Tag Archives: 100 Best Australian Albums

On February 22, 2005.

On February 22, 2005, “Inertia Distribution” label released “Awake Is the New Sleep”, the fifth Ben Lee album. It was recorded in 2004, at “Seagrass Studio” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Brad Wood. In October 2010, “Awake Is the New Sleep” was listed in the book “100 Best Australian Albums.”


  • Ben Lee- vocals, guitar, bass, percussion
  • Lara Meyerratken- vocals, drums, percussion, keyboards
  • McGowan Southworth – vocals, guitar, keyboards, percussion
  • Brad Wood– vocals, drums, bass, drum programming; saxophone, percussion
  • Jason Schwartzman, Eric Gardner – drums
  • Rob Hann – bass
  • Chick Wolverton – percussion
  • Har Mar Superstar. Jenny Lewis, Jason Falkner, Scarlett Chorvatt, Melanie Sirmons, Sam Spiegel, Jason Boesel, Olivia Asta Wood, Gracie Garcia, Katie Mulcahy – party vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Ben Lee except where noted

  1. Whatever It Is
  2. Gamble Everything for Love
  3. Begin
  4. Catch My Disease – Ben Lee, McGowan Southworth
  5. Apple Candy
  6. Ache for You
  7. Into the Dark
  8. No Right Angles
  9. Get Gotten
  10. Close I’ve Come
  11. The Debt Collectors
  12. We’re All in This Together
  13. Light
  14. I’m Willing

In August 1987.

In August 1987, “Spirit Music” label released “Diesel and Dust”, the sixth Midnight Oil studio album. It was recorded in 1987, at “Albert Studios” in Sydney, Australia, and was produced by Peter Garrett, Peter Gilford, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie, Martin Rotsey and Wame Livesey. In 1989, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked it No. 13 on its list of the “100 Best Albums of the 1980s”. In October 2010 it was listed at No. 1 in the book “100 Best Australian Albums”.


  • Peter Garrett– vocals
  • Peter Gifford– bass, vocals
  • Robert Hirst– drums, vocals
  • Jim Moginie– guitars, keyboards
  • Martin Rotsey– guitars

Track listing:

  1. .Beds Are Burning – Peter Garrett, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie
  2. Put Down the Weapon – Peter Garrett, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie
  3. Dreamworld – Peter Garrett, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie
  4. Arctic World – Peter Garrett, Jim Moginie
  5. Warakurna – Jim Moginie
  6. The Dead Heart – Peter Garrett, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie
  7. Whoah – Peter Garrett, Jim Moginie
  8. Bullroare – Peter Garrett, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie
  9. Sell My Soul – Peter Garrett, Jim Moginie
  10. Sometimes – Peter Garrett, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie
  11. Gunbarrel Highway – Peter Garrett, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie, Peter Gifford, Martin Rotsey

On July 25, 1980.


On July 25, 1980, “Albert / Atlantic” labels released “Back in Black”, the seventh  AC/DC studio album. It was recorded April–May 1980, at “Compass Point Studios” in Nassau, Bahamas, and was produced by Robert John “Mutt” Lange. The album’s all-black cover was designed as a “sign of mourning” for band’s original singer Bon Scott, who died in 1980. “Back in Black” was huge commercial success; it has sold more than 50 million copies worldwide, becoming the the second-highest-selling album in history. “Back in Black” was certified Platinum in Argentina by “CAPIF”; 12 x Platinum in Australia by “ARIIA”; Platinum in Austria by “IFPI”; Diamond in Canada by “Music Canada”; 2 x Platinum in France by “SNEP”; 2 x Platinum in Germany by “BVMI”; Platinum in Italy by “FIMI”; 2 x Platinum in Switzerland by “IFPI”; Platinum in UK by “BPI” and 22 x Platinum in the US by the “RIIA”. In 2001, “VH1” ranked “Back in Black” at number 82 on its list of the “Top 100 Albums”; in 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 77 on its list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”; in 2010, “Back in Black” was ranked at number 2 in the book “100 Best Australian Albums”.


  • Brian Johnson– lead vocals
  • Angus Young– lead guitar
  • Malcolm Young– rhythm guitar, backing vocals
  • Cliff Williams– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Phil Rudd– drums
  • Tony Platt– assistant engineering
  • Benji Armbrister – assistant engineering
  • Jack Newber – assistant engineering
  • Brad Samuelsohn –mixing
  • Bob Ludwig– mastering
  • Bob Defrin –art direction
  • Robert Ellis –photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Angus Young, Malcolm Young and Brian Johnson.

  1. Hells Bells
  2. Shoot to Thrill
  3. What Do You Do for Money Honey
  4. Given the Dog a Bone
  5. Let Me Put My Love into You
  6. Back in Black
  7. You Shook Me All Night Long
  8. Have a Drink on Me
  9. Shake a Leg
  10. Rock and Roll Ain’t Noise Pollution

On July 2, 1991.


On July 2, 1991, “Capitol” label released “Woodface”, the third Crowded House studio album. It was recorded 1989 – 1991, at “A&M Studios”; “Ocean Way Studios” in Los Angeles, “Periscope Studio”, Platinum Studios” in Melbourne, and was produced by Mitchell Froom and Neil Finn. In 2010, the album was ranked at number three in the book “100 Best Australian Albums”.


  • Neil Finn – guitar, vocals, keyboards
  • Tim Finn – piano, guitar, vocals
  • Paul Hester – drums, vocals, keyboards, percussion
  • Nick Seymour – bass guitar, vocals
  • Ricky Fataar – drums, percussion
  • Chris Wilson– harmonica
  • Peter Bucknell– violin
  • Vince Parsonage – viola
  • Alex Acuna– percussion
  • Geoffrey Hales – percussion
  • Jack Mack – brass
  • David Hidalgo– accordion
  • Jorge Callendrelli – conductor, string arranger
  • Sharon Finn – backing vocals
  • Mitchell Froom – keyboards
  • Mark Hart – additional keyboards
  • Stuart Ellison – additional keyboards
  • Tchad Blake– engineer
  • Paul Kosky – engineer
  • Rob Jaczko – second engineer
  • Max Garcia – second engineer
  • Bob Clearmountain – mixing
  • Nick Seymour, Tommy Steele – art direction
  • Nick Seymour – cover painting
  • Dennis Keeley – photography
  • Stephen Walker – design
  • Timothy Eames – letter construction

Track listing:

All tracks by Neil Finn and Tim Finn, except where noted.

  1. Chocolate Cake
  2. It’s Only Natural
  3. Fall at Your Feet – Neil Fin
  4. Tall Trees
  5. Weather with You
  6. Whispers and Moans – Neil Finn
  7. Four Seasons in One Day
  8. There Goes God
  9. Fame Is – Neil Finn
  10. All I Ask
  11. As Sure as I Am – Neil Finn
  12. Italian Plastic – Paul Hester
  13. She Goes On – Neil Finn
  14. How Will You Go / I’m Still Here – Paul Hester