Tag Archives: Mike Vickers

In October 1972.

In October 1972, “Polydor” label released “To Whom It May Concern”, the tenth Bee Gees album. It was recorded January 1971 – January / April 1972, at “IBC Studios” in London, and was produced by Robert Stigwood, Barry Gibb, Robin Gibb and Maurice Gibb.


  • Barry Gibb– lead, harmony and backing vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Robin Gibb– lead, harmony and backing vocals
  • Maurice Gibb– bass guitar, acoustic guitar, piano, organ,  Mellotron, harpsichord, mandolin; Moog synthesizer, lead, harmony and backing vocals
  • Alan Kendall– acoustic guitar; electric lead guitar
  • Clem Cattini– drums
  • Geoff Bridford – drums
  • Bill Shepherd – orchestral arrangement
  • Mike Claydon, Damon Lyon-Shaw, Richard Manwaring, Andy Knight – engineer
  • Mike Vickers– synthesizer engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Barry Gibb, Robin Gibb and Maurice Gibb, except where noted.

  1. Run to Me
  2. We Lost the Road – Barry Gibb, Robin Gibb
  3. Never Been Alone – Robin Gibb
  4. Paper Mache, Cabbages and Kings
  5. I Can Bring Love – Robin Gibb
  6. I Held a Party
  7. Please Don’t Turn Out the Lights
  8. Sea of Smiling Faces
  9. Bad Bad Dreams
  10. You Know It’s for You – Maurice Gibb
  11. Alive – Barry Gibb, Maurice Gibb
  12. Road to Alaska
  13. Sweet Song of Summer

On September 26, 1969.


On September 26, 1969, “Apple Records” label released “Abbey Road” the eleventh Beatles studio album. It was recorded February 22 – August 20, 1969, at “EMI Studios”,  “Olympic Studios”  and  “Trident Studios” in London, and was produced by George Martin. The album recording sessions were the last in which all four Beatles participated. Although “Let It Be” was the final Beatles album before the band’s dissolution in April 1970, most of the album had been recorded before the “Abbey Road” sessions began.The album cover The album cover was designed by “Apple Records” creative director Kosh, and It is the only original UK Beatles album sleeve to show neither the artist name nor the album title on its front cover. The cover has become one of the most famous and imitated images in the history of recorded music. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Abbey Road” at number 14 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. The album was certified Diamond in Argentina by “CAPIF”; 3 x Platinum in Australia by “ARIA”; Diamond in Canada by “Music Canada”; Platinum in Germany by “BVMI”; 5 x Platinum in New Zealand by “RMNZ”; 2 x Platinum in UK by “BPI”, and 12 x Platinum in the US by “RIIA”.


  • John Lennon– lead, harmony and background vocals; lead and rhythm guitars; acoustic and electric pianos, Hammond organ and Moog synthesizer; white noise generatorand sound effects; percussion
  • Paul McCartney– lead, harmony and background vocals; lead, rhythm and bass guitars; acoustic and electric pianos, Hammond organ and Moog synthesizer; sound effects;wind chimes, handclaps and percussion
  • George Harrison– harmony and background vocals; lead, rhythm and bass guitars; Hammond organ, harmonium and Moog synthesizer; handclaps and percussion; lead vocals
  • Ringo Starr– drums and percussion; background vocals; lead vocals
  • George Martin– piano, harpsichord, organ and harmonium; percussion
  • Billy Preston– Hammond organ
  • Mal Evans– “anvil”
  • Something” and “Here Comes the Sun” orchestrated and conducted by George Martin and George Harrison
  • “Golden Slumbers”, “Carry That Weight” and “The End” orchestrated and conducted by George Martin and Paul McCartney
  • Recordedby Geoff Emerick and Phil McDonald
  • Assistant Engineering by Alan Parsons
  • Mixedby Geoff Emerick, Phil McDonald and George Martin (with the Beatles)
  • Moog programmingby Mike Vickers

Track listing:

All tracks by John Lennon and Paul McCartney, except where noted.

  1. Come Together
  2. Something – George Harrison
  3. Maxwell’s Silver Hammer
  4. Oh! Darling
  5. Octopus’s Garden – Ringo Starr
  6. I Want You (She’s So Heavy)
  7. Here Comes the Sun – George Harrison
  8. Because
  9. You Never Give Me Your Money
  10. Sun King
  11. Mean Mr. Mustard
  12. Polythene Pam
  13. She Came in Through the Bathroom Window
  14. Golden Slumbers
  15. Carry That Weight
  16. The End
  17. Her Majesty



On September 11, 1964.


On September 11, 1964, “His Master Voice” label released “The Five Faces of Manfred Mann”, the debut Manfred Mann studio album. It was recorded in 1964, at “EMI Studios” in Abbey Road, London, and was produced by John Burgess.


  • Manfred Mann– piano, organ
  • Mike Vickers– guitar, flute, saxophone
  • Mike Hugg– drums, vibes
  • Paul Jones– vocals, harmonica, maracas
  • Tom McGuinness– bass guitar
  • Norman Smith– engineer

Track listing:

  1. Smokestack Lightning – Chester Burnett
  2. Don’t Ask Me What I Say – Paul Jones
  3. Sack O’ Woe – Cannonball Adderley
  4. What You Gonna Do? – Paul Jones, Manfred Mann
  5. Hoochie Coochie – Willie Dixon
  6. I’m Your Kingpin – Manfred Mann, Paul Jones
  7. Down the Road Apiece – Don Raye
  8. Got My Mojo Working – Preston Foster; credited to Muddy Waters
  9. Canadian version: “Do Wah Diddy Diddy – Jeff Barry, Ellie Greenwich
  10. It’s Gonna Work Out Fine – Rose Marie McCoy, Sylvia McKinney; credited to Joe Seneca, J. Lee
  11. Anello – Mike Hugg, Paul Jones, Manfred Mann, Tom McGuinness, Mike Vickers
  12. Untie Me – Joe South
  13. Bring It to Jerome – Jerome Green
  14. Without You – Paul Jones
  15. You’ve Got to Take It – Paul Jones