On September 15, 1971.

On September 15, 1971, “United Artists” label released “Communication”, the third Bobby Womack studio album. It was recorded in 1971, at “United Artists Recording Studio” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Bobby Womack.


  • Bobby Womack – vocals, guitar, organ, string and horn arrangements
  • Barry Beckett – piano, clavichord, harpsichord, electric piano, Moog synthesizer
  • Jimmy Johnson, Tippy Armstrong – guitar
  • Truman Thomas, Clayton Ivey – keyboards
  • David Hood – bass
  • Roger Hawkins – drums, percussion
  • Ronnie Eades – baritone saxophone
  • Harvey Thompson – tenor saxophone
  • Harrison Calloway – trumpet
  • Dale Quillen – trombone
  • Friendly Womack, Jr., Curtis Womack, Harry Womack, Cecil Womack, Patrice Holloway, Pam Grier, Janice Singleton – backing vocals
  • René Hall – string arrangements
  • John Van Hamersveld – art direction
  • Norman Seeff – photography

Track listing:

  1. Communication – Bobby Womack
  2. Come l’ amore – Bob Hillard, Leon Ware
  3. Fire and Rain – James Taylor
  4. (If You Don’t Want My Love) Give It Back – Bobby Womack
  5. Medley: Monologue / (They Long to Be) Close to You – Burt Bacharach, Hal David
  6. Everything is Beautiful – Ray Stevens
  7. That’s the Way I Feel About You – Jimmy Grisby, Joe Hicks, Bobby Womack
  8. Yield Not to Temptation – Horatio Palmer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.