Tag Archives: The Stooges

On October 10, 2015.

On October 10, 2015, Steve Mackay died aged 66. He was musician (saxophone), recorded and performed with Violent Femmes, Snakefinger, Commander Cody, Zu, Andre Williams, Smegma, Van Rozay, Estel, Clubfoot Orchestra, Carnal Kitchen Band, The Mojo Boogie Band and Moonlighters, but was best known for his membership in The Stooges. As leader Mackay released three albums.

On March 6, 2007.


On March 6, 2007, “Virgin” label released “The Weirdness”, the fourth Stooges album.  It was recorded in October 2006, at “Electrical Audio Studios” in Chicago, Illinois, and was produced by Steve Albini. It was the first studio album of new material The Stooges released since “Raw Power” in 1973.


  • Iggy Pop– vocals
  • Ron Asheton– guitar
  • Scott Asheton– drums
  • Mike Watt– bass guitar
  • Steve Mackay– saxophone
  • Brendan Benson– backing vocals
  • Steve Albini– engineering
  • Nick Webb – mastering
  • Chris Wujek – technical assistance
  • Rob Vester – assistant engineer
  • Henry McGroggan – production coordination
  • Eric Fischer – production coordination
  • Sean Mosher-Smith – art direction and design
  • Chapman Baehler– photography
  • Robert Matheu – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Iggy Pop, Ron Asheton, and Scott Asheton, except where noted.

  1. Trollin’
  2. You Can’t Have Friends
  3. ATM
  4. My Idea of Fun
  5. The Weirdness
  6. Free & freaky
  7. Greedy Awful People
  8. She Took My Money
  9. The End of Christianity
  10. Mexican Guy
  11. Passing Cloud
  12. I’m Fried


In February 1983.


In February 1983, “Neutral” label released “Confusion Is Sex”, the debut Sonic Youth studio album. It was recorded 1982 – 1983, at Wharton Tiers’s studio in Chelsea, and “Lee Is Free” was recorded by Lee Ranaldo on his home tape recorder and was produced by Kim Gordon, Thurston Moore, Lee Ranaldo, Jim Sclavunos, Wharton Tiers, Bob Bert and John Erskine.


  • Kim Gordon– vocals, bass guitar, guitar
  • Thurston Moore– vocals, guitar, prepared guitar, bass guitar
  • Lee Ranaldo– guitar, bass guitar, zither
  • Jim Sclavunos– drums
  • Bob Bert– drums
  • Wharton Tiers–engineering
  • John Erskine – engineering assistance

Track listing:

All lyrics written by Kim Gordon, Thurston Moore, Lee Ranaldo, Jim Sclavunos  and Bob Bert, except “The World Looks Red”, by Michael Gira; all music composed by Kim Gordon, Thurston Moore, Lee Ranaldo, Jim Sclavunos and Bob Bert, except “I Wanna Be Your Dog”, by The Stooges.

  1. (She’s in A) Bad Mood
  2. Protect Me You
  3. Freezer Burn / I Wanna Be Your Dog
  4. Shaking Hell
  5. Inhuman
  6. The World Looks Red
  7. Confusion is Net
  8. Making the nature Scene
  9. Lee is Free

On January 6, 2009.


On January 6, 2009, Ronald Franklin Asheton died aged 60. Being guitarist, bassist, actor and songwriter, he was best known as founding member (together with Iggy Pop, his brother Scott Asheton and Dave Alexander) and guitarist of The Stooges. In 2014, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked him at number 60 on its list of the “100 Greatest Guitarists of All Time”.

On August 5, 1969.

The Stooges - The Stooges

On August 5, 1969, “Elektra” label released the self-titled, debut  Stooges album. It was recorded in April 1969; at “The Hit Factory” in New York City and was produced by John Cale. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 185 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”, and ranked the song “1969” in the list of the “100 Greatest Guitar Songs of All Time”. In 2005, “Q” magazine ranked the song “I Wanna Be Your Dog” at number 13 in its list of the “100 Greatest Guitar Tracks”.


  • Iggy Pop – vocals
  • Dave Alexander– bass guitar
  • Ron Asheton– vocals, guitar
  • Scott Asheton– drums
  • John Cale– piano, sleigh bell, viola
  • Joel Brodsky– sleeve photography
  • Danny Fields– liner notes
  • William S. Harvey – sleeve art direction
  • Jac Holzman– production supervisor

Track listing:

All tracks by The Stooges (Dave Alexander, Ron Asheton, Scott Asheton, and Iggy Pop).

  1. 1969
  2. I Wanna Be Your Dog
  3. We Will Fall
  4. No Fun
  5. Real Cool Time
  6. Ann
  7. No Right
  8. Little Doll

On July 7, 1970.


On July 7, 1970, “Elektra” label released “Fun House”, the second Stooges studio album.  It was recorded May 1970 at “Elektra Sound Recorders” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Don Gallucci. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” ranked “Fun House” at number 191 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of all Time”.


  • Iggy Pop– vocals
  • Ron Asheton– guitar
  • Dave Alexander– bass guitar
  • Scott Asheton– drums
  • Steve Mackay– saxophone
  • Don Gallucci– organ overdubs
  • Brian Ross-Myring – remastering, engineer
  • Tom Hummer – assistant engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Dave Alexander, Ron Asheton, Scott Asheton, and Iggy Pop.

  1. Down on the Street
  2. Loose
  3. V. Eye
  4. Dirt
  5. 1970
  6. Fun House
  7. A. Blues

On February 18, 1977.


On February 18, 1977, “Stiff Records” released “Damned Damned Damned”, the debut Damned studio album. It was recorded September – December 1976 and January 1977, and was produced by Nick Lowe. “Damned Damned Damned” was the first full-length album released by a UK punk group


  • Dave Vanian – vocals
  • Brian James– guitar, vocals
  • Captain Sensible– bass, vocals
  • Rat Scabies– drums, vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Brian James, except where noted.

  1. Neat Neat Neat
  2. Fan Club
  3. I Fall
  4. Born to Kill
  5. Stab Your Back
  6. Feel the Pain
  7. New Rose
  8. Fish – Brian James, Tony james
  9. See Her Tonite
  10. 1 of the 2
  11. So Messed Up
  12. I Feel Alright – The Stooges

On February 7, 1973.

Stooges - Raw Power

On February 7, 1973, “Columbia” released “Raw Power”, the third Stooges studio album.  It was recorded September – October 1972,  at “CBS Studios” in London, and was produced by Iggy Pop and David Bowie.


  • Iggy Pop– lead vocals
  • James Williamson– guitar
  • Ron Asheton– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Scott Asheton– drums
  • David Bowie– piano, percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Iggy Pop and James Williamson.

  1. Search and Destroy
  2. Gimme Danger
  3. Your Pretty Face Is Going to Hell
  4. Penetration
  5. Raw Power
  6. I Need Somebody
  7. Snake Appeal
  8. Death Trip