Tag Archives: Abbey Lincoln

On April 5, 2013.

On April 5, 2013, “100%”, “BMG” labels released “English Electric”, the twelfth Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark studio album. It was recorded 2012 – 2103 at “Motor Museum Studio” in Liverpool, “Bleepworks” in London, and was produced by Andy McCluskey, Paul Humphreys, Martin Cooper and Malcolm Holmes.


  • Andy McCluskey– vocals, bass guitar, keyboards
  • Paul Humphreys– vocals, keyboards, mixing
  • Martin Cooper– keyboards
  • Malcolm Holmes– drums, additional programming
  • David Watson– backing vocals
  • Claudia Brücken– machine voice
  • Fotonovela– additional programming
  • James Watson – additional programming
  • Guy Katsav– additional production
  • Abbey Lincoln– sample performer
  • Charles Reeves– Chinese recording
  • Mike Spink – additional engineering
  • Innes Marlow – photography
  • Peter Saville– art direction
  • Tom Skipp – sleeve design

Track listing:

  1. Please Remain Seated – Andy McCluskey
  2. Metroland – Andy McCluskey, Paul Humphreys
  3. Night Café – Andy McCluskey, Paul Humphreys
  4. The Future Will Be Silent – Andy McCluskey, Paul Humphreys
  5. Helen of Troy – Andy McCluskey, Bitzenis, Geranois
  6. Our System – Andy McCluskey, Paul Humphreys
  7. Kissing the Machine – Andy McCluskey, Karl Bartos
  8. Decimal – Andy McCluskey
  9. Stay With Me – Andy McCluskey, Paul Humphreys, James Watson
  10. Dresden – Andy McCluskey
  11. Atomic Ranch – Andy McCluskey
  12. Final Song – Andy McCluskey, Kurt Weill, Langston Hughes

On December 1, 1960.

On December 1, 1960, “Candid Records” label released “We Insist!” (subtitled Max Roach’s Freedom Now Suite), the 21st Max Roach album. It was recorded April – September 1960, at “Nola Penthouse Sound Studio” in New York City, and was produced by Nat Hentoff.


  • Max Roach– drums
  • Abbey Lincoln– vocals
  • Booker Little– trumpet
  • Julian Priester– trombone
  • Walter Benton– tenor saxophone
  • Coleman Hawkins– tenor saxophone
  • James Schenk – bass
  • Michael Olatunji– vpcals, congas
  • Raymond Mantilla– percussion
  • Tomas du Vall – percussion

Track listing:

All music by Max Roach, all lyrics by Oscar Brown.

  1. Driva Man
  2. Freedom Day
  3. Triptych: Prayer/Protest/Peace
  4. All Africa
  5. Tears for Johannesburg



On June 6, 1991.

Stan Getz

On June 6, 1991, Stanley Getz, died aged 64. Being jazz saxophonist (primarily tenor saxophone), came to prominence in the late 40’s playing with Woody Herman’s big band, and went on performing bebop and cool jazz.  He became world known with his bossa nova period, in which he recorded few albums that promoted bossa nova worldwide, including “Jazz Samba (1962)”; “Big Band Bossa Nova (1962)”; “Jazz Samba Encore! (1963)” and “Getz/Gilberto (1963)”. In his career he performed with some of the most important jazz artists, including Miles Davis, Bill Evans, Chet Baker, Gerry Mulligan, Joao Gilberto, Laurindo Almeida, Herb Alpert, Benny Goodman, Al Haig and Abbey Lincoln. Getz achieved big number of awards including five “Grammy Awards”:

  • Grammy Award for Best Jazz Performance, Soloist or Small Group (Instrumental) “Desafinado,” Stan Getz. 1962
  • Grammy Award for Record of the Year, “The Girl From Ipanema,” 1964
  • Grammy Award for Album of the Year, Getz/Gilberto, Stan Getz and João Gilberto (Verve) 1964
  • Grammy Award for Best Instrumental Jazz Performance, Small Group or Soloist With Small Group, Getz/Gilberto, Stan Getz 1964
  • Grammy Award for Best Jazz Solo Performance, “I Remember You” Stan Getz 1991