Tag Archives: Kelly Hogan

On November 17,2017.

On November 17, 2017, “Anti Records” label released “If All I Was Was Black”, the sixteenth Mavis Staples studio album. It was recorded in 2017, and was produced by Jeff Tweedy.


  • Mavis Staples – vocals
  • Jeff Tweedy – vocals, guitar, bass, percussion
  • Spencer Tweedy – drums, percussion
  • Rick Holmstrom– guitar
  • Jeff Turnes – bass
  • Stephen Hodges- drums, percussion
  • Donny Gerrard, Kelly Hogan, Akenya – backing vocals
  • Glenn Kotche– percussion
  • Scott Ligon – clavinet, piano, organ, Wurly, guitar

Track listing:

  1. Little Bit – Jeff Tweedy
  2. If All I Was Was Black – Jeff Tweedy, Mavis Staple
  3. Who Told You That – Jeff Tweedy
  4. Ain’t No Doubt About It – Jeff Tweedy
  5. Peaceful Dream – Jeff Tweedy
  6. No Time for Crying – Jeff Tweedy, Mavis Staple
  7. Build a Bridge – Jeff Tweedy
  8. We go High – Jeff Tweedy, Mavis Staple
  9. Try Harder – Jeff tweedy
  10. All Over Again – Jeff Tweedy

On March 7, 2006.

On March 7, 2006, “Anti Records” label released “Fox Confessor Brings the Flood”,  the fourth Neko Case album. It was recorded in 2005, at “Wavelab Studios” in Tucson, and was produced by Neko Case and Darryl Neudorf.


  • Neko Case– vocals, acoustic and electric tenor guitars, acoustic and electric guitars, tambourine, whirly bird, piano, hammered dulcimer
  • Garth Hudson– piano, organ
  • Mike Belitsky– drums
  • Paul Rigby – electric guitar, 12-string electric guitar, guitar loop
  • Joey Burns– acoustic guitar, upright bass, cello, nylon acoustic guitar
  • John Convertino– drums
  • Anne de Wolff– violin
  • Tom V. Ray– upright bass, bass
  • Travis Good– acoustic and electric guitars
  • Kelly Hogan– vocals
  • Dallas Good– electric and 12-string guitars
  • Sean Dean– upright bass
  • Rachel Flotard– backing vocals
  • Dexter Romweber– electric guitar
  • Howe Gelb– electric guitar, piano
  • Willie B – drums
  • Jon Rauhouse – banjo, Hawaiian guitar
  • Brian Connelly – acoustic guitar
  • Julie Morstad – artwork

Track listing:

All tracks by Neko Case, except where noted.

  1. Margaret vs. Pauline
  2. Star Witness
  3. Hold On, Hold On – Neko Case, The Sadies
  4. A Widow’s Toast
  5. That Teenage Feeling
  6. Fox Confessor Brings the Flood – Neko Case, Paul Rigby
  7. John Saw That Number – traditional, Neko Case
  8. Dirty Knife
  9. Lion’s Jaws – Neko Case, The Sadies
  10. Maybe Sparrow
  11. At Last
  12. The Needle Has Landed – Neko Case, The Sadies

On September 3, 2013.

On September 3, 2013, “Anti” label released “The Worse Things Get, the Harder I Fight, the Harder I Fight, the More I Love You”, the sixth Neko Case studio album. It was recorded in 2013, and was produced by Tucker Martine.


  • Neko Case – vocals, backing vocals, guitar, tambourine, jingle bells
  • Kelly Hogan– backing vocals
  • Jon Rauhouse – electric guitar, pedal steel guitar, acoustic guitar, banjo
  • Paul Rigby – electric guitar, acoustic guitar, 12-string guitar
  • Tom V. Ray– bass
  • Steve Berlin – MIDI saxophone, baritone saxophone, flute
  • Carl Broemel – electric guitar solo
  • Joey Burns – cello, baritone guitar, bass
  • Tracyanne Campbell – vocals
  • Kurt Dahle– drums
  • Rachael Flotard – backing vocals
  • Tom Hagerman – violin, viola
  • Jim James– backing vocals
  • Bo Koster – piano, organ, Mellotron, bass organ, synths, keyboards, Melodeon, Wurlitzer, clavinet, vibraphone
  • C. Newman– backing vocals
  • Jon Rauhouse – trombone
  • Marc Ribot– piano
  • Craig Schmaucher – chimes
  • Chris Schultz – sonar samples
  • Jacob Venezuela – trumpets
  • Ward– electric guitar, vocals
  • Martin Wenk – trumpets

Track listing:

All tracks by Neko Case, except where noted.

  1. Wild Creatures
  2. Night Still Comes
  3. Man – Neko Case, Paul Rigby
  4. I’m from Nowhere – Neko Case, Paul Rigby
  5. Bracing for Sunday
  6. Nearly Midnight, Honolulu
  7. Calling Cards – Neko Case, Paul Rigby
  8. City Swans – Neko Case, Paul Rigby
  9. Afraid – Nico
  10. Local Girl
  11. Where Did I Leave That Fire?
  12. Ragtime – Neko Case, Paul Rigby


On January 20, 2015.


On January 20, 2015, “Capitol” label released “What a Terrible World, What a Beautiful World”, the seventh Decemberists studio album. It was recorded in 2014, and was produced by Tucker Martine.


  • Colin Meloy- lead vocals, acoustic and electric guitars,  bouzouki,  harmonica, backing vocals
  • Chris Funk- acoustic and electric guitars, banjo, bouzouki, mandolin
  • Jenny Conlee- piano, Hammond organ, vibraphone, accordion, keyboards
  • Nate Query- bass, upright bass
  • John Moen- drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Rachel Flotard – background vocals
  • Kelly Hogan– background vocals
  • Laura Veirs– background vocals
  • Ragen Fykes – background vocals
  • Moorea Masa – background vocals
  • “The Singer Addresses His Audience” Choir: Kyleen King, Laura Veirs, Allison Hall, Bridgit Jacobson,Carson Ellis, Michael Finn, Jeremy Swatzky, Shelley Short, Steven Watkins, Ritchie Young, Moorea Masa
  • The “Anti-Summersong” Narrator Support Gang: Chris Funk, Nate Query, John Moen, Jason Colton,Tucker Martine
  • Rob Moose -violin, fiddle
  • Kyleen King -viola
  • Patti King – violin
  • Anna Fritz -cello
  • Victor Nash -trumpet
  • String arrangementsby Rob Moose
  • Recorded and mixed by Tucker Martine
  • Mastered byStephen Marcussen
  • Assistant engineering by Michael Finn
  • Design by Jeri Heiden and Glen Nakasako for SMOG Design, Inc.
  • Illustrations and lettering byCarson Ellis
  • Photography byAutumn de Wilde

Track listing:

All tracks by Colin Meloy.

  1. The Singer Addresses His Audience
  2. Cavalry Captain
  3. Philomena
  4. Make You Better
  5. Lake Song
  6. Till the Water’s All Long Gone
  7. The Wrong Year
  8. Carolina Low
  9. Better Not Wake the Baby
  10. Anti-Summersong
  11. Easy Come, Easy Go
  12. Mistral
  13. 12/17/12
  14. A Beginning Song