Tag Archives: Hyena

On May 24, 2005.

On May 24, 2005, “Hyena” label released “Birthright”, the 18th James Blood Ulmer album. It was recorded in 2004, at “Gigantic Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Vernon Reid. “Birthright” was voted the “Blues Album of the Year” in the “2005 Down Beat Readers’ Poll”.


  • James Blood Ulmer– vocals, guitar, flute

Track listing:

All tracks by James Blood Ulmer except where noted.

  1. Take My Music Back to the Church
  2. I Can’t Take It Anymore
  3. Where Did All the Girls Come From
  4. I Ain’t Superstitious – Willie Dixon
  5. White Man’s Jail
  6. High Yellow
  7. The Evil One
  8. Geechee Joe
  9. Love Dance Rag
  10. Sittin’ on Top of the World – traditional
  11. My Most Favorite Thing
  12. Devil’s Got to Burn


On October 12, 2010.

On October 12, 2010, “Cobraside” and “Royal Order” label released “Miracles & Metaphors”, the fourth Gramm Rabbit studio album. It was recorded in 2010, at “The Powderhorn Ranch” in Pioneertown, CA, at ‘Rabbit Ranch” in Joshuat Tree, “Royal Triton Studio” and the “Boat Studio” in Silverlake, and was produced by Ethan Allen and Gram Rabbit.


  • Jesika von Rabbit – vocals, keyboard, guitar
  • Todd Rutherford – vocals, bass, guitar, programming
  • Ethan Allen – vocals, guitar, programming, engineer
  • Hayden Scott – drums
  • Hillary Hack – guest vocals
  • Brian MacLeod – drums
  • Henri Benard – drums
  • Bill Marsh – pedal steel
  • Stewart Cole – trumpet
  • Brandon Jay – percussion
  • Larry Nettles – spoken sample

Track listing:

All tracks by Jesika von Rabbit, Todd Rutherford, Ethan Allen and Hayden Scott, except where noted.

  1. Time of Our Lives
  2. Candy Flip – Jesika von Rabbit, Todd Rutherford, Ethan Allen, Hayden Scott, Hillary Hack
  3. Falling Debris
  4. Hyena
  5. Flowerhead – Jesika von Rabbit, Todd Rutherford, Zaine Alwan
  6. Off With Your Head
  7. Wheels in Motion
  8. Another Long Day
  9. Destinies Align
  10. They’re Watching
  11. Horses Can’t Throw Up
  12. I Rest My Case