Tag Archives: Jim Lea

On December 3, 1983.

On December 3, 1983, “RCA” label released “The Amazing Kamikaze Syndrome”,  the eleventh Slade studio album.It was recorded in 1983, at “Portland Studios” and  “Rak Studios”, and was produced by Jim Lea and John Punter. All tracks written by Noddy Holder and Jim Lea.


  • Dave Hill- lead guitar, backing vocals
  • Noddy Holder- lead vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Jim Lea- bass, keyboards, guitars, backing vocals, lead vocal
  • Don Powell- drums, percussion, gongs
  • Andy Dummit– saxophone
  • Pete Drummond– announcements
  • Andy Miller, Dave Garland, Mike Nocito, Pete Schwier – engineers
  • Andrew Christian – art direction
  • Shoot That Tiger! – design
  • John Shaw – photography
  • Phil Davis – set designer

Track listing:

All tracks by Noddy Holder and Jim Lea.

  1. Slam the Hammer Down
  2. In the Doghouse
  3. Run Runaway
  4. High and Dry
  5. My Oh My
  6. Cocky Rock Boys (Rule O.K.)
  7. Ready to Explode
  8. (And Now the Waltz) C’est La Vie
  9. Cheap ‘n’ Nasty Luv
  10. Razzle Dazzle Man

On May 9, 1969.


On May 9, 1969, “Fontana” label released “Beginnings”, the debut Ambrose Slade album. It was recorded in 1969, and was produced by Ambrose Slade and Roger Wake. The band became popular after changing the name to Slade.


  • Noddy Holder- lead vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Dave Hill- lead guitar
  • Jim Lea- bass guitar
  • Don Powell- drums
  • Roger Wake- engineer
  • Richard Stirlin- photographer
  • Linda Glover- artwork

Track listing:

  1. Genesis – Noddy Holder, Jim Lea, Dave Hill, Don Powell
  2. Everybody’s Next One – John Kay, Gabriel Mekler
  3. Knocking Nails into My House – Jeff Lynne
  4. Roach Daddy – Noddy Holder, Jim Lea, Dave Hill, Don Powell
  5. Ain’t Got No Heart – Frank Zappa
  6. Pity the Mother – Noddy Holder, Jim Lea
  7. Mad Dog Cole – Noddy Holder, Jim Lea, Dave Hill, Don Powell
  8. Fly Me High – Justin Hayward
  9. If This World Were Mine – Marvin Gaye
  10. Martha My Dear – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  11. Born to Be Wild – Mars Bonfire
  12. Journey to the Centre of Your Mind – Ted Nugent, Steve Farmer


On April 27, 1987.


On April 27, 1987, “RCA” label released “You Boyz Make Big Noize”, the fourteenth Slade album. It was recorded in 1987, at “Portland Studios”, “Redan Stuidos” and “Music Works”, and was produced by Jim Lea, John Punter and Roy Thomas Baker. “You Boyz Make Big Noize” was the last studio album by the original lineup; the next Slade album featured Dave Hill and Don Powell with a different lead singer and bass player, and was under the guise of Slade II.


  • Noddy Holder- lead vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Dave Hill- lead guitar, backing vocals
  • Jim Lea- bass guitar, keyboards, guitar, backing vocals, producer
  • Don Powell- drums
  • John Punter– producer
  • Gerrard Johnson – keyboard programming
  • Pete Hammond – keyboard programming
  • Dave Garland – engineer
  • Jerry Napier – engineer
  • Mark Dearney – engineer
  • Matt Butler – engineer
  • Trevor Hallesey – engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Noddy Holder and Jim Lea, except where noted.

  1. Love Is Like a Rock – Avsec, McClain, Ierace, Hoenes, Valentine
  2. That’s What Friends Are For
  3. Still the Same
  4. Fools Go Crazy
  5. She’s Heavy
  6. We Won’t Give In
  7. Won’t You Rock with Me
  8. Oooh La La in LA
  9. Me and the Boys
  10. Sing Shout (Knock Yourself Out)
  11. The Roaring silence
  12. It’s Hard Having Fun Nowadays


On February 15, 1974.


On February 15, 1974, “Polydor” label released “Old New Borrowed and Blue”, the fourth Slade album. It was recorded in 1973, and was produced by Chas Chandler. The album was certified Gold in UK by “BPI” the same month of release.


  • Noddy Holder— lead vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Dave Hill— lead guitar
  • Jim Lea— bass guitar, lead vocals, piano
  • Don Powell— drums
  • Tommy Burton — piano
  • Gered Mankowitz— photography
  • Ian Murray — art direction

Track listing:

  1. Just Want a Little Bit – Thornton, Bass, Washington, Brown Thompson
  2. When the Lights are Out – Noddy Holder, Jim Lea
  3. My Town – Noddy Holder, Jim Lea
  4. Find Yourself a Rainbow – Noddy Holder, Jim Lea
  5. Miles Out to Sea – Holder, Jim Lea
  6. We’re Really Gonna Raise the Roof – Noddy Holder, Jim Lea
  7. Do We Still Do It – Noddy Holder, Jim Lea
  8. How Can It Be – Noddy Holder, Jim Lea
  9. Don’t Blame Me – Noddy Holder, Jim Lea
  10. My Friend Stan – Noddy Holder, Jim Lea
  11. Everyday – Noddy Holder, Jim Lea
  12. Good Time Gals – Noddy Holder, Jim Lea


On November 1, 1972.


On November 1, 1972, “Polydor” released “Slayed?”, the third Slade album. It was recorded in 1972, and was produced by Chas Chandler. The album featured band’s two biggest hits, “Gudbuy t’Jane” and “Mama Weer All Crazee Now” and became their greatest commercial success. “Slayed?” was regarded by the critics as band’s best studio album. In the 1974 “Record and Radio Mirror” poll results, “Slayed?” peaked at  number 4 on the top ten list of best British albums.


  • Noddy Holder- lead vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Dave Hill- lead guitar
  • Jim Lea- bass guitar, piano
  • Don Powell- drums
  • Gered Mankowitz– cover photography
  • Chris Charlesworth- liner notes

Track listing:

  • How D’You Ride – Noddy Holder, Jim Lea
  • The Whole World’s Goin’ Crazee – Noddy Holder
  • Look at Last Nite – Noddy Holder, Jim Lea
  • I Won’t Let It ‘Appen Agen – Jim Lea
  • Move Over – Janis Joplin
  • Gudbuy T’Jane – Noddy Holder, Jim Lea
  • Gudbuy Gudbuy – Noddy Holder, Jim Lea
  • Mama Weer All Crazee Now – Noddy Holder, Jim Lea
  • I Don’ Mind – Noddy Holder, Jim Lea
  • Let the Good Times Roll/ Feel So Fine – Leonard Lee