Tag Archives: December 5

On December 5, 1981.

On December 5, 1981, “SST” label released “Damaged”, the debut Black Flag studio album. It was recorded in August 1981, at “Unicorn Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Spot, Henry Rollins, Greg Ginn, Dez Cadena, Chuck Dukowski and Robo. In 2003, the album was ranked at number 340 on “Rolling Stone’s” magazine list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Henry Rollins– lead vocals
  • Greg Ginn– lead guitar, backing vocals
  • Dez Cadena– rhythm guitar, backing vocals
  • Chuck Dukowski– bass, backing vocals
  • Robo– drums, backing vocals
  • Steve “Mugger” Corbin – backing vocals
  • Spot– engineer
  • Francis Buckley – engineer, mixer
  • Chuck Vogt – additional engineer
  • Ed Colver– artwork

Track listing:

All tracks by Greg Ginn, except where noted.

  1. Rise Above
  2. Spray Paint – Chuck Dukowski, Greg Ginn
  3. Six Pack
  4. What I See – Charles Dukowski
  5. TV Party
  6. Thirsty and Miserable – Dez Cadena, Rosa Medea, Robo
  7. Police Story
  8. Gimme Gimme Gimme
  9. Depression
  10. Room 13 – Greg Ginn, Rosa Medea
  11. No More – Charles Dukowski
  12. Padded Cell – Charles Dukowski, Greg Ginn
  13. Life of Pain
  14. Damaged I – Greg Ginn, Henry Rollins



On December 6, 1965.


On December 6, 1965, “Parlaphone” label released “The Beatles’ Million Sellers”, the tenth Beatles EP. It was recorded in 1965, at “EMI Studios” in London, and was produced by George Martin. The EP was only released in mono version.


  • John Lennon– lead vocals, lead and rhythm guitar
  • Paul McCartney– lead and harmony vocals, bass
  • George Harrison– lead and rhythm guitars, harmony vocals
  • Ringo Starr– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by John Lennon and Paul McCartney.

  1. She Loves You
  2. I Want to Hold Your Hand
  3. Can’t Buy Me Love
  4. I Feel Fine

On December 5, 1994.


On December 5, 1994, “Geffen” label released “Second Coming”, the second Stone Roses studio album. It was recorded 1992 – 1994, at “Forge Studios” in Wales, and was produced by Simon Dawson and Paul Schroeder. The album was dedicated to Philip Hall, the band’s publicist, who died of cancer in 1993. “Second Coming” was certified Platinum in UK by “BPI”.


  • Ian Brown– lead vocals, harmonica, recording of running water
  • John Squire– electric and acoustic guitars, vocals, backing vocals, recording, collage
  • Mani– bass guitar
  • Reni– drums, backing vocals, vocals, recording of running water
  • Simon Dawson – keyboards,Jew’s harp, castanets, Wurlitzer electric piano, acoustic piano, engineering
  • Paul Schroeder – engineering
  • John Leckie– recording
  • Mark Tolle – recording
  • Al “Bongo” Shaw – recording
  • Nick Brine – assistant engineering;tambourine

Track listing:

All tracks by John Squire, except where noted.

  1. Breaking into Heaven
  2. Driving South
  3. Ten Storey Love Song
  4. Daybreak – Ian Brown,Gary Mounfield, John Squire, Alan Wren
  5. Your Star Will Shine
  6. Straight to the Man – Ian Brown
  7. Begging You – John Squire, Ian Brown
  8. Tightrope
  9. Good Times
  10. Tears
  11. How Do You Sleep
  12. Love Spreads
  13. Untitled – Ian Brown, Gary Mounfield, John Squire, Alan Wren

On December 5, 1980.


On December 5, 1980, “Casablanca” label released “Trombipulation”, the ninth Parliament studio album. It was recorded 1979 – 1980, and was produced by George Clinton, Bootsy Collins, Ron Dunbar and Ron Ford.


