On August 20, 1979.


On August 20, 1979, “Columbia” released “Slow Train Coming”, the nineteenth Bob Dylan studio album. It was recorded April – May 1979, and was produced by Barry Beckett and Jerry Wexler. The tracks “Gotta Serve Somebody”  won Dylan “Grammy Award” for “Best rock vocal performance by a male in 1980”.


  • Bob Dylan – vocals, guitar
  • Mark Knopfler– lead guitar
  • Tim Drummond– bass guitar
  • Pick Withers– drums
  • Mickey Buckins – percussion
  • Barry Beckett– keyboards, percussion
  • Muscle Shoals Sound Studio– horns
  • Carolyn Dennis– backing vocals
  • Regina Havis – backing vocals
  • Helena Springs – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Bob Dylan.

  1. Gotta Serve Somebody
  2. Precious Angel
  3. I Believe in You
  4. Slow Train
  5. Gonna Change My Way of Thinking
  6. Do Right to Me Baby
  7. When You Gonna Wake Up
  8. Man Gave Names to the Animals
  9. When He Returns

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.