Tag Archives: Andy Engel

In aUGUST 1978.

In August 1978, “Warner Bros” label released “Strikes Again”, the third Rose Royce album. It was recorded in 1978, at “Sound Factory West”, “One Step Up Recording Studio”, “Westlake Studios”, “Fort Knox Recording Studio”, and was produced by Norman Whitfield.


  • Gwen Dickey – lead vocals
  • Kenji Brown – lead vocals, guitar
  • Cornelius Grant – guitar
  • Melvin “Wah Wah” Watson – guitar
  • Mark Davis keyboards
  • Michael Nash – keyboards
  • Walter Downing – organ
  • Lequeint “Duke” Jobe – vocals, bass
  • Mark Kenoly – bass
  • Henry Garner – vocals, drums
  • Jimi Valdezm – drums
  • Jack Ashford – percussion
  • Terral Santiel – congas
  • Michael Moore – saxophone
  • Kenny Copeland – lead vocals, trumpet
  • Freddie Dunn – trumpet
  • Gene Page – orchestration
  • Norman Whitfield – arranger, engineer 
  • Steve Smith engineer
  • Leanard Jackson – recording
  • Steve Smith – recording
  • Pamela Clare – cover illustration
  • Eleven Twenty-Four Design, A.S. – art direction, design
  • Andy Engel – lettering
  • Bobby Holland, Jeffrey Mayer, Rainbow Photography- photography
  • Bill Whitfield – album coordinator

Track listing:

All tracks by Norman Whitfield, except where noted.

  1. Get Up off Your Fat
  2. Do It, Do It
  3. I’m in Love (And I Love the Feeling)
  4. First Come, First Serve
  5. Love Don’t Live Here Anymore – Miles Gregory
  6. Angel in the Sky – Billie Calvin
  7. Help – Robert Daniels
  8. Let Me Be the First To Know – Miles Gregory
  9. That’s What’s Wrong with Me

On June 7, 1994.

On June 7, 1994, “MCA” label released “Walk On”, the fourth Boston studio album. It was recorded November 1990 – December 1993, and was produced by Tom Scholz.


  • Tom Scholz– guitar, bass, drums, piano, organ, keyboard, clavinet, hand clapping, engineer, arranger, “moral support and snacks”
  • Fran Cosmo– lead vocals
  • Gary Pihl– guitar, hand clapping, assistant engineer
  • David Sikes – bass guitar, background vocals, assistant engineer
  • Doug Huffman – drums
  • Matt Belyea – hand clapping
  • Bob Cedro – rhythm guitar, special effects, hand clapping
  • Tommy Funderburk– background vocals
  • Sean Olsen – hand clapping, rhythm guitar, flute
  • Ted Jensen – mastering
  • Ron Larson – design, illustrations
  • Andy Engel – cover art concept

Track listing:

All tracks by Tom Scholz, except where noted.

  1. I Need Your Love – Tom Scholz, Fred Sampson
  2. Surrender to Me – Tom Scholz, David Sikes, Bobby Laquidara
  3. Livin’ for You
  4. Walkin’ at Night
  5. Walk On – Tom Scholz, Brad Delp. David Sikes
  6. Get Organ-ized, Get Reorganized
  7. Walk On (Some More) – Tom Scholz, Brad Delp, David Sikes
  8. What’s Your Name
  9. Magdalene – Tom Scholz, David Sikes, Galen “Rusty” Foulke
  10. We Can Make It – Tom Scholz, David Sikes, Bob Cedro


On May 20, 1997.

On May 20, 1997, “Roswell” and “Capitol” labels released “The Colour and the Shape”, the second Foo Fighters studio album. It was recorded November 1996 – February 1997, at “Bear Creek” in Woodinville, WA. “WGNS” in Washington, D.C., “Grandmaster Recorders” in Hollywood, and was produced by Gil Norton. The album was certified Platinum in Australia by “ARIA”, Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada”, Platinum in UK by “BPI”, and Platinum in USA by “RIAA”.


