Tag Archives: Slow train coming

On August 20, 1979.


On August 20, 1979, “Columbia” released “Slow Train Coming”, the nineteenth Bob Dylan studio album. It was recorded April – May 1979, and was produced by Barry Beckett and Jerry Wexler. This is first Dylan’s album after he became a born-again Christian, and all the tracks express his strong personal faith. The single “Gotta Serve Somebody”  won Dylan “Grammy” for best rock vocal performance by a male in 1980.


  • Bob Dylan– guitar, vocals
  • Barry Beckett– keyboards, percussion
  • Mickey Buckins – percussion
  • Carolyn Dennis– background vocals
  • Tim Drummond– bass guitar
  • Regina Havis – background vocals
  • Mark Knopfler– lead guitar
  • Muscle Shoals Sound Studio– horns
  • Helena Springs – background vocals
  • Pick Withers– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Bob Dylan.

  1. Gotta Serve Somebody
  2. Precious Angel
  3. I Believe in You
  4. Slow Train
  5. Gonna Change My Way of Thinking
  6. Do Right to Me Baby
  7. When You Gonna Wake Up
  8. Man Gave Names to the Animals
  9. When He Returns