Tag Archives: Alex Harvey

On March 27, 1972.

On March 27, 1972, “Dunhill” label released “Seven Separate Fools”, the eighth Three Dog Night album. It was recorded in 1972, and was produced by Richard Podolor.


  • Mike Allsup– guitar
  • Jimmy Greenspoon– keyboards
  • Danny Hutton– lead and background vocals
  • Chuck Negron– lead and background vocals
  • Joe Schermie– bass guitar
  • Floyd Sneed– drums
  • Cory Wells– lead and background vocals
  • Patrick Sullivan – cello
  • Gary Itri – acoustic guitar
  • Ed Caraeff- art direction, photography, design concept
  • David Larkham – graphics, typography, design concept

Track listing:

  1. Black and White – David I. Arkin, Earl Robinson
  2. My Old Kentucky Home (Turpentine and Dandelion Wine) – Randy Newman
  3. Prelude to Morning – Jimmy Greenspoon
  4. Pieces of April – Dave Loggins
  5. Going in Circles – Jaiananda, Ted Myers
  6. Chained – Russ Ballard
  7. Tulsa Turnaround – Larry Collins, Alex Harvey
  8. In Bed – Tom Baird, Lynn Henderson, Wes Henderson
  9. Freedom for the Stallion – Allen Toussaint
  10. The Writing’s on the Wall – Domenic Troiano
  11. Midnight Runaway – Gary Itri

In October 1974.

In October 1974, “Vertigo” label released “The Impossible Dream”, the third   Sensational Alex Harvey Band. It was recorded in 1974, at “Apple Studios” in London, and was produced by David Batchelor, Derek Wadsworth, Alex Harvey, Zal Cleminson, Chris Glen, Hugh McKenna and Ted McKenna.

  • Alex Harvey– lead vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Zal Cleminson– guitar
  • Chris Glen– bass guitar
  • Hugh McKenna – keyboards, synthesizer
  • Ted McKenna– drums
  • Vicky Silva – guest vocals
  • London-Scottish TA Regiment (including John Gilligan) – drums, pipes
  • Martin Rushent, Dave “Cyrano” Langston – engineer
  • Keith Davis – cover illustration, design

Track listing:

All tracks by Alex Harvey and Hugh McKenna; except where noted.

  1. Hot City Symphony Part 1: Vambo
  2. Hot City Symphony Part 2: Man in the Jar – Alex Harvey, Hugh McKenna, Alistair Cleminson
  3. River of Love
  4. Long Hair Music
  5. Hey – Alex Harvey, Zal Cleminson, Hugh McKenna
  6. Sergeant Fury – Alex Harvey, Hugh McKenna, David Batchelor
  7. Weights Made of Lead – Alex Harvey
  8. Money Honey – Jesse Stone / The Impossible Dream – Mitch Leigh, Joe Darion
  9. Tomahawk Kid – Alex Harvey, Hugh McKenna, David Batchelor
  10. Anthem


On August 23, 2005.

On August 23, 2005, “RCA” label released “Sixty Six Steps”, the second Leo Kottke and Mike Gordon studio album. It was recorded in 2005, and was produced by David Z. The album was awarded “Studio Album of the Year” at the 2006 “Jammy Awards”.


  • Leo Kottke – vocals, guitar
  • Mike Gordon – vocals, bass, guitar
  • Neil Symonette – drums, percussion

Track listing:

  1. Living In The Country – Pete Seeger
  2. The Grid – Mike Gordon
  3. Oh Well – Peter Green
  4. Rings’ – Alex Harvey, Eddie Reeves
  5. Cherry County – Leo Kottke
  6. Sweet Emotion – Tom Hamilton, Steven Tyler
  7. The Stolen Quiet – Mike Gordon
  8. Balloon – Leo Kottke
  9. Over The Dam – Mike Gordon, Linitz
  10. Can’t Hang – Mike Gordon
  11. From Spink to Correctionville – Leo Kottke
  12. Ya Mar – Cyril Ferguson
  13. Twice – Leo Kottke
  14. Invisible – Mike Gordon, Linitz

In August 1974.

