Tag Archives: Jamaica

On September 8, 2015.

On September 8, 2016, Cecil Bustamente Campbell aka Prince Buster, died aged 78. He was singer-songwriter and music producer, known as the first Jamaican to have a top 20 hit in the UK. His records form the 1960s, influenced the sound of ska and inspired the reggae artists of the late ’70s.

On September 4, 2015.

On September 4, 2015, Emmanuel “Rico” Rodriguez died aged 80. He was Cuban-born Jamaican trombonist, one of the first and most distinguished reggae and ska artists. He has formed the group Rico and the Rudies, and has recorded and performed with many famous musicians and producers including Karl Pitterson,  Prince Buster, Lloyd “Matador” Daley, Jools Holland’s Rhythm and Blues Orchestra, Bob Marley, Toots & the Maytals, Delroy Washington , Burning Spear, The Specials,  Jools Holland, Dennis Bovell, Ian Dury, Chas Jankel, Joan Armatrading, John Martyn, Linton Kwesi Johnson, Steel Pulse and Paul Young. In 2007, he was awarded an  “MBE”  (Member of the Order of the British Empire) for services to music. For his contribution to Jamaican music, in 2012 he was awarded the “Silver Musgrave Medal” by the “Institute of Jamaica”.

In August 1976.

In August 1976, “Island” label released “Super Ape”, the twelve Upsetters album. It was recorded in 1976 at “Black Ark” in Kingston, Jamaica, and was produced by Lee “Scratch” Perry.


  • Lee Perry – percussion, conga
  • Michael “Mikey Boo” Richards – drums
  • Anthony “Benbow” Creary – drums
  • Noel “Skully” Simms– conga
  • Boris Gardiner– bass
  • Earl “Chinna” Smith– guitar
  • Keith Sterling– piano
  • Bobby Ellis– horns
  • “Dirty” Harry Hall, Herman Marquis– horns
  • Vin Gordon– trombone
  • Egbert Evans – flute
  • Prince Jazzbo– toasting
  • Barry Llewellyn, Earl Morgan– backing vocals
  • Tony Wright– cover art

Track listing:

All track by Lee “Scratch” Perry.

  1. Zion’s Blood
  2. Croaking Lizard
  3. Black Vest
  4. Underground
  5. Curly Dub
  6. Dread Lion
  7. Three in One
  8. Patience
  9. Dub Along
  10. Super Ape

In July 1980.

In July 1980, “Mango” label released “Sinsemilla”, the third Black Uhuru album. It was recorded in January 1980, at “Channel One Studio” in Kingston, Jamaica, and was produced by Sly Dunbar and Robbie Shakespeare.


  • Michael Rose- lead vocals
  • Derrick “Duckie” Simpson – harmony vocals
  • Puma Jones- harmony vocals
  • Robbie Shakespeare- bass
  • Sly Dunbar- drums, percussion
  • Ansel Collins- piano, organ
  • Jimmy Becker – harmonica
  • Radcliffe “Dougie” Bryan – guitar
  • Bertram “Ranchie” McLean- guitar
  • Uziah “Sticky” Thompson- percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Michael Rose.

  1. Happiness
  2. World is Africa
  3. Push Push
  4. There Is Fire
  5. No Loafing (Sit and Wonder)
  6. Sinsemilia
  7. Endurance
  8. Vampire

In June 1981.

In June 1981, “EMI America” label released “Wanted Dread & Alive”, the fifth Peter Tosh album. It was recorded in 1981, at “Dynamic Studios” in Kingston, Jamaica, and was produced by Peter Tosh.


