Horace Silver: In Pursuit of the 27th Man

In March 1973, “Blue Note” label released “In Pursuit of the 27th Man”, the 21st Horace Silver album. It was recorded October – November 1972, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, in New Jersey, and was produced by George Butler.


  • Horace Silver – piano
  • Michael Brecker – tenor saxophone
  • Randy Brecker – trumpet, flugelhorn
  • David Friedman – vibes
  • Bob Cranshaw – electric bass
  • Mickey Roker – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Horace Silver, except where noted

  1. Liberated Brother – Weldon Irvine
  2. Kathy – Ray Evans, Jay Livingston, Moacir Santos
  3. Gregory Is Here
  4. Summer in Central Park
  5. Nothin’ Can Stop Me Now
  6. In Pursuit of the 27th Man
  7. Strange Vibes

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.