The Bar Keys: Nightcruising

In November 1981, “Mercury” label released “Nightcruising”, the twelve Bar Kays (The) album. It was recorded in 1981, at “Ardent Recording Studios” in Memphis, Tennessee, and was produced by Allen Jones.



  • James Alexander – vocals, bass
  • Larry Dodson – vocals
  • Mark Bynum – vocals, keyboard
  • Winston Stewart – keyboards
  • Lloyd Smith – guitar
  • Michael Toles – guitar
  • Charles Allen – vocals, trumpet
  • Benjamin Cauley – trumpet
  • Harvey Henderson – saxophone
  • Frank Thompson – trombone
  • Bryan Smith – bass
  • Michael Beard – drums
  • Sherman Guy – vocals, percussion
  • Mervell Thomas – arranger
  • Henry Bush – engineer
  • Allen Jones – engineer, cover concept
  • Bernie Grundman – engineer
  • Mike McCarty – art direction
  • Tom Hill – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by James Alexander, Larry Dodson, Mark Bynum, Winston Stewart, Lloyd Smith, Charles Allen, Benjamin Cauley, Harvey Henderson, Frank Thompson, Bryan Smith, Michael Beard, Sherman Guy and Allen Jones, except where noted.

  1. Nightcruising
  2. Hit and Run
  3. Feels Like I’m Falling in Love
  4. Freaky Behavior – Allen Jones, Howard Redmond, Jr.
  5. Touch Tone
  6. Unforgettable Dream
  7. Traffic Jammer
  8. Backseat Driver

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.