Tag Archives: George Thorogood

On August 4, 2017.

On August 4, 2017, “Rounder Records” label released “Party of One”, the debut George Thorogood album. It was recorded in 2017, at “House of Blues Studios” in Encino, Los Angeles, and was produced by Jim Gaines.


  • George Thorogood – vocals, guitar, harmonica
  • Scott Billington – executive producer

Track listing:

  1. I’m a Steady Rollin’ Man – Robert Johnson
  2. Soft Spot – Alen Shamblin, Gary Nicholson
  3. Tallahassee Women – Tallahassee Tight
  4. Wang Dang Doodle – Willie Dixon
  5. Boogie Chillin’ – Bernard Besman, John Lee Hooker
  6. No Expectations – Mick Jagger, Keith Richards
  7. Bad News – John D. Loudermilk
  8. Down the Highway – Bob Dylan
  9. Got to Move – Elmore James, Marshall E. Sehorn
  10. Born with the Blues – Brownie McGhee
  11. The Sky is Crying – Morgan Robinson, Clarence Lewis, Elmore James
  12. The Hookers – John Lee Hooker
  13. Pictures from Life’s Other Side – traditional, Hank Williams
  14. One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer – John Lee Hooker
  15. Dynaflow Blues – John Ned Shines

On December 20, 2020.

On December 30, 2020, Thomas Neal Cartmell aka Alto Reed, died aged 72. He was musician (saxophone), recorded and performed with Grand Funk Railroad, Dave Mason, Foghat, Spencer Davis, Little Feat, Otis Rush, Enchantment, Jamie Oldaker, George Terry, Tico Torres, Dan Aykroyd, James Belushi, George Thorogood, Robin Gibb, Holograf and The Ventures, but was best known as member of the Bob Seger & the Silver Bullet Band.

In November 1978.

In November 1978, “Rounder” label released “Move It on Over”, the second George Thorogood and the Destroyers studio album. It was recorded in 1978, at “Dimension Sound Studios, Boston, MA, and was produced by George Thorogood, Ken Irwin and John Nagy.


  • George Thorogood – vocals, guitar
  • Uncle Meat Pennington – tambourine, maracas
  • Billy Blough – bass
  • Jeff Simon – vocals, drums
  • John Nagy – engineer
  • Susan Marsh – design
  • David Gahr – front cover photography

Track listing:

  1. Move It On Over – Hank Williams
  2. Who Do You Love? – Bo Diddley
  3. The Sky Is Crying – Elmore James
  4. Cocaine Blues – T.J. Arnall
  5. It Wasn’t Me – Chuck Berry
  6. That Same Thing – Willie Dixon
  7. So Much Trouble – Brownie McGhee
  8. I’m Just Your Good Thing – James Moore
  9. Baby Please Set a Date – Homesick James Williamson
  10. New Hawaiian Boogie – Elmore James

On July 28, 2009.

On July 28, 2009, “Capitol” label released “The Dirty Dozen”, the fourteenth George Thorogood and the Destroyers studio album. It was recorded in 2009, at “Glenwood Place Studios” in Burbank, CA, and was produced by Jim Gaines  and Delaware Destroyers.


  • George Thorogood – vocals, guitar
  • Jim Suhler– guitar
  • Bill Blough – bass
  • Jeff Simon – drums
  • Buddy Leach – saxophone
  • Hank Carter – saxophone
  • Steve Chrismar – guitar
  • Ian Stewart– piano
  • Jake Vest – backing vocals
  • Mike Donahue – executive producer
  • Shawn Berman – engineer

Track listing:

  1. Tail Dragger – Willie Dixon
  2. Drop Down Mama – John Adam Estes
  3. Run Myself Out of Town – Wendell Holmes
  4. Born Lover – McKinley Morganfield
  5. Twenty Dollar Gig – Mickey Bones
  6. Let Me Pass – Ellas McDaniel
  7. Howlin’ for My Baby – Willie Dixon, Howlin’ Wolf
  8. Highway 49 – Big Joe Williams
  9. Six Days on The Road – Earl Green, Carl Montgomery
  10. Treat Her Right – Roy Head, Gene Kurtz
  11. Hello Little Girl – Chuck Berry
  12. Blue Highway – Nick Gravenites, David Getz

On May 30, 2006.

