Tag Archives: Mickey Buckins

On May 16, 1979.

On May 16, 1979, “Asylum” label released “Laminar Flow”, the twenty first Roy Orbison album. It was recorded in 1979, and was produced by Clayton Ivey and Terry Woodford.


  1. Roy Orbison – vocals
  2. Larry Byrom – acoustic guitar
  3. Mac McAnally – acoustic guitar
  4. Bill Hinds, Robert Byrne, Tippy Armstrong – guitar
  5. Clayton Ivey – keyboards
  6. Bob Wray, Lonnie Ledford – bass guitar
  7. Lenny LeBlanc – drums, acoustic guitar, backing vocals
  8. Roger Clark – drums, synthesizer
  9. Mickey Buckins, Tom Roady – percussion
  10. Jim Horn – tenor and baritone saxophone
  11. Harvey Thompson – tenor saxophone
  12. Ronald Eades – baritone saxophone
  13. Harrison Calloway – trumpet
  14. Charles Rose – trombone
  15. Barbara Wyrick, Chris Price, Eddie Struzick, Marie Tomlinson, Robert Byrne, Suzy Storm, Terry Woodford – backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. Easy Way Out – Jim Valentini, Frank Saulino, Spady Brannan
  2. Love Is a Cold Wind – Charlie Black, Rory Bourke
  3. Lay It Down – Robert Byrne, Tommy Brasfield
  4. I Care – Lenny LeBlanc, Eddie Struzick
  5. We’re into Something Good – George Soulé, Terry Woodford
  6. Movin’ – Roy Orbison, Chris Price
  7. Poor Baby – Roy Orbison, Chris Price, Regi Price
  8. Warm Spot Hot – Eddie Struzick
  9. Tears – Roy Orbison, Chris Price, Dan Price, Regi Price
  10. Friday Night – Regi Price, Chris Price
  11. Hound Dog Man – Barbara Orbison, Terry Woodford, Tommy Stuart

In February 1982.

In February 1982, “Kat Family” label released “Just Another Day in Paradise”, the debut Bertie Higgins album. It was recorded January – November 1981, at “Pyramid Eye Recording Studio” in Lookout Mountain, and “Southern Tracks Recording Studio” in Atlanta, and was produced by Sonny Limbo and Scott MacLellan.


  • Bertie Higgins: vocals, acoustic and electric guitars, cymbals, percussion
  • Gloria Higgins-Burke, Doug Johnson, Mann & Phyllis Loiacono, Lu Moss, Dave Powell, Suzi Smith, Mike Sullivan, Cheryl Wilson: backing vocals
  • Ken Bell, Shelton Irwin, Barry Richmond: acoustic and electric guitars
  • Jeff Pinkham: acoustic and electric guitars, mandolin
  • Norman Blake: mandolin
  • John Healy: keyboardsand piano
  • Steve Nathan: keyboards, piano, organ
  • Ed Leamon: saxophone
  • Gary Baker, Arch Pearson: bass
  • Owen Hale, Bill Marshall: drums
  • Mickey Buckins, Edward Higgins: congas, percussion

Track listing:

  1. Just Another Day in Paradise – Bertie Higgins, C. Jones, Sonny Limbo
  2. Casablanca – John Healy, Bertie Higgins, Sonny Limbo
  3. Candledancer – Bertie Higgins
  4. Key Largo – Bertie Higgins, Sonny Limbo
  5. Port O’ Call (Savannah ’55) – Bertie Higgins
  6. White Line Fever – Bertie Higgins, Sonny Limbo
  7. The Heart Is the Hunter – Bertie Higgins
  8. She’s Gone to Live on the Mountain – Bertie Higgins
  9. Down at the Blue Moon – Bertie Higgins
  10. The Tropics – Bertie Higgins


On August 20, 1979.


On August 20, 1979, “Columbia” released “Slow Train Coming”, the nineteenth Bob Dylan studio album. It was recorded April – May 1979, and was produced by Barry Beckett and Jerry Wexler. This is first Dylan’s album after he became a born-again Christian, and all the tracks express his strong personal faith. The single “Gotta Serve Somebody”  won Dylan “Grammy” for best rock vocal performance by a male in 1980.


  • Bob Dylan– guitar, vocals
  • Barry Beckett– keyboards, percussion
  • Mickey Buckins – percussion
  • Carolyn Dennis– background vocals
  • Tim Drummond– bass guitar
  • Regina Havis – background vocals
  • Mark Knopfler– lead guitar
  • Muscle Shoals Sound Studio– horns
  • Helena Springs – background vocals
  • Pick Withers– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Bob Dylan.

  1. Gotta Serve Somebody
  2. Precious Angel
  3. I Believe in You
  4. Slow Train
  5. Gonna Change My Way of Thinking
  6. Do Right to Me Baby
  7. When You Gonna Wake Up
  8. Man Gave Names to the Animals
  9. When He Returns