Tag Archives: 100 best albums of the 1980s

In August 1987.

In August 1987, “Spirit Music” label released “Diesel and Dust”, the sixth Midnight Oil studio album. It was recorded in 1987, at “Albert Studios” in Sydney, Australia, and was produced by Peter Garrett, Peter Gilford, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie, Martin Rotsey and Wame Livesey. In 1989, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked it No. 13 on its list of the “100 Best Albums of the 1980s”. In October 2010 it was listed at No. 1 in the book “100 Best Australian Albums”.


  • Peter Garrett– vocals
  • Peter Gifford– bass, vocals
  • Robert Hirst– drums, vocals
  • Jim Moginie– guitars, keyboards
  • Martin Rotsey– guitars

Track listing:

  1. .Beds Are Burning – Peter Garrett, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie
  2. Put Down the Weapon – Peter Garrett, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie
  3. Dreamworld – Peter Garrett, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie
  4. Arctic World – Peter Garrett, Jim Moginie
  5. Warakurna – Jim Moginie
  6. The Dead Heart – Peter Garrett, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie
  7. Whoah – Peter Garrett, Jim Moginie
  8. Bullroare – Peter Garrett, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie
  9. Sell My Soul – Peter Garrett, Jim Moginie
  10. Sometimes – Peter Garrett, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie
  11. Gunbarrel Highway – Peter Garrett, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie, Peter Gifford, Martin Rotsey

In April 1988.

In April 1988, “RCA” label released “The Mona Lisa’s Sister”, the ninth Graham Parker studio album. It was recorded in 1988, and was produced by Graham Parker and Brinsley Schwarz.. In 1989, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “The Mona Lisa’s Sister” at number 97 on its list of the “100 Best Albums of the 1980s”.


  • Graham Parker- lead and backing vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Brinsley Schwarz- electric guitar, backing vocals, percussion
  • Andrew Bodnar- bass guitar
  • James Hallawell- keyboards
  • Terry Williams- drums
  • Pete Thomas- drums
  • Andy Duncan- drums
  • Christie Chapman- backing vocals
  • Jon Jacobs- engineer
  • Martin Edwards- assistant engineer
  • Jack Drummond – cover painting
  • Jolie Parker – photographs

Track listing:

All tracks by Graham Parker, except where noted.

  1. Don’t Let It Break You Down
  2. Under the Mask of Happiness
  3. Back in Time
  4. I’m Just Your Man
  5. OK Hieronymus
  6. Get Started. Start a Fire
  7. The Girl Isn’t Ready
  8. Blue Highways
  9. Success
  10. I Don’t Know
  11. Cupid – Sam Cooke

On February 2, 1988.

I'm_Your_Man_-_Leonard_Cohen (1)

On February 2, 1988, “Columbia” label released “I’m Your Man”, the eighth Leonard Cohen studio album. It was recorded August – November 1987, at the “Studio Tempo” in Montréal and “Rock Steady” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Leonard Cohen, Roscoe Beck, Jean-Michel Reusser and Michel Robidoux.  Pitchfork Media ranked the album at number 51 on its list “100 Best Albums of the 1980s”; “Slant” magazine listed the album at number 29 on its list of “Best Albums of the 1980s”.


  • Leonard Cohen: keyboards, vocals
  • Jude Johnson: vocals
  • Anjani Thomas: vocals
  • Jennifer Warnes: vocals
  • Mayel Assouly: backing vocals
  • Evelyine Hebey: backing vocals
  • Elisabeth Valletti: backing vocals
  • Jeff Fisher: keyboards
  • Bob Stanley: guitar
  • Sneaky Pete Kleinow: pedal steel guitar
  • Peter Kisilenko: bass
  • Tom Brechtlein: drums
  • Vinnie Colaiuta: drums
  • Lenny Castro: percussion
  • Michel Robidoux: drums, keyboards
  • John Bilezikjian:oud
  • Richard Beaudet: saxophone
  • Raffi Hakopian: violin

 Track listing:

All tracks by Leonard Cohen except where noted.

  1. First We Take Manhattan
  2. Ain’t No Cure for Love
  3. Everybody Knows – Leonard Cohen, Sharon Robinson
  4. I’m Your Man
  5. Take This Waltz – Leonard Cohen, Federico Garcia Lorca
  6. Jazz Police – Leonard Cohen, Jeff Fisher
  7. I Can’t Forget
  8. Tower of Song