Tag Archives: Ron Asheton

On May 23, 1988.

On May 23, 1988, “Blackheart” label released “Up Your Alley”, the sixth Joan Jett and the Blackhearts studio album. It was recorded in 1988 and was produced by Kenny Laguna, Ric Browde and Desmond Child.


  • Joan Jett– lead vocals; guitars
  • Ricky Byrd – lead guitars
  • Thommy Price– drums
  • Kasim Sulton– bass guitar
  • The Uptown Horns:
    • Crispin Choe – baritone saxophone
    • Arno Hecht – tenor saxophone
    • Paul Litteral – trumpet
    • Robert Funk – trombone
  • Ronnie Lawson – keyboards
  • Mick Taylor– guitar solo
  • Frank Carillo– guitar; backing vocals
  • Kenny Laguna– various instruments; backing vocals
  • Desmond Child, Chuck Kentis, Louie Merlino, Paul Carrizzo – backing vocals
  • Thom Panunzio– associate producer; engineer; mixer
  • Jay Healy – engineer; mixer
  • Arthur Payson, James A. Ball, John Aiosa – engineer
  • Andrew Spigleman, David Cook, Rich Travali, Roger Talkov, Scott Forman, Teddy Trewhella, Thom Cadley – assistant engineer
  • Bob Ludwig– mastering

Track listing:

  1. I Hate Myself for Loving You – Joan Jett, Desmond Child
  2. Ridin’ with James Dean – Joan Jett, Ricky Byrd, Ric Browde
  3. Little Liar – Joan Jett, Desmond Child
  4. Tulane – Chuck Berry
  5. I Wanna Be Your Dog – Dave Alexander, Ron Asheton, Scott Asheton, Iggy Pop
  6. I Still Dream About You – Joan Jett, Ricky Bird, Gary Rottger
  7. You Want In, I Want Out – Joan Jett, Desmond Child
  8. Just Like in the Movies – Joan Jett, Ric Browde, Ricky Byrd, Kenny Laguna
  9. Desire – Joan Jett, Diane Warren, Kenny Laguna
  10. Back It Up – Joan Jett, Ricky Bird, Ric Browde
  11. Play That Song Again – Joan Jett, Ricky Bird, Frank Carillo

On March 6, 2007.


On March 6, 2007, “Virgin” label released “The Weirdness”, the fourth Stooges album.  It was recorded in October 2006, at “Electrical Audio Studios” in Chicago, Illinois, and was produced by Steve Albini. It was the first studio album of new material The Stooges released since “Raw Power” in 1973.


  • Iggy Pop– vocals
  • Ron Asheton– guitar
  • Scott Asheton– drums
  • Mike Watt– bass guitar
  • Steve Mackay– saxophone
  • Brendan Benson– backing vocals
  • Steve Albini– engineering
  • Nick Webb – mastering
  • Chris Wujek – technical assistance
  • Rob Vester – assistant engineer
  • Henry McGroggan – production coordination
  • Eric Fischer – production coordination
  • Sean Mosher-Smith – art direction and design
  • Chapman Baehler– photography
  • Robert Matheu – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Iggy Pop, Ron Asheton, and Scott Asheton, except where noted.

  1. Trollin’
  2. You Can’t Have Friends
  3. ATM
  4. My Idea of Fun
  5. The Weirdness
  6. Free & freaky
  7. Greedy Awful People
  8. She Took My Money
  9. The End of Christianity
  10. Mexican Guy
  11. Passing Cloud
  12. I’m Fried


On August 5, 1969.

The Stooges - The Stooges

On August 5, 1969, “Elektra” label released the self-titled debut studio album by The Stooges. It was recorded in April 1969; at “The Hit Factory” in New York City, and was produced by John Cale. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 185 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”, and ranked the song “1969” in the list of the “100 Greatest Guitar Songs of All Time”. In 2005, “Q” magazine ranked the song “I Wanna Be Your Dog” at number 13 in its list of the “100 Greatest Guitar Tracks”.


  • Iggy Pop – vocals
  • Dave Alexander– bass guitar
  • Ron Asheton– guitar, vocals
  • Scott Asheton– drums
  • John Cale– piano, sleigh bell, viola
  • Joel Brodsky– sleeve photography
  • Danny Fields– liner notes
  • William S. Harvey – sleeve art direction
  • Jac Holzman– production supervisor

Track listing:

All tracks by The Stooges (Dave Alexander, Ron Asheton, Scott Asheton and Iggy Pop).

  1. 1969
  2. I Wanna Be Your Dog
  3. We Will Fall
  4. No Fun
  5. Real Cool Time
  6. Ann
  7. No Right
  8. Little Doll

On July 7, 1970.


On July 7, 1970, “Elektra” label released “Fun House”, the second Stooges studio album.  It was recorded May 1970 at “Elektra Sound Recorders” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Don Gallucci. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” ranked “Fun House” at number 191 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of all Time”.


  • Iggy Pop– vocals
  • Ron Asheton– guitar
  • Dave Alexander– bass guitar
  • Scott Asheton– drums
  • Steve Mackay– saxophone
  • Don Gallucci– organ overdubs
  • Brian Ross-Myring – remastering, engineer
  • Tom Hummer – assistant engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Dave Alexander, Ron Asheton, Scott Asheton, and Iggy Pop.

  1. Down on the Street
  2. Loose
  3. V. Eye
  4. Dirt
  5. 1970
  6. Fun House
  7. A. Blues

On February 7, 1973.

Stooges - Raw Power

On February 7, 1973, “Columbia” released “Raw Power”, the third Stooges studio album.  It was recorded September – October 1972,  at “CBS Studios” in London, and was produced by Iggy Pop and David Bowie.


  • Iggy Pop– lead vocals
  • James Williamson– guitar
  • Ron Asheton– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Scott Asheton– drums
  • David Bowie– piano, percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Iggy Pop and James Williamson.

  1. Search and Destroy
  2. Gimme Danger
  3. Your Pretty Face Is Going to Hell
  4. Penetration
  5. Raw Power
  6. I Need Somebody
  7. Snake Appeal
  8. Death Trip