In July 1971.

In July 1971, “Stax” label released “Lovejoy”, the sixth Albert King studio album. It was recorded December 1970 – January 1971, and was produced by Don Nix.


  • Albert King – vocals, electric guitar
  • Jesse Edwin Davis, Tippy Armstrong, Wayne Perkins– guitar
  • John Gallie, Barry Beckett– keyboards
  • Donald “Duck” Dunn, David Hood– bass
  • Jim Keltner, Roger Hawkins – drums
  • Sandy Konikoff – percussion
  • Jeanne Green, The Mt. Zion Singers – backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. Honky Tonk Woman – Mick Jagger, Keith Richards
  2. Bay Area Blues – Donald “Duck” Dunn, Don Nix
  3. Corrina, Corrina – Don Nix
  4. She Caught the Katy(And Left Me A Mule To Ride) – Taj Mahal, James Rachell
  5. For the Love of a Woman – Don Nix
  6. Lovejoy, III.-Don Nix
  7. Everybody Wants To Go To Heaven – Don Nix
  8. Going Back To Iuka – Don Nix
  9. Like A Road Leading Home – Don Nix, Dan Penn

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.