Tag Archives: Herb Alpert

In November 1966.

In November 1966, “A&M” label released “S.R.O.” (Standing Room Only), the seventh Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass’ album. It was recorded in 1966, and was produced by Herb Alpert and Jerry Moss.


  • Herb Alpert – band leader, arranger,
  • Nick Ceroli – drums
  • Bob Edmondson – trombone
  • Tonni Kalash – trumpet
  • Lou Pagani – piano
  • John Pisano– guitar
  • Pat Senatore– bass
  • Julius Wechter – marimba, vibes
  • George Jerman – photography

Track listing:

  1. Our Day Will Come – Mort Garson, Bob Hilliard
  2. Mexican Road Race – Sol Lake
  3. I Will Wait for You – Michel Legrand, Jacques Demy, Norman Gimbel
  4. Bean Bag – John Pisano, Julius Wechter, Herb Alpert
  5. The Wall Street Rag – Ervan Coleman
  6. The Work Song – Nat Adderley, Oscar Brown, Jr.
  7. Mame – Jerry Herman
  8. Blue Sunday – Julius Wechter
  9. Don’t Go Breaking My Heart – Burt Bacharach, Hal David
  10. For Carlos – John Pisano, Nick Ceroli, Herb Alpert
  11. Freight Train Joe – John Pisano
  12. Flamingo – Ted Grouya, Edmond Anderson

On July 5, 1974.

On July 5, 1974, “island” label released “Another Time, Another Place”, the second Bryan Ferry studio album. It was recorded in 1974, at “Island Studios”, “Ramport Studios” and “AIR studios” in London, and was produced by  Bryan Ferry and John Punter.


  • Bryan Ferry – lead vocal, harmonica, organ, cover concept
  • Henry Lowther– trumpet
  • Chris Mercer – tenor saxophone
  • David O’List– guitar
  • Ruan O’Lochlainn – alto saxophone
  • John Porter– guitar
  • Chris Pyne– trombone
  • John Wetton– bass guitar, fiddle
  • Tony Carr, Tony Charles, Bruce Rowland– drums
  • Paul Cosh, Martin Drover– trumpet
  • Jeff Daly, Bob Efford, Ronnie Ross– saxophone
  • Malcolm Griffiths – trombone
  • Jimmy Hastings– flute
  • Morris Pert– percussion
  • John Punter– bass guitar
  • Peter Robinson – keyboards
  • Bruce Rowland– drums
  • Mark Warner – guitar
  • Chorus: Vicki Brown, Helen Chappelle, Barry St. John, Liza Strike
  • Strings arranged by Ann Odell
  • Brass arranged by Martyn Ford
  • Engineer: John Punter
  • Assistant engineers: Rhett Davies, Mark Dodson, Gary Edwards, Sean Milligan
  • Photography: Eric Boman
  • Design: Nicholas de Ville
  • Artwork: Bob Bowkett
  • Fashion: Antony Price

Track listing:

  1. The ‘In’ Crowd – Billy Page
  2. Smoke Gets in Your Eyes – Jerome Kern, Otto Harbach
  3. Walk a Mile in My Shoes – Joe South
  4. Funny How Time Slips Away – Willie Nelson
  5. You Are My Sunshine – Jimmie Davis, Charles Mitchell
  6. (What a) Wonderful World – Sam Cooke, Herb Alpert, Lou Adler
  7. It Ain’t Me Babe – Bob Dylan
  8. Fingerpoppin’ – Ike Turner
  9. Help Me Make It Through the Nigh – Ike Turner
  10. Another Time, Another Place – Brian Ferry

On October 25, 1977.


On October 25, 1977, “Columbia” label released “Watermark”, the third Art Garfunkel solo studio album. It was recorded in 1977, and was produced by Art Garfunkel and Phil Ramone. The album cover photo was taken by actress Laurie Bird, Garfunkel’s girlfriend.


  • Art Garfunkel – vocals
  • Derek Bell – harmonica
  • Stephen Bishop– guitar, background vocals
  • Paul Simon– acoustic guitar, vocals
  • James Taylor– vocals
  • Paul Desmond– alto saxophone
  • Bob Dorough– vocals
  • Pete Carr– guitar
  • Tommy Vig– vibraphone, background vocals
  • Leah Kunkel– background vocals
  • Ralph MacDonald– percussion
  • Jimmy Webb– keyboards
  • Barry Beckett– piano
  • David Campbell– arranger
  • David Crosby– background vocals
  • Christopher Dedrick – arranger
  • Fred Farell – vocals
  • Joe Farrell– flute, English horn, oboe
  • Martin Fay– fiddle
  • Carol Flamm – vocals
  • Steve Gadd– drums
  • Jimmie Haskell– arranger
  • Ed Hasselbrink – vocals
  • Roger Hawkins– drums
  • Shelley Hirsch – vocals
  • David Hood– bass
  • Jimmy Johnson– guitar
  • Craig Krampf– percussion
  • Thomas Latondre – percussion, handclapping
  • Tony Levin– bass
  • Paddy Moloney– uilleann pipes, tin whistle
  • Hugh McCracken– guitar
  • Oklahoma Uni Chorale – vocals
  • Joe Osborn– bass
  • Bill Payne– synthesizer
  • Tom Roady – percussion
  • Jack Schroer– saxophone
  • Rick Shlosser– drums
  • Alexandra Stavrou – vocals
  • Richard Tee– electric piano
  • Michael Tubridy– flute
  • Seán Keane– fiddle

Track listing:

All tracks by Jimmy Webb; except where noted

  1. Crying in My Sleep
  2. Marionette
  3. Shine It on Me
  4. Watermark
  5. Saturday Suit
  6. All My Love’s Laughter
  7. (What a) Wonderful World – Herb Alpert, Sam Cooke, Lou Adler
  8. Shuck’n Jive
  9. Paper Chase
  10. She Moved Through the Fair – Traditional
  11. Someone Else (1958)
  12. Wooden Planes


On June 6, 1991.

Stan Getz

On June 6, 1991, Stanley Getz, died aged 64. Being jazz saxophonist (primarily tenor saxophone), came to prominence in the late 40’s playing with Woody Herman’s big band, and went on performing bebop and cool jazz.  He became world known with his bossa nova period, in which he recorded few albums that promoted bossa nova worldwide, including “Jazz Samba (1962)”; “Big Band Bossa Nova (1962)”; “Jazz Samba Encore! (1963)” and “Getz/Gilberto (1963)”. In his career he performed with some of the most important jazz artists, including Miles Davis, Bill Evans, Chet Baker, Gerry Mulligan, Joao Gilberto, Laurindo Almeida, Herb Alpert, Benny Goodman, Al Haig and Abbey Lincoln. Getz achieved big number of awards including five “Grammy Awards”:

  • Grammy Award for Best Jazz Performance, Soloist or Small Group (Instrumental) “Desafinado,” Stan Getz. 1962
  • Grammy Award for Record of the Year, “The Girl From Ipanema,” 1964
  • Grammy Award for Album of the Year, Getz/Gilberto, Stan Getz and João Gilberto (Verve) 1964
  • Grammy Award for Best Instrumental Jazz Performance, Small Group or Soloist With Small Group, Getz/Gilberto, Stan Getz 1964
  • Grammy Award for Best Jazz Solo Performance, “I Remember You” Stan Getz 1991