Tag Archives: John Adams

On May 19, 2018.

On May 19, 2018, Reginald Grant Lucas died aged 65. He was musician (guitar), songwriter and producer, started his career performing and recording with Billy Paul and Miles Davis. As producer, composer and sideman he worked with Madonna, Models, The Four Tops, Randy Crawford, Rebbie Jackson, Bunny DeBarge, John Adams, Elisa Fiorillo, The Weather Girls, Nick Scott, Stephanie Mills, Gary Bartz, The Spinners, Lou Rawls, Roberta Flack, Donny Hathaway, James Mtume, Carlos Garnett, Norman Connors, Babatunde Olatunji, Flora Purim, Lonnie Liston Smith, Zbigniew Seifert, Masabumi Kikuchi and Shunzo Ohno. As leader Lucas released two albums.

On May 19, 2018.

On May 19, 2018, Reginald Grant Lucas aka Reggie Lucas died aged 65. He was songwriter, musician (guitar) and record producer. As musician he has recorded and performed with Miles Davis, Carlos Garnett, Babatunde Olatunji, Norman Connors, Flora Purim, Lonnie Liston Smith, Hubert Eaves, Roberta Flack, Urszula Dudziak, James Mtume, Gary Bartz, Zbigniew Seifert, John Lee, Gerry Brown and Masabumi Kikuchi. As producer Lucas worked with Madonna, Mtume, Models, Randy Crawford, Rebbie Jackson, Bunny DeBarge, The Four Tops, John Adams, The Weather Girls, Elisa Fiorillo and Nick Scotti. In 1981, Lucas and James Mtume won a “Grammy Award” for “Best R&B Song” for their composition “Never Knew Love Like This Before”, which was performed by Stephanie Mills. As leader, Lucas has recorded two albums.

On October 17, 1994.

On October 17, 1994, “EMI” label released “Change We Must”, the seventh Jon Anderson album. It was recorded 1993 – 1994, and was produced by Jon Anderson and Tim Handley.


  • Jon Anderson – vocals, orchestrations
  • Matt Clifford – keyboards, orchestration
  • Opio Singers Choir
  • Nick Ingram – orchestration
  • Ian Thomas – drums
  • Milton McDonald – guitar
  • Steve Pearce – bass
  • Toby Alington – synthesizers
  • Gwendolyn Mok – piano
  • Geoffrey Alexander – orchestration
  • Sandrine Piau – vocals
  • Tim Handley – orchestration
  • Jade Anderson– vocals
  • Christopher Warren-Green, Rosie Furness, Roger Chase, Steve Trees, Jonathan Williams – string quartet
  • Skalia Kanga – harp
  • Nadya – Sun Chant

Track listing:

  1. State of Independence – Jon Anderson, Vangelis
  2. Shaker Loops – lyrics by Jon Anderson, music by John Adams
  3. Hearts – Chris Squire, Jon Anderson, Trevor Rabin
  4. Alive & Well – David Tolley, Jon Anderson
  5. The Kiss – Jon Anderson, Vangelis
  6. Chagall Duet – Jon Anderson
  7. Run On, Jon – David Tolley, Jon Anderson
  8. Candle Song – Jon Anderson, Vangelis
  9. A View from the Coppice – David Tolley, Jon Anderson
  10. Hurry Home – Jon Anderson
  11. Under the Sun – Jon Anderson
  12. Change We Must – Jon Anderson, Vangelis