Tag Archives: New Riders of the Purple Sage

On January 11, 2005.

On January 11, 2005, Spencer Dryden died aged 66. He was musician (drums) member of The Ashes (later The Peanut Butter Conspiracy), The Dinosaurs, New Riders of the Purple Sage, but best known as drummer of Jefferson Airplane. Dryden was Charlie Chaplin nephew.


In December 1972.

In December 1972, “Columbia” label released “Gypsy Cowboy”, the third New Riders of the Purple Sage album. It was recorded in 1972, and was produced by Stephen Barncard.


  • John Dawson- rhythm guitar, lead vocals, 1st joint lead vocal
  • David Nelson- lead guitar, dobro, mandolin, bagpipes, lead vocals, 2nd joint lead vocal
  • Dave Torbert- bass, acoustic guitar, lead vocals, 3rd joint lead vocal
  • Buddy Cage- pedal steel guitar
  • Spencer Dryden- drums
  • Darlene DiDomenico – backing vocals
  • Donna Jean Godchaux- backing vocals
  • Richard Greene – violin
  • Mark Naftalin- piano
  • Jack Schroer- saxophone
  • Recording engineers: Stephen Barncard, Dave Brown, Ellen Burke
  • Cover art: Lore Orion
  • Liner notes: John Tobler

Track listing:

  1. Gypsy Cowboy – Dave Torbert
  2. Whiskey – John Dawson
  3. Groupie – Dave Torbert
  4. Sutter’s Mill – John Dawson
  5. Death and Destruction – John Dawson
  6. Linda – John Dawson
  7. On My Way Back Home – Dave Torbert
  8. Superman – John Dawson
  9. She’s No Angel – Wanda Ballman
  10. Long Black Veil – Danny Dill, Marijohn Wilkin
  11. Sailin’ – John Dawson

In November 1974.

In November 1974, “Columbia” label released “Brujo”, the fifth New Riders of the Purple Sage studio album. It was recorded in 1974, and was produced by Ed Freeman.


  • John Dawson- guitar, vocals
  • David Nelson- guitar, mandolin, vocals
  • Spencer Dryden- drums, vocals
  • Skip Battin- bass, vocals
  • Buddy Cage- steel guitar
  • Neil Larson, Mark Naftalin– keyboards
  • Ed Freeman – mellotron
  • Dan Patiris – English horn
  • Armando Peraza– bongos
  • Bob Edwards, Kurt Kinzel – recording engineer
  • Urve Kuusikn – photography
  • Gage Taylor – artwork

Track listing:

  1. Old Man Noll – John Dawson
  2. Ashes of Love – Jack Anglin, Johnnie Wright
  3. You Angel You – Bob Dylan
  4. Instant Armadillo Blues – John Dawson
  5. Workingman’s Woman – Troy Seals, Will Jennings, Don Goodman
  6. On the Amazon – Skip Battin, Kim Fowley
  7. Big Wheels – Skip Battin, Kim Fowley
  8. Singing Cowboy – Skip Battin, Kim Fowley
  9. Crooked Judge – Robert Hunter, David Nelson
  10. Parson Brown – John Dawson
  11. Neon Rose – Skip Battin, Kim Fowley


In October 1973.

In October 1973, “Columbia” label released “The Adventures of Panama Red”, the fourth New Riders of the Purple Sage album. It was recorded in 1973, at “Record Plant” in Sausalito, and was produced by Norbert Putnam


  • John Dawson– guitar, vocals, lead vocals
  • David Nelson– electric guitar, vocals, lead vocals
  • Dave Torbert– bass, guitar, vocals, lead vocals
  • Buddy Cage– pedal steel guitar
  • Spencer Dryden– drums, percussion
  • Donna Jean Godchaux– vocals
  • Buffy Sainte-Marie– vocals
  • Norbert Putnam– bass
  • The Memphis Horns, arranged by Norbert Putnam and the Memphis Horns
  • Tom Flye – recording engineer
  • John Stronach, Bobby Hughes – associate engineers
  • Tom Anderson, Phil Brown, Bob Edwards – sound engineers
  • Norbert Putnam – remix engineer
  • Lore and Chris – cover art
  • Mixed at Quadrafonic Studios, Nashville

Track listing:

  1. Panama Red – Peter Rowan
  2. It’s Alright With Me – Dave Torbert
  3. Lonesome L.A. Cowboy – Peter Rowan
  4. Important Exportin Man – Tim Hovey, Dave Torbert
  5. One Too Many Stories – John Dawson
  6. Kick in the Head – Robert Hunter
  7. You Should Have Seen Me Runnin – John Dawson
  8. Teardrops in My Eyes – Red Allen, Tommy Sutton
  9. A. Lady – Troy Seals, Don Goodman, Will Jennings
  10. Thank the Day – Dave Torbert
  11. Cement, Clay and Glass – Spencer Dryden, David Nelson


In August 1971.

In August 1971, “Columbia” label released the debut, self-titled New Riders of the Purple Sage album. It is the only band’s studio album to feature co-founder Jerry Garcia of the Grateful Dead.It was recorded December 1970 – January 1971, at “Wally Heider Recording” in San Francisco, and was produced by John Dawson , David Nelson, Dave Torbert, Jerry Garcia and Spencer Dryden.


  • John Dawson– acoustic guitar, vocals
  • David Nelson– electric guitar, acoustic guitar, mandolin, vocals
  • Dave Torbert– bass, acoustic guitar, vocals
  • Jerry Garcia– pedal steel guitar, banjo
  • Spencer Dryden– drums, percussion
  • Mickey Hart– drums, percussion
  • Commander Cody– piano
  • Stephen Barncard– engineering, executive production
  • Phil Lesh– executive production
  • Ellen Burke – technician
  • Michael Ferguson, Alton Kelly– cover art

Track listing:

All tracks by John Dawson.

  1. I Don’t Know You
  2. Whatcha Gonna Do
  3. Portland Woman
  4. Henry
  5. Dirty Business
  6. Glendale Train
  7. Garden of Eden
  8. All I Ever Wanted
  9. Last Lonely Eagle
  10. Louisiana Lady