On April 7, 2017.

On April 7, 2017, “Modern Harmonic” label released “Thunder of the Gods”, album by Sun Ra and His Arkestra, featuring unreleased live and studio tracks. It was recorded 1966 – 1971, at “Slug’s Saloon” in New York City.


  • Sun Ra– Moog, Intergalactic space organ, Lightening drum, strings
  • Marshall Allen– alto saxophone, oboe, piccolo flute, strings
  • Ronnie Boykins– bass, viola, dutar
  • Robert Cummings – strings
  • Danny Davis – alto saxophone, clarinet, strings
  • Akh Tal Ebar, Kwami Hadi – trumpet
  • John Gilmore– tenor saxophone, strings
  • Ali Hassan – trombone, strings
  • Lex Humphries– drums
  • James Jacson – oboe, flute, log drums, strings
  • Clifford Jarvis– percussion
  • Art Jenkins, Carl Nimrod – strings
  • Eloe Omoe – bass clarinet, strings
  • Pat Patrick– baritone saxophone, strings
  • Danny Ray Thompson – baritone saxophone, flute
  • Charles Stevens – trombone
  • June Tyson– vocals
  • Alzo Wright – cello

Track listing:

All tracks by Sun Ra

  1. Calling Planet Earth – We’ll Wait for You
  2. Moonshots Across the Sky
  3. Thunder of the Gods

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.