In January 1974.


In January 1974, “Reprise” label released “Grievous Angel”, the second Gram Parsons solo album. It was compiled from summer 1973 sessions recorded at “Wally Heider Studio 4” in Hollywood, produced by Gram Parsons, and was released four months after his death in September 1973. In 2012, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 425  on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time.


  • Gram Parsons: lead vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Emmylou Harris: vocals
  • Glen D. Hardin: piano, electric piano
  • James Burton: electric lead guitar
  • Emory Gordy, Jr.: bass
  • Ronnie Tutt: drums
  • Herb Pedersen: acoustic rhythm guitar, electric rhythm guitar
  • Al Perkins: pedal steel
  • Bernie Leadon: acoustic guitar, electric lead guitar, dobro
  • Byron Berline: fiddle, mandolin
  • D. Smart: drums
  • Steve Snyder: vibes
  • Linda Ronstadt: harmony vocal
  • Kim Fowley,Phil Kaufman, Ed Tickner, Jane & Jon Doe: “Background blah-blah”

Track listing:

  1. Return of the Grievous Angel – Gram Parsons, Tom Brown
  2. Hearts on Fire – Walter Egan, Tom Guidera
  3. I Can’t Dance – Tom T. Hall
  4. Brass Buttons – Gram Parsons
  5. $1000 Wedding – Gram Parsons
  6. Medley Live from Northern Quebec:
  • Cash on the Barrelhead – Charlie Louvin,Ira Louvin
  • Hickory Wind – Gram Parsons, Bob Buchanan
  1. Love Hurts – Boudleaux Bryant
  2. Ooh Las Vegas – Gram Parsons,Ric Grech
  3. In My Hour of Darkness – Gram Parsons,Emmylou Harris

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s