Tag Archives: The Nearness of You

In October 1956.

In October 1956, “Verve” label released “Ella and Louis”, a studio album by Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong, accompanied by the Oscar Peterson Quartet. It was recorded in August 1956, at “Capitol Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Norman Granz.


  • Ella Fitzgerald– vocals
  • Louis Armstrong– vocals, trumpet
  • Oscar Peterson– piano
  • Herb Ellis– guitar
  • Ray Brown– bass
  • Buddy Rich– drums
  • Val Valentin – engineer
  • Phil Stern – photography

Track listing:

  1. Can’t We Be Friends? – Paul James, Kay Swift
  2. Isn’t This a Lovely Day? – Irving Berlin
  3. Moonlight in Vermont – John Blackburn, Karl Suessdorf
  4. They Can’t Take That Away from Me – Ira Gershwin, George Gershwin
  5. Under a Blanket of Blue – Jerry Livingston, Al J. Neiburg, Marty Symes
  6. Tenderly – Walter Gross, Jack Lawrence
  7. A Foggy Day – Ira Gershwin, George Gershwin
  8. Stars Fell on Alabama – Mitchell Parish, Frank Perkins
  9. Cheek to Cheek – Irving Berlin
  10. The Nearness of You – Hoagy Carmichael, Ned Washington
  11. April in Paris – Vernon Duke, Yip Harburg

On September 9, 2016.

On September 9, 2016, “Nonesuch” label released “Nearness”, an album Joshua Redman and Brad Mehldau. It was recorded in 2011, at “Teatro Fernán Gómez” in Madrid, Spain, “Kultur Casino” in Bern, Switzerland, “De Oosterpoort” in Groningen, Netherlands, “Alte Oper” in Frankfurt am Main, Germany, “Tonhalle Düsseldorf” in Düsseldorf, Germany, “Kongsberg Church” in Kongsberg, Norway, and was produced by Joshua Redman and Brad Mehldau.


  • Joshua Redman– soprano and tenor saxophone
  • Brad Mehldau– piano


  1. Ornithology – Charlie Parker, Benny Harris
  2. Always August – Brad Mehldau
  3. In Walked Bud – Thelonious Monk
  4. Mehlsancholy Mode – Joshua Redman
  5. The Nearness of You – Hoagy Carmichael, Ned Washington
  6. Old West – Brad Mehldau

In July 1957.

In July 1957, “King” label released “Triple Threat”, the debut Roland Kirk album. It was recorded in November 1956 in New York City.


  • Roland Kirk – tenor saxophone, manzello, flute, stritch
  • James Madison – piano
  • Carl Pruitt – bass
  • Henry Duncan – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Roland Kirk except where noted.

  1. Roland’s Theme
  2. Slow Groove
  3. Stormy Weather – Harold Arlen, Ted Koehler
  4. The Nearness of You – Hoagy Carmichael, Ned Washington
  5. A La Carte
  6. Easy Living – Ralph Rainger, Leo Robin
  7. Triple Threat

On December 27, 1981.

On December 27, 1981, Hoagland Howard “Hoagy”  Carmichael  died aged 82. He was composer, pianist, singer, actor, and bandleader. Carmichael composed several hundred songs, including fifty that achieved hit record status. His best known songs are four among the most-recorded American songs of all time: “Stardust”, “Georgia on My Mind” (lyrics by Stuart Gorrell), “The Nearness of You”, and “Heart and Soul” (lyrics by Frank Loesser). His song “In the Cool, Cool, Cool of the Evening,” (lyrics by Johnny Mercer, won the “Academy Award for Best Original Song” in 1951. Carmichael’s songs were performed by many famous musicians including Sidney Arodin, Louis Armstrong, Fred Astaire, Bix Beiderbecke, Ray Charles, Bing Crosby, Jimmy Dorsey, Tommy Dorsey, Duke Ellington, Helen Forrest, Harry James, Spike Jones, Frank Loesser, Johnny Mercer, Glenn Miller, Dinah Shore, Jack Teagarden and Paul Whiteman.

In March 1967.

In March 1967, “King” label released “James Brown Sings Raw Soul”, the nineteenth James Brown studio album. It was recorded in 1967, and was produced by James Brown.


