Tag Archives: Poli Palmer

In November 1970.

In November 1970, “Reprise” label released “Anyway”, the fourth Family album.Side one was recorded on July 26, 1970, at a concert at “Fairfield Halls” in Croydon, London; side two is a collection of new tracks recorded in 1970, at “Olympic Sound Studios” in London. The album was produced by Roger Chapman, Charlie Whitney, John Weider, Poli Palmer and Rob Townsend


  • Roger Chapman– vocals, percussion
  • Charlie Whitney– acoustic and electric guitars, bass
  • John Weider– bass, violin, amplified acoustic guitar, percussion
  • Poli Palmer- percussion, vibraphone, electric piano, piano, flute, drums
  • Rob Townsend– drums, percussion
  • George Chkiantz– engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by John “Charlie” Whitney and Roger Chapman, except where noted.

“Fairfield Halls”, Croydon.

  1. Good News Bad News
  2. Willow Tree
  3. Holding the Compass
  4. Strange Band – Charlie Whitney, Roger Chapman, Robin Williamson


“Olympic Studios”, London

  1. Part of the Load
  2. Anyway
  3. Normans – Poli Palmer, Charlie Whitney, John Weider
  4. Lives and Ladies



In September 1972.

In September 1972, “Reprise” label released “Bandstand”, the sixth Family studio album. It was recorded in 1972, at “Olympic Studio” in London, and was produced by George Chkiantz, Roger Chapman, Charlie Whitney, Poli Palmer, John Wetton and Rob Townsend.


  • Roger Chapman– lead vocals, percussion, soprano saxophone
  • Charlie Whitney– guitars, keyboards
  • Poli Palmer– keyboards, vibes, flute, percussion, guitar
  • John Wetton– basses, backing vocals, guitars
  • Rob Townsend– drums, percussion
  • Linda Lewis– backing vocals
  • Del Newman – string arrangements

Track listing:

All tracks by Charlie Whitney and Roger Chapman except where noted.

  1. Burlesque
  2. Bolero Babe
  3. Coronation – Charlie Whitney, Roger Chapman, John Wetton
  4. Dark Eyes – Roger Chapman, Poli Palmer
  5. Broken Nose
  6. My Friend the Sun
  7. Glove
  8. Ready To Go
  9. Top of the Hill


In June 1986.

In June 1986, “Illuminated” label released “As Close As You Think”, the twelfth Kevin Ayers studio album. It was recorded in 1986 at “Boz Burrell Studio” in London, and was produced by Ollie Halsall and Poli Palmer.


  • Kevin Ayers– lead vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Pat Crumly – flute, saxophone
  • Ollie Halsall – guitar, lead and backing vocals
  • Poli Palmer – fairlight programming

Track listing:

  1. Stepping Out – Kevin Ayers, Ollie Halsall
  2. Fool After Midnight – Kevin Ayers, Ollie Halsall, Gregmar
  3. Wish I Could Fall – Kevin Ayers
  4. Only Heaven Knows – Kevin Ayers
  5. Too Old To Die Young – Kevin Ayers
  6. The Howlin’ Man – Kevin Ayers, Ollie Halsall
  7. Never My Baby – Kevin Ayers
  8. Budget Tours (part one) – Kevin Ayers, Ollie Halsall
  9. Budget Tours (part two) – Kevin Ayers, Ollie Halsall