Tag Archives: Denny Seiwell

In December 1973.

In December 1973, “Epic” label released “Essence to Essence”, the eleventh Donovan studio album. It was recorded September – October 1973, at “Morgan Studios”, and was produced by Donovan Leitch and Andrew Loog Oldham.


  • Donovan – vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Henry McCullough, Danny Kortchmar, Doug Schlink, Neil Hubbard, Peter Frampton- electric guitar
  • Alan Spenner, Carl Radle, Leland Sklar, Paul Ossola – bass
  • Danny Thompson- double bass
  • Carole King, Craig Doerge, Jean Roussel, Nicky Hopkins- piano
  • Nicky Hopkins – electric piano
  • Bobby Whitlock- organ
  • Bruce Rowland, Denny Seiwell, Jim Gordon, Russell Kunkel- drums
  • Ray Cooper- percussion
  • Tom Scott- woodwind
  • Jack Emblow – accordion
  • Chris Nicholls – bass flute
  • Simon Jeffes- koto
  • The Scratch Band – background vocals
  • Andrew Powell, Del Newman, Nicky Harrison – strings

Track listing:

All tracks by Donovan Leitch.

  1. Operating Manual for Spaceship Earth
  2. Lazy Daze
  3. Life Goes On
  4. There is an Ocean
  5. Dignity of Man
  6. Yellow Star
  7. Divine Daze of Deathless Delight
  8. Boy for Every Girl
  9. Saint Valentine’s Angel
  10. Life is a Merry-Go-Round
  11. Sailing Homeward

In August 1974.

In August 1974, “A&M” label released “I Can Stand a Little Rain”, the fourth Joe Cocker studio album. It was recorded 1973 – 1974, at “The Village Recorder” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Jim Price.


  • Joe Cocker – lead vocals
  • Henry McCullough, Cornell Dupree, Jay Graydon, Ralph Hammer, Ray Palmer, Ray Parker, Jr.– guitar
  • Chuck Rainey, Clydie King, Dave McDaniel, Chris Stewart – bass
  • Bernard “Pretty” Purdie, Ollie E. Brown, Jeff Porcaro, Denny Seiwell, Jimmy Karstein – drums
  • Randy Newman, Nicky Hopkins, Greg Mathieson, Jimmy Webb, Jim Price, David Paich, Richard Tee, Peggy Sandvig – keyboards
  • Jim Horn, Trevor Lawrence – saxophone
  • Stuart Blumberg, Steve Madaio – trumpet
  • Mayo Tiana, Jim Price– trombone
  • Merry Clayton, Venetta Fields, Sherlie Matthews, Daniel Moore- backing vocals
  • Jim Price, Jimmy Webb– arrangements
  • Engineers, recording, mixing – Rob Fraboniand Nat Jeffrey, Joe Tuzen, Mario Aglietti, Rick Heenan, J.J. Jansen, Carlton Lee, Ken Klinger, Zak Zenor
  • Mastered by Kent Duncan
  • Steve Vaughan – photography

Track listing:

  1. Put Out the Light – Daniel Moore
  2. I Can Stand a Little Rain – Jim Price
  3. I Get Mad – Joe Cocker, Jim Price
  4. Sing Me a Song – Henry McCullough
  5. The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress – Jimmy Webb
  6. Don’t Forget Me – Harry Nilsson
  7. You Are So Beautiful – Billy Preston, Bruce Fisher
  8. It’s a Sin (When You Love Somebody) – Jimmy Webb
  9. Performance – Allen Toussaint
  10. Guilty – Randy Newman

On October 14, 1975.


On October 14, 1975, “Columbia” label released “Breakaway”, the second Art Garfunkel solo studio album. It was recorded in 1975, and was produced by Richard Perry, Paul Simon, Art Garfunkel and Phil Ramone. The album was certified Platinum in the US by “RIAA”.


