Tag Archives: Rick Collins

In September 1975.

In September 1975, “Full Moon” label released “Captured Angel”, the third Dan Fogelberg album. It was recorded in 1975, at “Golden Voice Studios” in South Pekin, “Caribou Ranch” in Nederland, “Record Plant” in Los Angeles, “Record Plant” in Sausalito, .and was produced by Dan Fogelberg.


  • Dan Fogelberg – banjo, bass guitar,  guitar,  harmonica,  percussion, keyboards, lead and backing vocals, ARP synthesizer, cover artwork
  • Hot Damn Brothers – backing vocals
  • Russ Kunkel– drums, percussion
  • David Lindley– fiddle
  • Al Perkins– pedal steel guitar
  • Norbert Putnam– bass
  • D. Souther– backing vocals
  • Glen Spreen – string arrangements
  • Engineers: Tom Byler, Jeff Guercio, Terry Jamison, Gary Ladinsky and John Stronach
  • Mixing: John Stronach
  • Mastering: Rick Collins
  • Design: Ron Coro
  • Photography: Henry Diltz

Track listing:

All tracks by Dan Fogelberg.

  1. Aspen/These Days
  2. Comes and Goes
  3. Captured Angel
  4. Old Tennessee
  5. Next Time
  6. Man in the Mirror/ Below the Surface
  7. Crow
  8. The Last Nail

In May 1975.

In May 1975, “Grunt” label released “America’s Choice”, the fifth Hot Tuna album. It was recorded September-October 1974, at “Wally Heider Studios” in San Francisco, and was produced by Mallory Earl, Jorma Kaukonen, Jack Casady and Bob Steeler.


  • Jorma Kaukonen– guitars, vocals
  • Jack Casady– bass
  • Bob Steeler – drums, percussion
  • Mallory Earl – engineer
  • Bill Thompson – overseer
  • Pat Ieraci (Maurice) – production coordinator
  • Steve Mantoani – recordist
  • Jeffrey Husband – recordist
  • Michael Casady – equipment
  • Frank Mulvey – cover concept
  • Mastered by Rick Collins

Track listing:

All tracks written by Jorma Kaukonen, except where noted.

  1. Sleep Song
  2. Funky #7 – Jack Casady, Jorma Kaukonen
  3. Walkin’ Blues – Robert Johnson
  4. Invitation
  5. Hit Single #1
  6. Serpent of Dreams
  7. I Don’t Wanna Go
  8. Great Divide: Revisited

In March 1975.

In March 1975, “ABC Records” label released “Katy Lied” the fourth Steely Dan album. It was recorded November 1974-January 1975, at “ABS Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Gary Katz.


  • Donald Fagen– vocals, piano, keyboards, saxophone
  • Walter Becker– bass, guitar
  • Michael Omartian, David Paich– pianos, keyboards
  • Hugh McCracken– guitar
  • Denny Dias– guitar
  • Rick Derringer– guitar
  • Dean Parks– guitar
  • Elliott Randall– guitar
  • Larry Carlton– guitar
  • Wilton Felder, Chuck Rainey– bass guitars
  • Jeff Porcaro– drums
  • Hal Blaine– drums
  • Victor Feldman– percussion
  • Phil Woods– alto saxophone
  • Jimmie Haskell– horn & horn arrangement
  • Bill Perkins– horn
  • Michael McDonald– background vocals
  • Myrna Matthews, Sherlie Matthews, Carolyn Willis – background vocals
  • Engineer: Roger Nichols
  • Mastering: Rick Collins
  • Sound Consultant: Dinky Dawson
  • Consultant: Daniel Levitin
  • Arranger: Jimmie Haskell

Track listing:

All tracks by Walter Becker and Donald Fagen.

  1. Black Friday
  2. Bad Sneakers
  3. Rose Darling
  4. Daddy Don’t Live in That New York City No More
  5. Doctor Wu
  6. Everyone’s Gone to the Movies
  7. Your Gold Teeth II
  8. Chain Lightning
  9. Any World (That I’m Welcome To)
  10. Throw Back the Little Ones

On July 27, 1977.


On July 27, 1977, “Arista” label released “Terrapin Station”, the ninth Grateful Dead studio album. It was recorded November 1976 – May 1977, and was produced by Keith Olsen.


  • Jerry Garcia– guitar, vocals
  • Donna Jean Godchaux– vocals
  • Keith Godchaux– keyboards, vocals
  • Mickey Hart– drums, percussion
  • Bill Kreutzmann– drums
  • Phil Lesh– bass guitar
  • Bob Weir– guitar, vocals
  • Paul Buckmaster– orchestral arrangements
  • The English Choral
  • The Martyn Ford Orchestra
  • Tom Scott– lyricon, saxophones
  • Rick Collins – mastering
  • Greg Fulginiti– mastering
  • Keith Olsen– engineering

Track listing:

  1. Estimated Prophet – John Perry Barlow, Bob Weir
  2. Dancin’ in the Streets – Marvin Gaye, Ivy Jo Hunter, William “Mickey” Stevenson
  3. Passenger – Phil Lesh, Peter Monk
  4. Samson and Delilah – Traditional
  5. Sunrise – Donna Godchaux
  6. Terrapin Station Part 1
  7. Lady with a Fan – Jerry Garcia, Robert Hunter
  8. Terrapin Station – Jerry Garcia, Robert Hunter
  9. Terrapin – Jerry Garcia, Robert Hunter
  10. Terrapin Transit – Mickey Hart, Bill Kreutzmann
  11. At a Siding – Mickey Hart, Robert Hunter
  12. Terrapin Flyer – Mickey Hart, Bill Kreutzmann
  13. Refrain – Jerry Garcia, Robert Hunter