  • Bootsy Collins, Donnie Sterling, Lige Curry, Jimmie Ali – bass
  • Bootsy Collins, Tony Thomas, Michael Hampton, Gordon Carlton, Jerome Ali – guitar
  • Bootsy Collins, Lonnie Greene, Tyrone Lampkin, Kenny Colton – drums
  • Bernie Worrell, David Lee Chong, Michael Hampton, Manon Saulsby, Ernestro Wilson – keyboards
  • Fred Wesley, Larry Hatcher, Bennie Cowan, Greg Thomas, Maceo Parker, Richard Griffith, Darryl Dixon, David Taylor, Barry Taylor, Barry Rogers, Danny Cahn, David Tofani, John Mical, David Majali, Randy Brecker, Michael Brecker – horns
  • Garry Shider, Ray Davis, Michael “Clip” Payne, Lige Curry, Jerome Rodgers, Larry Hatcher, Robert Johnson, Ron Dunbar, Jeanette McGruder, Dawn Silva, Sheila Horne, Mallia Franklin, Shirley Hayden, Janice Evans, Jeanette Washington, Gwen Dozier, Cheryl James, Ron Ford, Patty Walker, Andre Williams, Stevie Pannell, Kevin Shider, Tracey “Trey Lewd” Lewis, Tony Davis, Philippe Wynne, Jessica Cleaves, Donnie Sterling, Tony Thomas, Lonnie Greene, Nina Hoover, Linda Shider, Larry Heckstall, Dawn Driver, Ronni Faust, Godmoma, Junie Morrison, Bootsy Collins – vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by George Clinton.

  1. Crush It
  2. Trombipulation
  3. Long Way Around
  4. Agony Of Defeet
  5. New Doo Review
  6. Let’s Play House
  7. Body Language
  8. Peek-A-Groove

On December 5, 1966.


On December 5, 1966, “Atco” label released the self-titled, debut Buffalo Springfield album. It was recorded July – September 1966, at “Gold Star Studios” in Los Angeles, and “Columbia Recording Studio” in Hollywood, and was produced by Charles Greene and Brian Stone.


  • Richie Furay- rhythm guitar, lead and backing vocals
  • Dewey Martin- drums, backing vocals
  • Bruce Palmer- bass guitar
  • Stephen Stills- lead guitar, lead and backing vocals, keyboards
  • Neil Young- lead guitar, lead and backing vocals, harmonica, piano
  • Tom May, Doc Siegel, James Hilton, Stan Ross – engineers
  • Buffalo Springfield, Charles Greene, Brian Stone – mixing
  • Sandy Dvore – design
  • Henry Diltz, Ivan Nagy – photography

Track listing:

  1. Go and Say Goodbye – Stephen Stills
  2. Sit Down, I Think I Love You – Stephen Stills
  3. Leave – Stephen Stills
  4. Nowadays Clancy Can’t Even Sing – Neil Young
  5. Hot Dusty Roads – Stephen Stills
  6. Everybody’s Wrong – Stephen Stills
  7. Flying on the Ground Is Wrong – Neil Young
  8. Burned – Neil Young
  9. Do I Have to Come Right Out and Say It – Neil Young
  10. Baby Don’t Scold Me – Stephen Stills
  11. Out of My Mind – Neil Young
  12. Pay the Price – Stephen Stills

On December 5, 1976.


On December 5, 1976, “Disques Dreyfus” label released (in France) “Oxygène” (Oxygen in English), Jean Michel Jarre studio album.  It was recorded August – November 1976, at Jarre home studio in Paris, and was produced by Jarre.  “Oxygen” was a big commercial success and was very important step in the development of electronic music.


  • Jean Michel Jarre – ARP 2600, EMS Synthi AKS, EMS VCS3, RMI Harmonic Synthesizer, Farfisa Professional Organ, Eminent 310U, Mellotron and the Rhythmin’ Computer

Track listing:

All tracks by Jean Michel Jarre.

  1. Oxygène Part I
  2. Oxygène Part II
  3. Oxygène Part III
  4. Oxygène Part IV
  5. Oxygène Part V
  6. Oxygène Part VI


On December 5, 1974.

Relayer_REMUS_spine_Layout 1

On December 5, 1974, “Atlantic” label released “Relayer”, the seventh Yes studio album. It was recorded August – October 1974, at the “New Pipers” in Surrey, and was produced by Jon Anderson, Steve Howe, Patrick Moraz, Chris Squire, Alan White and Eddy Offord.This was the only studio album recorded with keyboardist Patrick Moraz who replaced Rick Wakeman.


  • Jon Anderson– lead vocals
  • Steve Howe– acoustic and electric guitars, vocals
  • Patrick Moraz– keyboards
  • Chris Squire– bass guitar, vocals
  • Alan White– drums, percussion
  • Roger Dean– sleeve design , illustration
  • Jean Ristori – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Jon Anderson, Chris Squire, Steve Howe, Alan White and Patrick Moraz.

  1. The Gates of Delirium
  2. Sound Chaser
  3. To Be Over