Bob Marley & The Wailers: Survival


On October 2, 1979, “Tuff Gong / Island” labels released “Survival” the eleventh Bob Marley studio album. It was recorded January–February 1979, at “Tuff Gong Recording Studio” in Kingston, Jamaica, and was produced by Bob Marley, Aston Barrett, Carlton Barrett, Tyrone Downie, Junior Marvin and Alex Sadkin.


  • Bob Marley– lead vocals, rhythm guitar, acoustic guitar, percussion
  • Junior Marvin– lead guitar, backing vocal
  • Earl “Wire” Lindo– keyboards
  • Al Anderson– lead guitar
  • Tyrone “Organ D” Downie– keyboards, percussion, backing vocal
  • Aston “Family Man” Barrett– bass, rhythm guitar, percussion
  • Val Douglas – bass
  • Carlton Barrett– drums, percussion
  • Alvin “Seeco” Patterson– percussion
  • Carlton “Santa” Davis– drums
  • Mikey “Boo” Richards – drums
  • Lee Jaffe– harmonica
  • Dean Fraser– alto and tenor saxophone
  • Headley Bennett– alto saxophone
  • Junior “Chico” Chin – trumpet
  • Jackie Willacy – trumpet
  • Micky Hanson – trumpet
  • Ronald “Nambo” Robinson – trombone
  • Melba Liston– trombone
  • Luther Francois – trombone
  • Rita Marley– backing vocals
  • Marcia Griffiths– backing vocals
  • Judy Mowatt– backing vocals
  • Ted Jensen – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Bob Marley, except where noted.

  1. So Much Trouble in the World
  2. Zimbabwe
  3. Top Rankin
  4. Babylon System
  5. Survival
  6. Africa Unite
  7. One Drop
  8. Ride Naty Ride
  9. Ambush in the Night
  10. Wake Up and Live – Bob Marley, Anthony Davis

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.