Tag Archives: Bill Levenson

In April 1977.

In April 1977, “Island” label released “Izitso”, the tenth Cat Stevens studio album. It was recorded September 1976 – March 1977, at “Muscle Shoals Sound Studio” in Sheffield, Alabama;“Sound 80 Studios” in Minneapolis; “Ardent Studios” in  Memphis, Tennessee; “Le Studio”, “Morin Heights” in Quebec, Canada;  “Sweet Silence Studios” in Copenhagen, Denmark, and was produced by Cat Stevens
and David Kershenbaum.


  • Cat Stevens– electric and acoustic guitars, steel guitar, guitar synthesizer, bouzouki, keyboards, piano, celesta, harpsichord, Wurlitzer electric piano, Fender Rhodes, Polymoog, Moog synthesizer, Minimoog, ARP String Synthesizer, ARP 2600, Yamaha CS-80, Yamaha GX-1, Yamaha  EA5R  electronic organ, music sequencer,[5] drums, percussion, harmonica,  brass,  arrangements, vocals, programming, illustrations, cover design
  • Jean Roussel– Hammond organ, piano, organ, synthesizer, ARP String Synthesizer, Yamaha CS-80, keyboards, flute, glockenspiel, vibraphone, string instruments, brass instruments, arrangements
  • David Campbell– string and brass arrangements
  • Chick Corea– electric piano, keyboards
  • Barry Beckett– piano, electric piano, organ, keyboards
  • Tim Henson– acoustic piano, piano, organ, keyboards
  • Little Brother Montgomery– ARP 2600
  • Broderick Smith– harmonica
  • Marjorie Lagerwall– harp
  • Ray Gomez– guitar
  • Pete Carr– electric and acoustic guitar, steel guitar, ovation guitar, Epiphone Casino, guitar synthesizer, bouzouki
  • Jim Johnson– rhythm guitar
  • Weldon Myrick– steel guitar
  • Reggie Young– electric guitar
  • Bruce Lynch– double bass, electbass, bass synthesizer
  • David Hood– double bass, bass, bass synthesizer
  • Andy Newmark– drums, percussion
  • Bill Berg– drums, percussion
  • Barry Morgan– drums, percussion
  • Roger Hawkins– drums, percussion
  • Elkie Brooks– vocals on
  • Suzanne Lynch– backing vocals
  • Carla Benson– backing vocals
  • Evette Benton– backing vocals
  • Barbara Ingram– backing vocals
  • Gene Page– string instruments, brass instruments, arrangements
  • Engineers – Harvey Goldberg, Mike Stavros, Ian Boughey, Nigel Walker, Flemming Rasmussen, Tom Jung, Paul Martinson, Nick Blagona, Mike Ross, Freddy Hansson, Steve Brandon, Jerry Masters, Gene Eichelberger, Dee Robb, John Kelly, Ken Frieson
  • Mastering – Ted Jensen, Bernie Grundman
  • Mixing – Claude Dupras
  • Design – Mathieu Bitton
  • Programming – Cat Stevens, Claude Dupras
  • Supervisor – Bill Levenson
  • Cover Designs – Eckford Stimpson
  • Photography – Moshe Brakha
  • Coordinator – Beth Stempel

Track listing:

All tracks by Cat Stevens, except where noted.

  1. (Remember the Days of the) Old Schoolyard
  2. Life
  3. Killin’ Time
  4. Kypros
  5. Bonfire
  6. (I Never Wanted) To Be a Star
  7. Crazy
  8. Sweet Jamaica
  9. Was Dog a Doughnut?- Cat Stevens, Bruce Lynch, Jean Roussel
  10. Child for a Day – Paul Travis, David Gordon

In February 1985.


In February 1985, “Verve” label released “VU”, an  outtakes  compilation album  by The Velvet Underground. It was recorded 1968 – 1969 in New York City, and was produced by John Cale, Sterling Morrison, Lou Reed and Maureen Tucker. The album is selection from the 1969 tracks and two previously unreleased John Cale-era songs—”Temptation Inside Your Heart” and “Stephanie Says”.


  • John Cale– viola, celesta and backing vocals, bass guitar
  • Sterling Morrison– guitar, backing vocals
  • Lou Reed– vocals, guitar
  • Maureen Tucker– percussion, lead vocals
  • Doug Yule– bass guitar, keyboards, lead and backing vocals, piano, lead guitar
  • Gary Kellgren– engineer
  • Bill Levenson – executive producer
  • C. Convertino – engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Lou Reed except where noted.

  1. I Can’t Stand It
  2. Stephanie Says
  3. She’s My Best Friend
  4. Lisa Says
  5. Ocean
  6. Foggy Notion – Lou Reed, Sterling Morrison, Doug Yule, Maureen Tucker, Hy Weiss
  7. Temptation Inside Your Heart
  8. One of These Days
  9. Andy’s Chest
  10. I’m Sticking With You

On April 24, 1970.


On April 24, 1970, “island” label released “Mona Bone Jakon”, the third Cat Stevens studio album. It was recorded January–February 1970, at “Olympic Studios” and “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Paul Samwell-Smith.


  • Cat Stevens – acoustic guitar, classical guitar, keyboards, vocals, illustrations
  • Alun Davies– acoustic guitar, backing vocals
  • John Ryan– double bass
  • Harvey Burns– drums, percussion
  • Peter Gabriel– flute
  • Del Newman– strings, arrangements
  • Engineer – Michael Bobak
  • Mixing – Paul Hicks
  • Supervisor – Bill Levenson
  • Coordinator – Beth Stempel
  • Mastering – Ted Jensen
  • Design – Roland Young, Mike Diehl
  • Photography – Grazia Neri, Richard Stirling

Track listing:.

All tracks by Cat Stevens.

  1. Lady D’Arbanville
  2. Maybe You’re Right
  3. Pop Star
  4. I Think I See the Light
  5. Trouble
  6. Mona Bone Jakon
  7. I Wish I Wish
  8. Katmandu
  9. Time
  10. Fill My Eyes
  11. Lilywhite