  • Dave Grohl– lead vocals, guitar, drums, art direction
  • Pat Smear– guitar, art direction
  • Nate Mendel– bass, art direction
  • William Goldsmith– drums
  • Taylor Hawkins– drums
  • Lance Bangs, Chris Bilheimer, Ryan Boesch – handclaps
  • Louise Post- backing vocals
  • Bradley Cook, Geoff Turner – engineering
  • Ryan Boesch, Todd Burke, Don Farwell, Ryan Hadlock, Jason Mauza – assistant engineering
  • Chris Sheldon– mixing
  • Bob Ludwig– mastering
  • Bradley Cook, Geoff Turner – recording technicians
  • Jeffery Fey – art direction, design
  • Tommy Steele – art direction
  • George Mimnaugh – design
  • Andy Engel – logo design
  • Josh Kessler – photography

 Track listing:

All tracks by Dave Grohl, Nate Mendel and Pat Smear except where noted.

  1. Doll
  2. Monkey Wrench
  3. Hay, Johnny Park!
  4. My Poor Brain
  5. Wind Up
  6. Up in Arms
  7. My Hero
  8. See You
  9. Enough Space – Dave Grohl
  10. February Stars
  11. Everlong – Dave Grohl
  12. Walking After You – Dave Grohl
  13. New Way Home

On November 28, 1986.

On  November 28, 1986, “MCA” label released “Power”, the tenth Kansas studio album. It was recorded in 1986, at “ The Castle” in Franklin, Tennessee, “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Andrew Powell and Phil Ehart.


  • Steve Walsh– lead vocals, keyboards
  • Steve Morse– vocals, lead guitar
  • Rich Williams- guitar
  • Billy Greer– vocals, bass guitar
  • Phil Ehart- drums, executive producer
  • The Philarmonia Orchestraarranged and conducted by Andrew Powell
  • Gary Chang- keyboards programming
  • Travis Bradford, Jerome Olds, Rob Henson, Yonrico Scott, Merle McLain, Doug Baker, Solomon Olds, Cliff Jones – backing vocals
  • Nigel Walker – engineer, mixing
  • Mike Sheady – orchestral recordings engineer
  • Humberto Gatica– mixing
  • Keith Odle, Lance Philips, Darrin Goodwin – assistant engineers
  • George Marino- mastering
  • Andy Engel – design, illustration

Track listing:

All tracks by Steve Morse and Steve Walsh except where noted.

  1. Silhouettes in Disguise
  2. Power – Randy Goodrum, Steve Morse, Steve Walsh
  3. All I Wanted
  4. Secret Service – John Booth Aclin, Ron Miller, Steve Morse, Steve Walsh
  5. We’re Not Alone Anymore
  6. Musicatto
  7. Taking In the View
  8. Three Pretenders – Billy Greer, Steve  Morse, Steve Walsh
  9. Tomb 19
  10. Can’t Cry Anymore – Tim Smith, Van Temple


On August 25, 1975.


On August 25, 1975, “Columbia” label released “Born to Run”, the third Bruce Springsteen studio album. It was recorded May 1974 – July 1975, at “Record Plant” and “914 Sound Studios” in New York City,   and was produced by Bruce Springsteen, Mike Appel and Jon Landau. This album marked Springsteen’s effort to break into the mainstream reaching sale of six million copies in the US only by the year 2000.


  • Bruce Springsteen– lead vocals, lead and rhythm guitars, harmonica, percussion
  • Roy Bittan– piano, Fender Rhodes, organ, harpsichord, glockenspiel, background vocals
  • Clarence Clemons– saxophones, tambourine, background vocals
  • Danny Federici– organ, glockenspiel
  • Garry W. Tallent– bass guitar
  • Max Weinberg– drums
  • Ernest “Boom” Carter– drums
  • Suki Lahav- violin
  • David Sancious– piano, organ
  • Steven Van Zandt– background vocals, horn arrangements
  • Wayne Andre– trombone
  • Mike Appel– background vocals
  • Michael Brecker– tenor saxophone
  • Randy Brecker– trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Richard Davis– double bass
  • David Sanborn– baritone saxophone
  • Andy Engel – design

Track listing:

All tracks by Bruce Springsteen.

  1. Thunder Road
  2. Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out
  3. Night
  4. Backstreet
  5. Born to Run
  6. She’s the One
  7. Meeting Across the River
  8. Jungeland