On January 18, 1980.


On January 18, 1980, “Virgin” label released “Metamatic”, the first John Foxx solo album, after his split with Ultravox in 1979. It was recorded in 1979, at the “Pathway Studios” in London and was produced by John Foxx. The album name  “Metamatic” is taken from a painting machine by kinetic artist Jean Tinguely.


  • John Foxx– vocals, rhythm machines (mainly Roland CR-78), synthesizers
  • John Wesley Barker – additional synthesizers
  • Jake Durant – additional bass
  • Gareth Jones– engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by John Foxx.

  1. Plaza
  2. He’s a Liquid
  3. Underpass
  4. Metal Beat
  5. No-One Driving
  6. A New Kind of Man
  7. Blurred Girl
  8. 030
  9. Tidal Wave
  10. Touch and Go




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.