On May 30, 2006, “Eagle” label released “The Hard Stuff”, the thirteenth George Thorogood and the Destroyers studio album. It was recorded in 2006, and was produced by Jim Gaines, Jim Suhler, Bill Blough, George Thorogood, Jeff Simon, Buddy Leach and  Tom Hambridge.


  • George Thorogood– guitar, vocals
  • Jim Suhler– guitar
  • Bill Blough – bass
  • Jeff Simon – drums
  • Buddy Leach – saxophone
  • Rick Steff– accordion, piano
  • Shawn Berman – engineer
  • Leon Zervos– mastering
  • Joshua Blanchard, Jason Gillespie, Jay Goin, Adam Hill – assistant engineers
  • Henry Marquez – art direction
  • Chris Cuffaro – photography
  • Steve Morse– liner notes

Track listing:

  1. The Hard Stuff – George Thorogood, Jim Suhler, Tom Hambridge
  2. Hello Josephine – Dave Bartholomew, Antoine “Fats” Domino Jr.
  3. Moving – Chester Arthur Burnett
  4. I Got My Eyes On You – Mike Morgan
  5. I Didn’t Know – George Thorogood, Tom Hambridge
  6. Any Town U.S.A. – George Thorogood, Jim Suhler, Tom Hambridge
  7. Little Rain – Ewart Abner, Jimmy Reed
  8. Cool It! – Jim Suhler
  9. Love Doctor – Richard Fleming, Tom Hambridge
  10. Dynaflow Blues – Johnny Shines
  11. Rock Party – Holland K. Smith
  12. Drifter’s Escape – Bob Dylan
  13. Give Me Back My Wig – Theodore Roosevelt “Hound Dog” Taylor
  14. Takin’ Care Of Business – Rudy Toombs
  15. Huckle Up Baby – Bernard Besman, John Lee Hooker

On June 4, 1942.

Capitol Records

On June 4, 1942, “Capitol Records” was founded by Johnny Mercer, Buddy DeSylva, and Glenn Wallichs. Over the decades, the label became home to artists such as Frank Sinatra, The Beatles, The Beach Boys, Eddie Cochran, Gene Vincent, Bobby Darin, Glen Campbell, Steve Miller, Dr. Hook, Bob Seger, Tina Turner, Heart,  Nat King Cole, the Four Knights, Tennessee Ernie Ford, Stan Kenton, June Christy, Louis Prima, Keely Smith, the Louvin Brothers, Judy Garland, the Andrews Sisters, Harry James, Andy Griffith, Shirley Bassey, the Kingston Trio, Dean Martin, The Four Freshmen, Helen Reddy, Anne Murray, April Wine, Blondie, Bloodrock, Burning Spear, Buzzcocks, David Bowie, Kim Carnes, Rosanne Cash, Max Webster, Lee Clayton, Natalie Cole, The Goose Creek Symphony, Sammy Hagar, The Knack, Maze, Mink DeVille, Juice Newton, Raspberries, Minnie Riperton, Diana Ross, Sweet, The Specials, The Sylvers, Ten Wheel Drive, The Stranglers, Tavares, George Thorogood, Triumvirate, Little River Band, Wings, The Persuasions, Richard Marx, The Motels, Billy Squier, Crowded House, Peter Blakeley, Depeche Mode, Duran Duran, The Doobie Brothers, Willie Dixon, Glass Tiger, Katrina & The Waves, Grace Jones, Lloyd Cole, Pet Shop Boys, Sawyer Brown, Queen, Roxette, Brian Setzer,The Smithereens, Spandau Ballet, The Tubes, Paul Westerberg, Butthole Surfers, Concrete Blonde, Billy Idol, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Megadeth, Exodus, W.A.S.P., Poison, Iron Maiden, Queensrÿche,  Beastie Boys, King Tee, Mantronix, Mellow Man Ace, Robbie Robertson, Dave Koz, Ashford and Simpson, Freddie Jackson, BeBe & CeCe Winans, Skinny Puppy and others.