb and Robert Stigwood. The cover art was by Wolfgang Heilemann.


  • Barry Gibb– lead, harmony and backing vocals, guitar
  • Robin Gibb– lead, harmony and backing vocals, organ
  • Maurice Gibb– bass guitar, piano, organ, mellotron, harmony and backing vocals
  • Vince Melouney– guitar, harmonica, lead vocals
  • Colin Petersen– drums
  • Bill Shepherd – orchestral arrangement
  • John Pantry, Damon Lyon Shaw – engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Barry, Robin and Maurice Gibb, except where noted.

  1. Let There Be Love
  2. Kitty Can
  3. In the Summer of His Years
  4. Indian Gin and Whisky Dry
  5. Down to Earth
  6. Such a Shame – Vince Melouney
  7. Idea
  8. When the Swallows Fly
  9. I Have Decided to Join the Airforce
  10. I Started a Joke
  11. Kilburn Towers
  12. Swan Song

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.