Tag Archives: Mott the Hoople

Rikki Rockett: Glitter 4 Your Soul

On January 7, 2003, “Slave To the Rhythm Productions, Inc” label released “Glitter 4 Your Soul”, the debut Rikki Rockett studio album. It was recorded 1999 – 2003, at “The Hit Shed” in Santa Clarita, California and was produced by Rikki Rockett.


  • Rikki Rockett – vocals, drums, percussion, additional engineering, mixing
  • Bret Michaels – vocal
  • Jizzy Pearl – vocal
  • John Corabi – vocal
  • Gina Shock – vocal
  • Cliff Calabro – vocal
  • David Isaacs – vocal
  • Lucy Levinsohn – vocal
  • Eleanor Academia – vocal
  • Dick Swagger – vocal
  • Blues Saraceno – guitar
  • Christy Calabro – guitar
  • John Linn – additional guitar
  • Stu Simone – keyboards
  • Jeremy Rubolino – keyboards
  • Chuck Garric – bass
  • C.C. Deville – backing vocals
  • Christy Calabro – backing vocal
  • Mark Castrillon – backing vocal
  • Jeremy Rubolinobacking vocal
  • Cliff Calabro – backing vocal, engineer, mixing, co-producer

Track listing:

  1. Action – Sweet cover
  2. Fame – David Bowie cover
  3. Do You Wanna Touch Me – Gary Glitter cover
  4. Tear It Down – Starz cover
  5. Elected – Alice Cooper cover
  6. Trash – New York Dolls cover
  7. All the Way from Memphis – Mott The Hoople cover
  8. Rock On – David Essex cover
  9. Can You Feel It – Angel cover
  10. Life’s a Gas – T. Rex cover
  11. Star Star – The Rolling Stones cover

Mott the Hopple: Same

On November 22, 1969, “Island” label released the self-titled, debut Mott the Hoople album. It was recorded May – July 1969, at “Morgan” in London, and was produced by Guy Stevens. 


  • Ian Hunter – lead vocals, piano, rhythm guitar
  • Mick Ralphs – lead and backing vocals, lead guitar
  • Verden Allen – organ, backing vocals
  • Pete “Overend” Watts – bass, backing vocals
  • Dale “Buffin” Griffin – drums, backing vocals
  • Guy Stevens – piano
  • Andy Johns – engineer
  • M. C. Escher – front cover drawing

Track listing:

  1. You Really Got Me – Ray Davies
  2. At the Crossroads – Doug Sahm
  3. Laugh At Me – Sonny Bono
  4. Backsliding Fearlessly – Ian Hunter
  5. Rock and Roll Queen – Mick Ralphs
  6. Rabbit Foot and Toby Time – Mike Ralphs
  7. Half Moon Bay – Mike Ralphs, Ian Hunter
  8. Wrath and Wroll – Guy Stevens

Terence Griffin

On January 17, 2016, Terence Dale “Buffin” Griffin died aged 67. He was musician (drums) and music producer. He was member of the band The British Lions, but was best known as founding member and the drummer of Mott the Hoople. As producer he worked with Hanoi Rocks and Cult, and produced numerous BBC Radio 1 John Peel sessions from 1981 to 1994.

In November 1971.

In November 1971, “Island” label released “Brain Capers”, the fourth Mott the Hoople album. It was recorded August – September 1971, at “island Studios” in London, and was produced by Guy Stevens.


  • Ian Hunter– vocals, guitar, keyboards
  • Mick Ralphs– vocals, guitar
  • Verden Allen– vocals, keyboards
  • Pete Watts– vocals, bass
  • Dale “Buffin” Griffin – vocals, drums
  • Guy Stevens– piano
  • Jim Price– trumpet
  • Andy Johns– engineer
  • Zal Schreiber – mastering
  • Richard Polak – photography

Track listing:

  1. Death May Be Your Santa Claus – Ian Hunter, Verden Allen
  2. Your Own Backyard – Dion DiMucci
  3. Darkness, Darkness – Jesse Colin Young
  4. The Journey – Ian Hunter
  5. Sweet Angeline – Ian Hunter
  6. Second Love – Verden Allen
  7. The Moon Upstairs – Ian Hunter, Mick Ralphs
  8. The Wheel of the Quivering Meat Conception – Ian Hunter, Guy Stevens

In September 1970.

In September 1970, “Island” label released “Mad Shadows”, the second Mott the Hoople studio album. It was recorded November 1969 – April 1970, at “Olympic Studios” in London, and was produced by Guy Stevens.


  • Ian Hunter- lead vocals, piano, rhythm guitar
  • Mick Ralphs- lead guitar, backing and lead vocals
  • Verden Allen- organ, backing vocals
  • Pete “Overend” Watts- bass, backing vocals
  • Dale “Buffin” Griffin- drums, backing vocals
  • Guy Stevens- “psychic” piano, “spiritual” percussion
  • Andy Johns– engineer
  • Ginny Smith, Peter Sanders – cover design
  • Gabi Naseman – front cover photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Ian Hunter except where noted.

  1. Thunderbuck Ram – Mick Ralphs
  2. No Wheels to Ride
  3. You Are One of Us
  4. Walkin’ with a Mountain
  5. I Can Feel
  6. Threads of Iron – Mick Ralphs
  7. When My Mind’s Gone


In March 1971.

In March 1971, “Island” label released “Wildlife”, the third Mott the Hoople studio album. It was recorded November – December 1970, at “Island Studios” in London, and was produced by Guy Stevens,  Ian Hunter, Mick Ralphs, Verden Allen, Pete “Overend” Watts and Dale “Buffin” Griffin.


  • Ian Hunter- lead and backing vocals, rhythm guitar, piano
  • Mick Ralphs- lead guitar, backing and lead vocals
  • Verden Allen- organ, backing vocals
  • Pete “Overend” Watts- bass, backing vocals
  • Dale “Buffin” Griffin- drums, backing vocals
  • Jerry Hogan – steel guitar
  • Jess Roden- background chorus
  • Stan Tippins – background chorus
  • Michael Gray – string arrangements and conductor
  • Jim Archer – violin
  • Andy Johns, Brian Humphries,Phill Brown – engineer
  • Brian Cooke – photography

Track listing:

  1. Whiskey Women – Mick Ralphs
  2. Angel of Eighth Avenue – Ian Hunter
  3. Wrong Side of the River – Mick Ralphs
  4. Waterlow – Ian Hunter
  5. Lay Down – Melanie Safka
  6. It Must Be Love – Mick Ralphs
  7. Original Mixed-Up Kid – Ian Hunter
  8. Home Is Where I Want to Be – Mick Ralphs
  9. Keep a Knockin'(live recording) – Richard Penniman


Andy Johns

On April 7, 2013, Jeremy Andrew “Andy” Johns died aged 61. He was producer and engineer, worked with many musicians and bands, including: Blodwyn Pig, Humble Pie, Gary Wright, Free, Bobby Whitlock- Bobby Whitlock, West, Bruce and Laing, Jack Bruce, String Driven Thing, Television,  Rod Stewart, Ron Wood, Cinderella, McAuley Schenker Group, Van Halen, Joe Satriani, Steve Miller Band, Jethro Tull, The Deviants, Spooky Tooth, Ten Years After, Clouds, Blind Faith, Led Zeppelin,  Rolling Stones, Mott the Hoople, Sailor’s Delight- Sky, Larry Norman, Randy Stonehill, Joni Mitchell and Eric Clapton.