In March 1971.

In March 1971, “Island” label released “Wildlife”, the third Mott the Hoople studio album. It was recorded November – December 1970, at “Island Studios” in London, and was produced by Guy Stevens,  Ian Hunter, Mick Ralphs, Verden Allen, Pete “Overend” Watts and Dale “Buffin” Griffin.


  • Ian Hunter- lead and backing vocals, rhythm guitar, piano
  • Mick Ralphs- lead guitar, backing and lead vocals
  • Verden Allen- organ, backing vocals
  • Pete “Overend” Watts- bass, backing vocals
  • Dale “Buffin” Griffin- drums, backing vocals
  • Jerry Hogan – steel guitar
  • Jess Roden- background chorus
  • Stan Tippins – background chorus
  • Michael Gray – string arrangements and conductor
  • Jim Archer – violin
  • Andy Johns, Brian Humphries,Phill Brown – engineer
  • Brian Cooke – photography

Track listing:

  1. Whiskey Women – Mick Ralphs
  2. Angel of Eighth Avenue – Ian Hunter
  3. Wrong Side of the River – Mick Ralphs
  4. Waterlow – Ian Hunter
  5. Lay Down – Melanie Safka
  6. It Must Be Love – Mick Ralphs
  7. Original Mixed-Up Kid – Ian Hunter
  8. Home Is Where I Want to Be – Mick Ralphs
  9. Keep a Knockin'(live recording) – Richard Penniman


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.