In February 1966.

In February 1966, “Blue Note” label released “Compulsion!!!!!”, the eight Andrew Hill album. It was recorded in 1965, at “Rudy Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Andrew Hill – piano
  • Freddie Hubbard – trumpet, flugelhorn
  • John Gilmore – tenor saxophone, bass clarinet
  • Cecil McBee – bass
  • Joe Chambers – drums
  • Renaud Simmons – conga, percussion
  • Nadi Qamar – percussion, African drums, thumb piano
  • Richard Davis – bass

Track listing:

All tracks by Andrew Hill.

  1. Compulsion
  2. Legacy
  3. Premonition
  4. Limbo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.