  • Peter Tosh – lead vocals, backing vocals, guitar, keyboards, percussion
  • The Tamlins – backing vocals
  • Robbie Shakespeare – bass
  • Sly Dunbar – drums
  • Pee Wee – flute
  • Darryl Thompson – lead guitar
  • Mikey Chung – rhythm guitar
  • Keith Sterling, Robbie Lyn – keyboards
  • Gwen Guthrie – lead vocals
  • Noel “Scully” Simms, Uziah “Sticky” Thompson – percussion
  • Dean Fraser – tenor & alto saxophone
  • Ronald “Nambo” Robinson – trombone
  • Barry Rogers, Jon Faddis, Lew Soloff, Lou Marini – horns
  • Geoffrey Chung – recording, mixing

Track listing:

All tracks by Peter Tosh except where noted.

  1. Coming in Hot
  2. Nothing But Love – Ella Mitchell, Freddie Harris
  3. Reggae-Mylitis
  4. The Poor Man Feel It
  5. Cold Blood
  6. Wanted Dread & Alive
  7. Rastafari Is
  8. That’s What They Will Do
  9. Fools Die

In May 1981.

In May 1981, “Mango” label released “Red”, the sixth Black Uhuru album. It was recorded in 1981, at “Channel One” in Kingston, Jamaica, and “Compass Point” in Nassau, Bahamas, and was produced by Sly & Robbie.


  • Michael Rose- vocals
  • Derrick “Duckie” Simpson – harmony vocals
  • Puma Jones- harmony vocals
  • Mikey Chung- rhythm guitar, lead guitar
  • Radcliff “Dougie” Bryan – lead guitar
  • Barry Reynolds- lead guitar
  • Robert Lynn – piano
  • Keith Sterling- piano
  • Sly Dunbar- drums, syndrums
  • Robbie Shakespeare- bass, piano
  • Ranchie McLean- rhythm guitar, lead guitar
  • Uziah “Sticky” Thompson- percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Michael Rose, except where noted.

  1. Youth of Eglington
  2. Sponji Reggae
  3. Sistren – Michael Rose, Derrick “Duckie” Simpson
  4. Journey – Derrick “Duckie” Simpson
  5. Utterance
  6. Puff She Puff
  7. Rockstone – Michael Rose, Derrick “Duckie” Simpson
  8. Carbine

In April 1975.

In April 1975, “Cube” label released “Jamaica Say You Will”, the fifth Joe Cocker studio album. It was recorded in 1974, at “The Village Recorders” in Los Angeles and was produced by Jim Price.


  • Joe Cocker – lead vocals
  • Ben Benay, Dan Sawyer, Daniel Moore, Henry McCullough, Cornell Dupree- guitar
  • Chuck Rainey, Chris Stewart, Dave McDaniel – bass
  • Bernard “Pretty” Purdie, Jim Karstein, Joe Correro – drums
  • Don Poncher – percussion
  • Jim Price, Jean Alain Roussel, Nicky Hopkins, Richard Tee- keyboards
  • Ben Benay – harmonica
  • Sherlie Matthews, Cynthia Barclay, Carol Stallings, Jim Price, Matthew Moore, Daniel Moore, Buzz Clifford, Joanne Bell, Clydie King, Venetta Fields- backing vocals
  • Jim Horn, Trevor Lawrence, Bobby Keys- saxophone
  • Steve Madaio – trumpet
  • Peggy Sandvig – orchestration
  • Sid Sharp – strings
  • Arranged by Jim Price, Richard tee
  • Additional orchestration by Peggy Sandvig
  • Additional choral arranging by Daniel Moore
  • Engineered by Zak Zenor, Rob Fraboni, Rob Fraboni and Joe Tuzen
  • Mastered by Allen Zentz

Track listing:

  1. (That’s What I Like) In My Woman – Matthew Moore
  2. Where Am I Now – Jesse Ed Davis
  3. I Think It’s Going to Rain Today – Randy Newman
  4. Forgive Me Now – Matthew Moore
  5. Oh Mama – Jim Price
  6. Lucinda – Randy Newman
  7. If I Love You – Daniel Moore
  8. Jamaica, Say You Will – Jackson Browne
  9. It’s All Over But the Shoutin’ – Joe Hinton, Johnny Bristol
  10. Jack-A-Diamonds – Daniel Moore