Tag Archives: Bruce Fisher

In August 1974.

In August 1974, “A&M” label released “I Can Stand a Little Rain”, the fourth Joe Cocker studio album. It was recorded 1973 – 1974, at “The Village Recorder” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Jim Price.


  • Joe Cocker – lead vocals
  • Henry McCullough, Cornell Dupree, Jay Graydon, Ralph Hammer, Ray Palmer, Ray Parker, Jr.– guitar
  • Chuck Rainey, Clydie King, Dave McDaniel, Chris Stewart – bass
  • Bernard “Pretty” Purdie, Ollie E. Brown, Jeff Porcaro, Denny Seiwell, Jimmy Karstein – drums
  • Randy Newman, Nicky Hopkins, Greg Mathieson, Jimmy Webb, Jim Price, David Paich, Richard Tee, Peggy Sandvig – keyboards
  • Jim Horn, Trevor Lawrence – saxophone
  • Stuart Blumberg, Steve Madaio – trumpet
  • Mayo Tiana, Jim Price– trombone
  • Merry Clayton, Venetta Fields, Sherlie Matthews, Daniel Moore- backing vocals
  • Jim Price, Jimmy Webb– arrangements
  • Engineers, recording, mixing – Rob Fraboniand Nat Jeffrey, Joe Tuzen, Mario Aglietti, Rick Heenan, J.J. Jansen, Carlton Lee, Ken Klinger, Zak Zenor
  • Mastered by Kent Duncan
  • Steve Vaughan – photography

Track listing:

  1. Put Out the Light – Daniel Moore
  2. I Can Stand a Little Rain – Jim Price
  3. I Get Mad – Joe Cocker, Jim Price
  4. Sing Me a Song – Henry McCullough
  5. The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress – Jimmy Webb
  6. Don’t Forget Me – Harry Nilsson
  7. You Are So Beautiful – Billy Preston, Bruce Fisher
  8. It’s a Sin (When You Love Somebody) – Jimmy Webb
  9. Performance – Allen Toussaint
  10. Guilty – Randy Newman

On October 8, 1972.


On October 8, 1972, “A&M” label released “Music is my Life” the seventh Billy Preston studio album. “Music is my Life” featured Preston’s first #1 single “Will It Go Round in Circles”, and it is also his first album to feature George and Louis Jordan (The Brothers Johnson).


  • Billy Preston: keyboards, bass guitar, vocals
  • George Johnson: guitars
  • Louis Johnson: bass guitar
  • Hubert Heard: keyboards
  • Manuel Kellough: drums
  • Tom Scott: horn
  • Jim Horn: horn
  • George Bohanon: horn
  • Buck Monari: horn
  • Paul Hubison: horn
  • Clarence McDonald, David T. Walker- arrangements

Track listing:

All songs by Billy Preston, except where noted.

  1. We’re Gonna Make It
  2. One Time or Another – Billy Preston and Robert Sam
  3. Blackbird – John Lennon and Paul McCartney
  4. I Wonder Why – Billy Preston and George Johnson
  5. Will It Go Round in Circles – Billy Preston and Bruce Fisher
  6. Ain’t That Nothin – Billy Preston, Joe Greene and Robert Sam
  7. God Loves You – Billy Preston and John Schuler
  8. Make the Devil Mad – Turn on to Jesus
  9. Nigger Charlie – Billy Preston and Joe Greene
  10. Heart Full of Sorrow – Billy Preston and George Johnson
  11. Music Is My Life