Soundgarden: Superunknown


On March 8, 1994, “A&M” label released “Superunknown”, the fourth Soundgarden album. It was recorded July – September 1993, at “Bad Animals Studio” in Seattle, and was produced by Michael Beinhorn, Chris Cornell, Kim Thayll, Ben Shepherd and Matt Cameron.  “Superunknown” was certified 5 x Platinum in US by the “RIAA”. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked it at number 336 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of all Time” and at number 38 on magazine’s list of the “100 Greatest Albums of the Nineties”. “Kerrang” magazine listed “Superunknown” in its list of “100 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die”.


  • Chris Cornell– vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Kim Thayil– lead guitar
  • Ben Shepherd– lead and backing vocals, bass guitar, guitar, drums, percussion
  • Matt Cameron– drums, percussion, mellotron, pots, pans
  • Michael Beinhorn– piano
  • April Acevez –viola
  • Artis the Spoonman – spoons
  • Fred Chalenor– harmonic guidance
  • Justine Foy –cello
  • Natasha Shneider– clavinet
  • Gregg Keplinger– drums, percussion
  • Kelk – front cover design
  • Reyzart –layout
  • Kevin Westenberg –band photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Chris Cornell, except where noted.

  1. Let Me Drown
  2. My Wave
  3. Fell on Black Days
  4. Mailman
  5. Superunknown
  6. Head Down
  7. Black Hole Sun
  8. Spoonman
  9. Limo Wreck
  10. The Day I Tried To Live
  11. Kickstand
  12. Fresh Tendrils
  13. 4th of July
  14. Half
  15. Like Suicide

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.