On September 9, 2003.

On September 9, 2003, “Hyena” label released “No Escape from the Blues: The Electric Lady Sessions”, the 17th James Blood Ulmer album. It was recorded in April 2003, at “Electric Lady Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Vernon Reid.


  • James Blood Ulmer– vocals, guitar
  • Vernon Reid– guitar
  • Charles Burnham- violin
  • Leon Gruenbaum- piano, keyboards
  • David Barnes – harmonica
  • Mark Peterson – bass
  • Aubrey Dayle- drums
  • Queen Esther– vocals
  • Olu Dara- pocket trumpet
  • John Kruth- tambourine
  • Maya Smullyan Jenkins- tap

Track listing:

  1. Goin’ to New York – Mary Lee Reed
  2. Hustle Is On – Eddy H. Owens
  3. Who’s Been Talkin’ – Chester Burnett
  4. Ghetto Child – Johnny Copeland
  5. Are You Glad to Be in America – James Blood Ulmer
  6. You Know, I Know – John Lee Hooker
  7. Let the Good Times Roll – Earl King
  8. Bright Lights, Big City – Jimmy Reed
  9. No Escape from the Blues – McKinley Morganfield, Charles Edward Williams
  10. Satisfy (Story of My Life) – James Blood Ulmer
  11. Trouble in Mind – Richard M. Jones
  12. The Blues Had a Baby and Called It Rock N Roll – Brownie McGhee, McKinley Morganfield


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.