Tag Archives: Ary Barroso

In March 1964.

In March 1964, “Verve” label released “Getz/Gilberto”,album by Stan Getz and João Gilberto.It was recorded in March 1963, at “A&R Recording Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Creed Taylor. The artwork was by artist Olga Albizu. In 1965, “Getz/Gilberto” received “Grammy Awards” for “Best Jazz Instrumental Album”, “Individual or Group and Best Engineered Recording – Non-Classical;” and “Album of the Year”. It is considered to be the album that popularized bossa nova worldwide. In 2012, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 447 on its list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Stan Getz– tenor saxophone
  • João Gilberto– vocals, guitar
  • Antônio Carlos Jobim– piano
  • Astrud Gilberto – vocals
  • Sebastião Neto – double bass
  • Milton Banana– drums, pandeiro

Track listing:

  1. The Girl from Ipanema – Antônio Carlos Jobim, Vinicius de Moraes, Norman Gimbel
  2. Doralice – Antônio Almeida, Dorival Caymmi
  3. Para Machucar Meu Coração – Ary Barroso
  4. Desafinado – Antonio Carlos Jobim, Newton Mendonça
  5. Corcovado (Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars) – Antônio Carlos Jobim
  6. Só Danço Samba – Antônio Carlos Jobim, Vinicius de Moraes
  7. O Grande Amor – Antônio Carlos Jobim, Vinicius de Moraes
  8. Vivo Sonhando – Antônio Carlos Jobim




In May 1965.

In May 1965, “Prestige” label released “Bahia”, the last John Coltrane album for “Prestige”. It was recorded July 11, 1958-December 26, 1958, at “Van Der Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, New Jersey, and was produced by Bob Weinstock.


  • John Coltrane– tenor saxophone
  • Wilbur Harden– flugelhorn, trumpet
  • Freddie Hubbard– trumpet
  • Red Garland– piano
  • Paul Chambers– bass
  • Art Taylor– drums
  • Jimmy Cobb– drums

Track listing:

  1. Bahia – Ary Barroso
  2. Goldsboro Express – John Coltrane
  3. My Ideal – Richard Whiting
  4. I’m a Dreamer, Aren’t We All – ray Henderson
  5. Something I Dreamed Last Night – Yellen, Magidson, Fain

On July 12, 1964.


On July 12, 1964, “EMI” label released “The Sound of The Shadows”, the fourth   Shadows album. It was recorded in 1965.


Bruce Welch, Hank Marvin – guitar, vocals
John Rostill – bass, vocals
Brian Bennett – drums
The Norrie Paramor Strings – ensemble

Track listing:

  1. Brazil – Ary Barroso, Bob Russell
  2. The Lost City – Russ Ballard
  3. A Little Bitty Tear – Hank Cochran
  4. Blue Sky, Blue Sea, Blue Me – John Rostill, Bruce Welch
  5. Bossa Roo – John Rostill, Bruce Welch
  6. Five Hundred Miles – Sonny West
  7. Cotton Pickin – Perry Ford, Tony Hiller
  8. Deep Purple – Peter DeRose, Mitchell Parish
  9. Santa Ana – Jerry Lordan, Petrina Lordan
  10. The Windjammer – John Rostil
  11. Dean’s Theme — Hank Marvin, John Rostill
  12. Breakthru – Geoffrey Taggart
  13. Let It Be Me – Gilbert Bécaud, Manny Curtis, Pierre Delanoë
  14. National Provincial Samba – John Rostill, Bruce Welch