In August 1974, “Columbia” label released “We Had It All”, the tenth Scott Walker studio album. It was recorded 1973 – 1974, at “Nova Studios” in Marble Arch, and was produced by Del Newman.


  • Scott Walker – vocals
  • Del Newman – arrangements
  • Roslav Szaybo – artwork
  • Joseph – photography

Track listing:

  1. Low Down Freedom – Billy Joe Shaver
  2. We Had It All – Donnie Frits, Troy Seals
  3. Black Rose – Billy Joe Shaver
  4. Ride Me Down Easy – Billy Joe Shaver
  5. You’re Young and You’ll Forget – Jerry Reed
  6. The House Song – Robert H. Bannard, Paul Stookey
  7. What Ever Happened to Saturday Night – Randy Meisner, Don Henley, Glenn Frey, Bernie Leadon
  8. Sundown – Gordon Lightfoot
  9. Old Five and Dimers Like Me – Billy Joe Shaver
  10. Delta Dawn – Alex Harvey

On May 21, 2001.

On May 21, 2001, Tommy Eyre died aged 52.  He was a session keyboardist who has recorded and performed with John Martyn, Alex Harvey, Greg Lake, Michael Schenker, Gary Moore, B.B. King, John Mayall, Tracy Chapman Wham!, Marc Almond, Scarlet Rivera, Aynsley Dunbar Retaliation, Blue Whale, Jaklin, Riff Raff  and ZZebra, but he was best known for playing on Joe Cocker’s “With A Little Help From My Friends” and Gerry Rafferty’s “Baker Street” and “Right Down the Line”. Eyre has released seven solo albums.


In April 1975.

In April 1975, “Vertigo” label released “Tomorrow Belongs to Me”the fifth Sensational Alex Harvey Band. It was recorded in 1975, at “Scorpio Studios” in London, and was produced by David Batchelor, Alex Harvey, Zal Cleminson, Chris Glen, Hugh McKenna and Ted McKenna.


  • Alex Harvey– lead vocals, guitar, harmonica
  • Zal Cleminson– guitar, backing vocals
  • Chris Glen– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Hugh McKenna – keyboards, synthesizer, backing vocals
  • Ted McKenna– drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Barry St. John, Liza Strike, Vicki Brown– backing vocals
  • Derek Wadsworth- string and brass arrangements
  • Dennis Weinreich, Ray Hendriksen – engineer
  • Peter Swettenham – extra recording, mixing
  • Dave Field – sleeve illustration
  • Jack Wood – art direction

Track listing:

  1. Action Strasse – Alex Harvey, Alistair Cleminson, Hugh McKenna
  2. Snake Bite – Alex Harvey
  3. Soul in Chains – David Batchelor, Alistair Cleminson, Alex Harvey, Hugh McKenna
  4. The Tale of the Giant Stoneater – Alex Harvey, Hugh McKenna
  5. Ribs and Balls – Chris Glen, Alex Harvey
  6. Give My Compliments to the Chef – Alex Harvey, Alistair Cleminson, Hugh McKenna
  7. Shark’s Teeth – Alex Harvey, Alistair Cleminson
  8. Shake That Thing – Alex Harvey
  9. Tomorrow Belongs to Me – Fred Ebb, John Kander
  10. To Be Continued…(Hail Vibrania!) – Alex Harvey, Alistair Cleminson


On October 9, 1978.


On October 9, 1978, Jacques Romain Georges Brel died aged 49. He was a Belgian singer, songwriter and actor, widely considered a master of the modern chanson. He recorded most of his songs in French and in Dutch, but he became a major influence on English speaking songwriters and performers such as David Bowie, Alex Harvey, Leonard Cohen, Marc Almond and Rod McKuen. The English translations of his songs were recorded by many famous performers including Ray Charles, Nina Simone, Frank Sinatra, Judy Collins, John Denver, the Kingston Trio,  Scott Walker and Andy Williams. Having sold over 25 million records worldwide, Brel is the fourth best-selling Belgian recording artist of all time.