Tag Archives: Trouble in Mind

In November 1957.

In November 1957, “Bethlehem” label released “Clean Head’s Back in Town”, the debut Eddie “Cleanhead” Vinson album. It was recorded in August 1957, in New York City, and was produced by Bob Thiele.


  • Eddie “Cleanhead” Vinson – vocals, alto saxophone
  • Joe Newman − trumpet
  • Henry Coker − trombone
  • Bill Graham − alto saxophone
  • Charlie Rouse, Frank Foster, Paul Quinichette − tenor saxophone
  • Charles Fowlkes − baritone saxophone
  • Nat Pierce − piano
  • Freddie Green, Turk Van Lake – guitar
  • Ed Jones − bass
  • Ed Thigpen, Gus Johnson − drums
  • Ernie Wilkins, Harry Tubbs, Manny Albam − arranger

Track listing:

All tracks by Eddie “Cleanhead” Vinson, Dossie Terry and William Gray except where noted

  1. Cleanhead’s Back in Town
  2. That’s the Way to Treat Your Woman
  3. Trouble in Mind – Richard M. Jones
  4. Kidney Stew Blues – Eddie Vinson, Leona Blackman
  5. Sweet Lovin’ Baby – Charles Darwin
  6. Caldonia – Fleecie Moore
  7. It Ain’t Necessarily So – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin
  8. Cherry Red – Pete Johnson, Big Joe Turner
  9. Is You Is or Is You Ain’t My Baby – Louis Jordan, Bill Austin
  10. I Just Can’t Keep the Tears from Tumblin’ Down – Charles Darwin
  11. Your Baby Ain’t Sweet Like Mine
  12. Hold It Right There
  13. Trouble in Mind (alternate take) – Richard M. Jones
  14. Kidney Stew Blues (alternate take) – Eddie Vinson, Leona Blackman
  15. Hold It Right There (alternate take)

On September 9, 2003.

On September 9, 2003, “Hyena” label released “No Escape from the Blues: The Electric Lady Sessions”, the 17th James Blood Ulmer album. It was recorded in April 2003, at “Electric Lady Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Vernon Reid.


  • James Blood Ulmer– vocals, guitar
  • Vernon Reid– guitar
  • Charles Burnham- violin
  • Leon Gruenbaum- piano, keyboards
  • David Barnes – harmonica
  • Mark Peterson – bass
  • Aubrey Dayle- drums
  • Queen Esther– vocals
  • Olu Dara- pocket trumpet
  • John Kruth- tambourine
  • Maya Smullyan Jenkins- tap

Track listing:

  1. Goin’ to New York – Mary Lee Reed
  2. Hustle Is On – Eddy H. Owens
  3. Who’s Been Talkin’ – Chester Burnett
  4. Ghetto Child – Johnny Copeland
  5. Are You Glad to Be in America – James Blood Ulmer
  6. You Know, I Know – John Lee Hooker
  7. Let the Good Times Roll – Earl King
  8. Bright Lights, Big City – Jimmy Reed
  9. No Escape from the Blues – McKinley Morganfield, Charles Edward Williams
  10. Satisfy (Story of My Life) – James Blood Ulmer
  11. Trouble in Mind – Richard M. Jones
  12. The Blues Had a Baby and Called It Rock N Roll – Brownie McGhee, McKinley Morganfield


In January 1962.

In January 1962, “Warner Bros” label released “Instant Party!”, the sixth Everly Brothers album. It was recorded August – November 1961.


  • Don Everly– vocals, guitar
  • Phil Everly– vocals, guitar
  • Chet Atkins– electric guitar
  • Hank Garland– electric guitar
  • Luther Brandon– acoustic guitar
  • Floyd Chance– bass
  • Floyd Cramer– piano
  • Buddy Harman, Jr.– drums
  • Ken Whitmore – cover photography

Track listing:

