On June 14, 1982.

On June 14, 1982, “Atco” label released “All the Best Cowboys Have Chinese Eyes”, the third Pete Townshend studio album. It was recorded 1981 – 1982, and was produced by Chris Thomas. “All the Best Cowboys Have Chinese Eyes” contains some tracks that were salvaged from later albums by his band the Who, and was released three months before the album “It’s Hard”.


  • Pete Townshend– vocals, guitars, keyboards
  • Virginia Astley– piano
  • Tony Butler– bass guitar
  • Peter Hope-Evans– harmonica
  • Mark Brzezicki– drums
  • Simon Phillips– drums
  • Jody Linscott– percussion
  • Chris Stainton– additional keyboards
  • Poli Palmer– tuned percussion
  • John Lewis – Fairlight CMIprogramming
  • Ann Odell – brass arrangement
  • Bill Price– engineer
  • Mark Freegard – assistant engineer
  • Tim Young – mastering engineer
  • Carol Starr – photography
  • Chalkie Davis – photography
  • Michael Spry – photographic prints
  • Ike King – hair
  • Jacqui Lefton – makeup
  • Kenny McDonald – tailor

Track listing:

All tracks by Pete Townshend, except where noted.

  1. Stop Hunting People
  2. The Sea Refuses No River – Pete Townshend, Alan Rogan
  3. Prelude – Pete Townshend, Andy Newman
  4. Face Dances Pt. 2
  5. Exquisitely Bored
  6. Communication
  7. Stardom in Action
  8. Uniforms (Corp d’Espirit)
  9. North Country Girl
  10. Somebody Saved Me (performed by The Who on 1981 album “Face Dances”)
  11. Slit Skirts

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.