On July 25, 1980.


On July 25, 1980, “Albert / Atlantic” labels released “Back in Black”, the seventh  AC/DC studio album. It was recorded April–May 1980, at “Compass Point Studios” in Nassau, Bahamas, and was produced by Robert John “Mutt” Lange. The album’s all-black cover was designed as a “sign of mourning” for band’s original singer Bon Scott, who died in 1980. “Back in Black” was huge commercial success; it has sold more than 50 million copies worldwide, becoming the the second-highest-selling album in history. “Back in Black” was certified Platinum in Argentina by “CAPIF”; 12 x Platinum in Australia by “ARIIA”; Platinum in Austria by “IFPI”; Diamond in Canada by “Music Canada”; 2 x Platinum in France by “SNEP”; 2 x Platinum in Germany by “BVMI”; Platinum in Italy by “FIMI”; 2 x Platinum in Switzerland by “IFPI”; Platinum in UK by “BPI” and 22 x Platinum in the US by the “RIIA”. In 2001, “VH1” ranked “Back in Black” at number 82 on its list of the “Top 100 Albums”; in 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 77 on its list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”; in 2010, “Back in Black” was ranked at number 2 in the book “100 Best Australian Albums”.


  • Brian Johnson– lead vocals
  • Angus Young– lead guitar
  • Malcolm Young– rhythm guitar, backing vocals
  • Cliff Williams– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Phil Rudd– drums
  • Tony Platt– assistant engineering
  • Benji Armbrister – assistant engineering
  • Jack Newber – assistant engineering
  • Brad Samuelsohn –mixing
  • Bob Ludwig– mastering
  • Bob Defrin –art direction
  • Robert Ellis –photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Angus Young, Malcolm Young and Brian Johnson.

  1. Hells Bells
  2. Shoot to Thrill
  3. What Do You Do for Money Honey
  4. Given the Dog a Bone
  5. Let Me Put My Love into You
  6. Back in Black
  7. You Shook Me All Night Long
  8. Have a Drink on Me
  9. Shake a Leg
  10. Rock and Roll Ain’t Noise Pollution

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.