Roger Chapman: Hyenas Only Laugh for Fun

In December 1981, “Sanctuary” label released “Hyenas Only Laugh for Fun”, the third Roger Chapman and The Shortlist studio album. It was recorded in 1981, at “Jacob Studios” in Piano, Texas, and was produced by Terry Barham and Paul Smykle.


  • Roger Chapman– vocals, harmonica
  • Tim Hinkley– keyboards
  • Geoff Whitehorn– guitars
  • Steve Simpson – violin, mandolin, slide guitar
  • Jerome Rimson – bass guitar
  • John Wetton– bass guitar
  • Leonard “Stretch” Stretching – drums
  • Alan Coulter – drums
  • Nick Pentelow – saxophones
  • Poli Palmer– synthesisers, programming
  • Raymond Burrell– editing blocks
  • Duncan Kinnell – percussion
  • Jill Mumford – sleeve design

Track listing:

All lyrics by Roger Chapman

  1. Prisoner– Roger Chapman, Tim Hinkley, Geoff Whitehorn
  2. Hyenas Only Laugh for Fun – Roger Chapman, Tim Hinkley, Geoff Whitehorn, Jerome Rimson
  3. Killing Time – Roger Chapman
  4. Wants Nothing Chained – Roger Chapman, Geoff Whitehorn
  5. The Long Goodbye – Roger Chapman
  6. Blood and Sand – Roger Chapman, Geoff Whitehorn
  7. Common Touch – Roger Chapman
  8. Goodbye Reprise – Roger Chapman
  9. Hearts On The Floor – Roger Chapman
  10. Step Up – Take A Bow – Roger Chapman, Geoff Whitney
  11. Jukebox Mama – Roger Chapman, Troy Seals

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.