  1. Step It Up and Go – traditional; credited to Don Everly, Phil Everly
  2. Theme From ‘Carnival (Love Makes the World Go ‘Round – Bob Merrill
  3. Jezebel – Wayne Shanklin
  4. True Love – Cole Porter
  5. Bye Bye Blackbird – Mort Dixon, Ray Henderson
  6. When It’s Night-Time in Italy It’s Wednesday Over Here – Lew Brown, James Kendis
  7. Oh! My Pa-Pa (O Mein Papa) – Paul Burkhard, Geoffrey Parsons, John Turner
  8. Trouble in Mind – Richard M. Jones
  9. Autumn Leaves – Joseph Kosma, Johnny Mercer, Jacques Prévert
  10. Long Lost John – adapted by Ike Everly
  11. The Party’s Over – Betty Comden, Adolph Green, Jules Styne
  12. Ground Hawg – adapted by Ike Everly

In December 1963.

In December 1963, “Verve” label released “These are the Blues”, the 30th Ella Fitzgerald album. It was recorded October 28 – 29, 1963, at “A&R Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Norman Granz.


  • Ella Fitzgerald- vocals
  • Roy Eldridge- trumpet
  • Wild Bill Davis- electronic organ
  • Herb Ellis- guitar
  • Ray Brown- double bass
  • Gus Johnson- drums

Track listing:

  1. Jailhouse Blues – Bessie Smith, Clarence Williams
  2. In the Evening (When the Sun Goes Down) – Leroy Carr, Don Raye
  3. See See Rider – Ma Rainey
  4. You Don’t Know My Mind – Gray, Virginia Liston, Williams
  5. Trouble in Mind – Richard M. Jones
  6. How Long, How Long Blues – Leroy Carr
  7. Cherry Red – Pete Johnson, Big Joe Turner
  8. Downhearted Blues – Lovie Austin, Alberta Hunter
  9. Louis Blues – W. C. Handy
  10. Hear Me Talkin’ to Ya – Louis Armstrong

On September 26, 2006.

On September 26, 2006, “Artists First“label released “Last Man Standing”, the 39th studio Jerry Lee Lewis album. It was recorded in “Phillips Studio” and “Sun Studio” in Memphis, Tennessee, and was produced by Jimmy Ripp and Steve Bing. The album consists of duets between Jerry Lee Lewis and some of the biggest names in rock and country music.

Track listing:

  1. Rock and Roll – John Paul Jones, John Bonham, James Patrick Page, Robert Plant / duet with Jimmy Page
  2. Before the Night Is Over – Benjamin Peters / duet with B.B. King
  3. Pink Cadillac – Bruce Springsteen / duet with Bruce Springsteen
  4. Evening Gown – Mick Jagger / duet with Mick Jagger and Ron Wood
  5. You Don’t Have to Go – James Matcher Reed / duet with Neil Young
  6. Twilight – Robbie Robertson, David Campbell / duet with Robbie Robertson
  7. Travelin’ Band – John Fogerty / duet with John Fogerty
  8. That Kind of Fool – Mack Vickery / duet with Keith Richards
  9. Sweet Little 16 – Chuck Berry / duet with Ringo Starr
  10. Just a Bummin’ Around – Pete Graves / duet with Merle Haggard
  11. Honky Tonk Woman – Mick Jagger, Keith Richards / duet with Kid Rock
  12. What’s Made Milwaukee Famous (Has Made a Loser Out of Me) – Glenn Sutton – duet with Rod Stewart
  13. Don’t Be Ashamed of Your Age – Cindy Walker, Bob Wills / duet with George Jones
  14. Couple More Years – Dennis Locorriere, Shel Silverstein / duet with Willie Nelson
  15. Old Glory – Paul Roberts, Shelby Darnell, Jerry Lee Lewis / duet with Toby Keith
  16. Trouble in Mind – Richard M. Jones / duel with Eric Clapton
  17. I Saw Her Standing There – John Lennon, Paul McCartney / duet with Little Richard
  18. Lost Highway – Leon Payne / duet with Delaney Bramlett
  19. Hadacohl Boogie – Bill Nettles / duet with Buddy Guy
  20. What Makes the Irish Heart Beat – Van Morrison / duet with Don Henley
  21. The Pilgrim Ch. 33 – Kris Kristofferson / duet with Kris Kristofferson