  • Art Garfunkel – vocals
  • Toni Tennille– vocals
  • Stephen Bishop– guitar, vocals
  • Steve Cropper– guitar
  • Graham Nash– vocals
  • Paul Simon– guitar, vocals
  • Jay Clayton – vocal
  • Pete Carr– guitar
  • Andrew Gold– guitar, vocals
  • Nicky Hopkins– keyboards
  • Bruce Johnston– piano
  • Jim Keltner– drums
  • Louie Shelton– guitar
  • Barry Beckett– piano
  • Max Bennett– bass
  • Joe Clayton – percussion
  • David Crosby– vocals
  • David Katz – violin, orchestra contractor
  • John Guerin– drums
  • Roger Hawkins– drums
  • David Hood– bass
  • John Barlow Jarvis– piano
  • Larry Knechtel– keyboards
  • Russ Kunkel– drums
  • Del Newman – conductor
  • Joe Osborn– bass
  • Bill Payne– keyboards
  • Reinie Press – bass
  • Denny Seiwell– drums
  • Rick Shlosser– drums
  • Lon & Derrek VanEaton – guitar
  • Klaus Voormann– bass
  • Leland Sklar– bass
  • New World Philharmonic Orchestra – orchestra
  • Helena Kallianiotes– cover model

Track listing:

  1. I Believe (When I Fall in Love It Will Be Forever) – Stevie Wonder, Yvonne Wright
  2. Rag Doll – Steve Eaton
  3. Break Away – Benny Gallagher, Graham Lyle
  4. Disney Girls – Bruce Johnston
  5. Waters of March – Antônio Carlos Jobim
  6. My Little Town – Paul Simon
  7. I Only Have Eyes for You – Al Dubin, Harry Warren
  8. Looking for the Right One – Stephen Bishop
  9. 99 Miles from L.A. – Albert Hammond, Hal David
  10. The Same Old Tears on a New Background – Stephen Bishop

On May 17, 1971.


On May 17, 1971, “Apple” label released “Ram”, the second Paul McCartney studio album. It was recorded October 1970 – March 1971, at “Columbia Recording Studio” in New York, and was produced by Linda McCartney and Paul McCartney. “Ram” is the only album credited to Linda and Paul together.


  • Paul McCartney- lead, harmony and backing vocals, bass, piano, keyboards, guitar, ukulele
  • Linda McCartney- harmony and backing vocals, co-lead vocals
  • David Spinozza- guitar
  • Hugh McCracken- guitar
  • Denny Seiwell- drums
  • Heather McCartney- backing vocals
  • Marvin Stamm- flugelhorn
  • New York Philharmonic

Track listing:

  1. Too Many People – Paul McCartney
  2. 3 Legs – Paul McCartney
  3. Ram On – Paul McCartney
  4. Dear Boy – Paul and Linda McCartney
  5. Uncle Albert / Admiral Halsey – Paul and Linda McCartney
  6. Smile Away – Paul McCartney
  7. Heart of the Country – Paul and Linda McCartney
  8. Monkberry Moon Delight – Paul and Linda McCartney
  9. Eat at Home – Paul and Linda McCartney
  10. Long Haired Lady – Paul and Linda McCartney
  11. Ram On (reprise) – Paul McCartney
  12. The Back Seat of My Car – Paul McCartney


On December 7, 1971.


On December 7, 1971, “Apple” label released “Wild Life”, the debut Wings album.  It was recorded July – August 1971 at the “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by  Paul and Linda McCartney.


  • Paul McCartney– vocals, bass guitar, guitar, piano, keyboards, percussion
  • Linda McCartney– keyboards, piano, percussion, vocals
  • Denny Laine– guitars, bass guitar, percussion, keyboards, vocals
  • Denny Seiwell– drums, percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Paul and Linda McCartney, except where noted.

  1. Mumbo
  2. Bip Bop
  3. Love Is Strange – Mickey Baker, Sylvia Vanderpool, Ethel Smith
  4. Wild Life
  5. Some People Never Know
  6. I Am Your Singer
  7. Tomorrow
  8. Dear Friend