In September 1970.

In September 1970, “Island” label released “Mad Shadows”, the second Mott the Hoople studio album. It was recorded November 1969 – April 1970, at “Olympic Studios” in London, and was produced by Guy Stevens.


  • Ian Hunter- lead vocals, piano, rhythm guitar
  • Mick Ralphs- lead guitar, backing and lead vocals
  • Verden Allen- organ, backing vocals
  • Pete “Overend” Watts- bass, backing vocals
  • Dale “Buffin” Griffin- drums, backing vocals
  • Guy Stevens- “psychic” piano, “spiritual” percussion
  • Andy Johns– engineer
  • Ginny Smith, Peter Sanders – cover design
  • Gabi Naseman – front cover photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Ian Hunter except where noted.

  1. Thunderbuck Ram – Mick Ralphs
  2. No Wheels to Ride
  3. You Are One of Us
  4. Walkin’ with a Mountain
  5. I Can Feel
  6. Threads of Iron – Mick Ralphs
  7. When My Mind’s Gone


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.