Tag Archives: George Tidwell

In November 1976.

In November 1976, “Monument Records” label released “Regeneration”, the twentieth Roy Orbison album. It was recorded January – August 1976, and was produced by Fred Foster.


  • Roy Orbison – vocals
  • Grady Martin, John Christopher, Reggie Young, Steve Gibson – guitar
  • Bobby Emmons, Bobby Wood, Shane Keister – keyboards
  • Tommy Cogbill – bass guitar
  • Gene Chrisman, Jerry Carrigan – drums
  • Farrell Morris – percussion
  • Charles Rose, Harrison Calloway, Harvey Thompson, Billy Puett, Dennis Good, George Tidwell – horns
  • Bergen White, Buzz Cason, Dennis Linde, Diane Tidwell, Ginger Holladay, Janie Fricke, Laverna Moore, Lisa Silver, Sheri Kramer, The Cherry Sisters, Tom Brannon – backing vocals
  • Brenton Banks, Byron Bach, Carl Gorodetzky, Christian Teal, Gary Vanosdale, George Binkley, Lennie Haight, Martha McCrory, Martin Katahn, Marvin Chantry, Pam Sixfin, Roy Christensen, Sheldon Kurland, Stephanie Woolf, Steven Smith, Virginia Christensen – strings
  • Bill Justis – arranger
  • Bergen White – arranger

Track listing:

  1. I’m a Southern Man – Tony Joe White
  2. No Chain at All – Bob Morrison
  3. Old Love Song – Bob Morrison, Alice Kiester
  4. Can’t Wait – Alan Rush, Dennis Linde
  5. Born to Love Me – Bob Morrison
  6. Blues in My Mind – Fred Rose
  7. Something They Can’t Take Away – Kris Kristofferson
  8. Under Suspicion – Alan Rush, Dennis Linde
  9. I Don’t Really Want You – Dennis Linde
  10. Belinda – Dennis Linde

In November 1974.

In November 1974, “Epic” label released “7-Tease”, the 14th Donovan studio album. It was recorded September – October 1974, and was produced by Norbert Putnam, Donovan Leitch and Mark Radice.


  • Donovan – vocals, acoustic guitar, bass, harmonica
  • Reggie Young – electric guitar
  • Teddy Erwin – electric guitar
  • Johnny Christopher – rhythm guitar
  • David Briggs – keyboards, string arrangement
  • Norbert Putnam – bass guitar
  • Red Callender – bass guitar
  • Kenneth Buttrey – drums, percussion
  • Mike Melvoin – keyboards
  • Earl Palmer – drums, percussion
  • Ben Cauley, Charlie Rose, Harrison Calloway, Harvey Thompson, Ronnie Eades, Bill Puett, George Tidwell, George Bohanon, Johnny Rotella, Tony Terran – horns
  • Buffy Sainte-Marie, Byron Warner, Florence Warner, Ginger Holladay, Lea Jane Berinati, Mary Holladay – background vocals
  • Sheldon Kurland – concertmaster

Track listing:

All tracks by Donovan Leitch.

  1. Rock and Roll Souljer
  2. Your Broken Heart
  3. Salvation Stomp
  4. The Ordinary Family
  5. Ride-a-Mile
  6. Sadness
  7. Moon Rok
  8. Love of My Life
  9. The Voice of Protest
  10. How Silly
  11. The Greatest Song of the Sky
  12. The Quest

In September 1976.

In September 1976, “Shelter” label released “Troubadour”, the fourth J. J. Cale studio album. It was recorded in 1976, and was produced by Audie Ashworth.


  • J. Cale– vocals, guitar, piano
  • Charles Dungey, Tommy Cogbill, Joe Osborn, Bill Raffensperger – bass guitar
  • Karl Himmel, Kenny Buttrey, Buddy Harman, Jimmy Karstein, Kenny Malone– drums
  • Gordon Payne, Chuck Browning, Doug Bartenfeld – guitar
  • Reggie Young, Harold Bradley, Bill Boatman – rhythm guitar
  • Lloyd Green, Buddy Emmons– steel guitar
  • Farrell Morris, Audie Ashworth, I. Allison – percussion
  • Don Tweedy – ARP
  • Bobby Woods, Bill Purcell – piano
  • George Tidwell – trumpet
  • Dennis Goode – trombone
  • Billy Puett – saxophone

Track listing:

All tracks by J. J. Cale, except where noted.

  1. Hey Baby
  2. Travelin’ Light
  3. You Got Something
  4. Ride Me High
  5. Hold On
  6. Cocaine
  7. I’m a Gypsy Man – Sonny Curtis
  8. The Woman That Got Away
  9. Super Blue
  10. Let Me Do It to You
  11. Cherry
  12. You Got Me On So Bad

On March 25, 1976.


On March 25, 1976, “MPL Communications” label released “Wings at the Speed of Sound”, the fifth Wings studio album.It was recorded 5 January–4 February 1976, at ”Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Paul McCartney


  • Paul McCartney- vocals, acoustic, electric and bass guitars,  keyboards, double bass
  • Linda McCartney- vocals, keyboards
  • Denny Laine- vocals, acoustic, electric and bass guitars, piano
  • Jimmy McCulloch- vocals, acoustic, electric and bass guitars
  • Joe English- vocals, drums, percussion
  • Tony Dorsey – trombone
  • Thaddeus Richard – saxophone, clarinet, flute
  • Steve Howard – trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Howie Casey– saxophone
  • George Tidwell – trumpet

 Track listing:

All tracks by Paul and Linda McCartney, except where noted.

  1. Let ‘Em In
  2. The Note You Never Wrote
  3. She’s My Baby
  4. Beware My Love
  5. Wino Junko – Jimmy McCulloch, Colin Allen
  6. Silly Love Songs
  7. Cook of the House
  8. Time to Hide – Denny Laine
  9. Must Do Something About It
  10. San Ferry Anne
  11. Warm and Beautiful

On August 30, 1979.


On August 30, 1979, “Island” label released “5”, the fifth J J Cale album. It was recorded at the “Crazy Mama Studios”, Nashville, “The Lakehouse”;  “Old Hickory”; “Columbia Studios” and “Woodland Studios” in Nashville, and was produced by Audie Ashworth and J J Cale.


  • JJ Cale: guitars, bass, piano, drums, vocals
  • Christine Lakeland: voices, organ, rhythm guitar, percussion, piano
  • Billy Cox: bass
  • Carl Radle: bass
  • Nick Rather: bass
  • Karl Himmel: drums
  • Kenny Buttrey: drums
  • Buddy Harman: drums
  • Jimmy Karstein: drums, congas
  • David Briggs: piano
  • Larry Bell: electric piano, organ
  • Bill Boatman: electric and rhythm guitar, Fiddle
  • Bill Kenner: mandolin
  • Farrell Morris: vibes
  • Sherry Porter: voices
  • Shelly Kurland: strings
  • Carl Gorodetzy: strings
  • Roy Christensen: strings
  • Marv Chantry: strings
  • Cam Mullins: string arrangements
  • George Tidwell: horns
  • Don Sheffield: horns
  • Dennis Goode: horns
  • Terry Williams: horns

Track listing:

All tracks by J J Cale, except where noted.

  1. Thirteen Days
  2. Bolin’ Pot
  3. I’ll Make Love to You
  4. Don’t Cry Sister
  5. Too Much for Me
  6. Sensitive Kind
  7. Friday
  8. Lou-Easy-Ann
  9. Let’s Go to Tahiti – Bill Boatman, Roger Tilotson
  10. Katy Kool Lady – J J Cale, Christine Lakeland
  11. Fate of a Fool
  12. Mona