Ray Charles: My Kind of Jazz

In April 1970, “Tangerine” label released “My Kind of Jazz”, the 29th Ray Charles album. It was recorded in January 1970, at “RPM Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Quincy Jones.


  • Ray Charles – vocal, piano
  • Ben Martin – guitar
  • Edgar Willis – bass
  • Ernest Elly – drums
  • J. Lloyd Miller – alto saxophone, oboe
  • Curtis Peagler – alto saxophone
  • Andy Ennis, Albert McQueen, Clifford Scott – tenor saxophone
  • Leroy Cooper – baritone saxophone
  • Bobby Bryant, Bill King, Marshall Hunt, Blue Mitchell – trumpet
  • Glen Childress, Henry Coker, Joe Randazzo – trombone
  • Teddy Edwards – arranger

Track listing:

  1. Golden Boy – Charles Strouse, Lee Adams
  2. Booty Butt – Ray Charles
  3. This Here – Bobby Timmons
  4. I Remember Clifford – Benny Golson
  5. Sidewinder – Lee Morgan
  6. Bluesette – Toots Thielemans
  7. Pas–Se–O–Ne Blues – John Anderson
  8. Zig Zag – Bill Baker
  9. Angel City – Teddy Edwards
  10. Señor Blues – Horace Silver

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.