In February 1985.


In February 1985, “Verve” label released “VU”, an  outtakes  compilation album  by The Velvet Underground. It was recorded 1968 – 1969 in New York City, and was produced by John Cale, Sterling Morrison, Lou Reed and Maureen Tucker. The album is selection from the 1969 tracks and two previously unreleased John Cale-era songs—”Temptation Inside Your Heart” and “Stephanie Says”.


  • Lou Reed– vocals, guitar
  • John Cale– viola, celesta, bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Sterling Morrison– guitar, backing vocals
  • Maureen Tucker– vocals, percussion
  • Doug Yule– lead and backing vocals, bass guitar, keyboards, piano, lead guitar
  • Gary Kellgren– engineer
  • C. Convertino – engineer
  • Bill Levenson – executive producer

Track listing:

All tracks by Lou Reed except where noted.

  1. I Can’t Stand It
  2. Stephanie Says
  3. She’s My Best Friend
  4. Lisa Says
  5. Ocean
  6. Foggy Notion – Lou Reed, Sterling Morrison, Doug Yule, Maureen Tucker, Hy Weiss
  7. Temptation Inside Your Heart
  8. One of These Days
  9. Andy’s Chest
  10. I’m Sticking With You

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.