  • James Brown – vocals
  • Nat Jones – alto saxophone, arranger, conductor
  • Sammy Lowe – arranger, conductor
  • Bobby Bird, Vicki Anderson, Margie Clark, Maretha Stewart– background vocals
  • The Jewels – background vocals
  • Billy Butler, Alfonzo Kellu, Alphonso “Country” Kellum, Lonnie Mack, Jimmy Nolen, Wallace Richardson – guitar
  • Al Lucas, Michael Moore, Bernard Odum, James Tyrell, David Williams – bass
  • Ernie Hayes – organ, piano
  • Dud Bascomb, Martha Harvin, Joe Dupars, Johnny Grimes, Waymon Reed, Ernie Royal – trumpet
  • George Dorsey – alto saxophone
  • Pee Wee Ellis, Sam “The Man” Taylor, Eldee Williams – tenor saxophone
  • Charles Carr, Haywood Henry, Clair Pinckney – baritone saxophone
  • Dicky Harris, Levi Rasbury – trombone
  • Gene Redd – vibraphone
  • Ron Selico – bongos
  • John Starks, Clyde Stubblefield – drums
  • Mitchell Kanner – design
  • Harry Weinger – liner notes

Track listing:

  1. Bring It Up – James Brown
  2. Don’t Be a Dropout – James Brown, Nat Jones
  3. Till Then – Eddie Seiler, Guy Wood, Sol Marcus
  4. Tell Me That You Love Me – James Brown, Bud Hobgood
  5. Yours and Mine – James Brown, Bud Hobgood
  6. Money Won’t Change You, Pt. 1 – James Brown, Nat Jones
  7. Money Won’t Change You, Pt. 2 – James Brown, Nat Jones
  8. Only You – Ande Rand, Buck Ram
  9. Let Yourself Go – James Brown
  10. The Nearness of You – Hoagy Carmichael, Ned Washington
  11. Nobody Knows – James Brown, James Crawford
  12. Stone Fox – James Brown, Bud Hobgood

On February 26, 2002.

On February 26, 2002, “Blue Note” label released “Come Away with Me”, the debut Norah Jones album. It was recorded in 2001, at “Sorcerer Sound” in New York City, “Allaire Studios”, in Shokan, New York, and was produced by Jay Newland, Arif  Mardin, Craig Street and Norah Jones. The album won “Grammy Awards” for “Album of the Year”, “Best Pop Vocal Album, “Best Engineered Album, Non-Classical”. The song “Don’t Know Why” won “Song of the Year” and “Best Female Pop Vocal Performance. The album was certified 2 x Platinum in Argentina by “CAPIF”, 11 x Platinum in Australia by “ARIA”, 2 x Platinum in Austria by “IFPI Austria”, 2 x Platinum in Belgium by “BEA”, Platinum in Brazil by “PRO Musica Brazil”, Diamond in Canada by “Music Canada”, 3 x Platinum in Denmark by “IFPI Denmark”, Diamond in France by “SNEP”, 2 x Platinum in Japan by “RIAJ”, 3 x Platinum in Netherlands by “NVPI”, 11 Platinum in New Zealand by “RMNZ”, 2 x Platinum in Poland by “ZPAV”, Platinum in Spain by “PROMUSICAE”, Platinum in Sweden by “GLF”, 3 x Platinum in Switzerland by “IFPI Switzerland”, 8 x Platinum in UK by “BPI’ and Diamond in US by “RIAA”.


  • Norah Jones – vocals, piano, Wurlitzer electric piano
  • Kevin Breit– acoustic guitar, National guitar, electric guitar
  • Bill Frisell– electric guitar
  • Jesse Harris, Adam Levy– acoustic and electric guitar
  • Adam Rogers– guitar
  • Tony Scherr– slide and acoustic guitar
  • Rob Burger– pump organ, accordion
  • Sam Yahel– Hammond B-3 organ
  • Lee Alexander– bass guitar
  • Jenny Scheinman– violin
  • Brian Blade– drums, percussion
  • Kenny Wollesen– drums
  • Jay Newland,  Husky Höskulds – engineers
  • Mark Birkey, Dick Kondas, Brandon Mason, Todd Parker – assistant engineers
  • Arif Mardin, Jay Newland – mixing
  • Todd Parker – mixing assistant
  • Jay Newland – remixing
  • Ted Jensen, Mark Wilder – mastering

Track listing:

  1. Don’t Know Why – Jesse Harris
  2. Seven Years – Lee Alexander
  3. Cold Cold Heart – Hank Williams
  4. Feelin’ the Same Way – Lee Alexander
  5. Come Away with Me – Norah Jones
  6. Shoot the Moon – Jesse Harris
  7. Turn Me On – John D. Loudermilk
  8. Lonestar – Lee Alexander
  9. I’ve Got to See You Again – Jesse Harris
  10. Painter Song – Lee Alexander, JC Hopkins
  11. One Flight Down – Jesse Harris
  12. Nightingale – Norah Jones
  13. The Long Day Is Over – Norah Jones, Jesse Harris
  14. The Nearness of You – Hoagy Carmichael, Ned Washington